We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”
Review of Cypress Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cypress Cottage
Ranked #8 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Beautifully restored and decorated cottages - giving you a glimpse of Karoo town living in the previous century. Friendly and efficient staff catering to your every need. They were prepared to serve breakfast at a time that suited us and in our very own dining room that formed part of the cottage.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RapTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 120 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and the only fault we could find we're the creaking floor boards in the hallway.
Hilary, the owner is a charming hostess who can't do enough to make you feel welcome,with recommendations for restaurants and places to visit,she even found me a most fantastic beautician for a manicure.
The rooms were spacious with a good sized bathroom and the breakfast cooked so beautifully by Katie.

We shall return

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank isla001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

the cypress cottage has a special athmosphere. we liked this place very much. the host is a very nice lady - thanks for the recommendation of this cheetah breeding farm on the road to port elizabeth - is was very nice!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelysabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The cottages are beautiful colonial-style buildings that have a very welcoming feeling. The property is gorgeously maintained and the staff are extremely friendly. We did some cool hikes around the local mountains and were able to walk right back to the cottages. What a cool place!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Myself and two other friends stayed in the Cypress Cottages while on a month-long trip in South Africa. We decided that we needed to escape the fast paced travel that we had experienced so far in our trip, having mostly spent time in various larger city centres prior to our stay at the Cottages; and we found that our stay was just that, a perfect escape. The staff at the cottages were extremely kind and very willing to help with whatever we needed, including reservations at restaurants in Graaf Reinet, tell you about local history, or just provide info for good day trips nearby. There is tons of wildlife close to the cottages and even though it is a little further from town than places we had stayed previously it was no problem at all getting into town and hanging out there for the day. I had a lovely stay at the Cottage and cant wait to go back to SA so I can stay there again and see the amazing people who work there!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Landis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were in a group of 11, touring South Africa on motorcycles, and stayed in both Cypress and Jacaranda cottages for one night in mid November 2012. Situated in a jacaranda-lined street, the two cottages (opposite each other) are beautifully restored and furnished, and the gardens are gorgeous.

Hillary and Hannah made us feel very welcome, and kindly made a dinner booking for us at Ambience restaurant (it had recently changed hands, formerly called the Agave). The food was very good, and reasonably priced, and it has a lovely spacious outdoor area with tables under a large vine. Breakfast at the cottages, provided by Betty and staff, was also excellent.

Graaff-Reinet itself is a picturesque, interesting town – and make sure you don’t miss the spectacular Valley of Desolation. Nieu-Bethesda is also well worth a visit.

We would highly recommend Cypress Cottages to anyone intending to stay in Graaff-Reinet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverbods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Settled into comfy chairs on the patio with a cup of really good coffee,with menus from select restaurants in hand, and recommendations for a drive up to the park to see the sunset over the Valley of Desolation....which is not at all desolate...or a walk along the beautiful streets of this historic town, we knew we really were in an oasis in the desert.
Hillary knows and loves her town and wants her guests to have a memorable stay. Her beautiful guest accommodations and the excellent hospitality she and her staff member, Bette, offered made that easy for us. Our room, in the beautifully restored Jacaranda cottage was spacious, super clean, and very comfortable, with especially nice bath and shower facilities. We had access to a fridge to store a picnic pack, and access to beautiful lounge, gardens and pool. The highlight was breakfast, including a big bowl of freshly picked mulberries, all beautifully prepared and presented by Bette.
Our one-night stay was definitely not enough, either for the town or Cypress Cottage.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.5 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rietjiesbos B&B
Rietjiesbos B&B
#4 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Somerset Stables
Somerset Stables
#1 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Whyte House
The Whyte House
#14 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
#11 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse
Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse
#5 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Cottage

Address: 76 Donkin Street, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range: $96 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cypress Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottages are of the early 1800s Cape Dutch variety & are understatedly decorated with a highly developed taste for the natural & comfortable. Rooms display high reed ceilings, solid pine & slate floors, antique chests, fresh flowers & free-standing baths. Breakfasts consist of free-range eggs, yogurt, fruits from the orchard, toast, bacon & delicious sausage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cypress Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing