We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great welcome to a lovely town”
Review of Cypress Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cypress Cottage
Ranked #9 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great welcome to a lovely town”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Settled into comfy chairs on the patio with a cup of really good coffee,with menus from select restaurants in hand, and recommendations for a drive up to the park to see the sunset over the Valley of Desolation....which is not at all desolate...or a walk along the beautiful streets of this historic town, we knew we really were in an oasis in the desert.
Hillary knows and loves her town and wants her guests to have a memorable stay. Her beautiful guest accommodations and the excellent hospitality she and her staff member, Bette, offered made that easy for us. Our room, in the beautifully restored Jacaranda cottage was spacious, super clean, and very comfortable, with especially nice bath and shower facilities. We had access to a fridge to store a picnic pack, and access to beautiful lounge, gardens and pool. The highlight was breakfast, including a big bowl of freshly picked mulberries, all beautifully prepared and presented by Bette.
Our one-night stay was definitely not enough, either for the town or Cypress Cottage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freedance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    21
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
42
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
chiselton, uk.
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent two very peaceful nights at Cypress cottages Blue room in the Jacaranda cottage. We were greeted by the super friendly Hannah who took us to our room,introduced us to our housekeeper Bettie,and the handsome man of the house Ammo! I was at first a little concerned that it seemed a bit away from the centre of town, but found it was actually a very safe and pleasant 15 min walk to the middle. THe houses themselves are beautifully restored cottages from the 1800s, but lack nothing in the way of modern comforts,Jacaranda having a small but very pretty back garden,however the Cypress Cottage garden is a wonder to behold, my first thought being that I had wandered into Wembley stadium so vast is the lawn! All in all a very good 2 night stopover on our way up country.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supergeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I recently stayed at Cypress Cottages in Graaff-Reinet and all I can say is it is amazing. What a wonderfull guest house - from the attention to detail to antiques to the delicious breakfast served in the morning. Hillary and her staff are so welcoming and go out of there way to make your stay absolutly enjoyable and comfortable, they were very helpful and always checked that everything was to my satisfaction. Hillary made me feel right at home and was very helpful on advising places I should go to. I must compliment Hillary on her beautiful gardens and wonderful service provided. I HIGHLY recommend Cypress Cottages. A big thank you to Hillary and her staff - I will Definatly be returning to this beautiful establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaylaVRooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Francis Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My sister and I recently spent a couple of nights at Cypress Cottage, and I can only use superlatives when describing our stay - our room was beautifully decorated with great attention to detail, the service was excellent, and the breakfast outstanding. Thank you, Hillary and Mary Anne - we will be back!! Liezel, St Francis Bay, RSA

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liezel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed in Cypress Cottage for two nights while taking in the beauty and history of this beautiful Karoo town. We were welcomed by Betty who is responsible for the cottage and made every effort to make our stay enjoyable - and she prepares a breakfast second to none. The cottage is a restored historical home done with care to keep its authenticity and old world charm. Hillary, the owner, came around to make sure everything was to our satisfaction and kept us fascinated with her knowledge of the town in which she grew up and places we should visit.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louwjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

What I liked:
Flowers in the room
Large size of room
Pretty garden
Air conditioning
Graaf-Reinet is a pretty town with many listed buildings.

What I didn’t like:
We booked the blue room and were given the green room with no explanation
The magazines in the bedroom were about shooting and hunting which I find offensive
The bed should have been queen or king size in a four star establishment
Mildew on bathroom ceiling and in shower grout
Ants in the bathroom
Communal tea tray only had enough coffee for one cup
We requested breakfast at 7 and were told it would be fine. Bettie the cook arrived at 7 but she did not have the ingredients to make breakfast so we had to wait about 20 minutes.
The coffee plunger was large enough for one cup (we ordered two coffees). When we asked for more coffee, she had to fetch it from across the road and reuse the same small plunger.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet & Derek U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband, daughter and I had a lovely 2-day stay at Cypress Cottage in April. Our two bedrooms were spacious and beautifully decorated, and the bathrooms were spotless with high quality soaps and shampoos. A visit to Graaf-Reinet will enhance any visit to South Africa. The museums and the hike to the Valley of Desolation and the day in Nieu-Bethesda will expand your horizons on what the new South Africa is about. Hillary took great care of us, and made absolutely spot -on recommendations on where to eat and what to see during our trip. And, of course, the cooked to order breakfasts and fresh fruit from the gardens were spectacular. We were close enough to walk into town both during the day and at night, and we felt very safe. Staying at Cypress Cottage will completely enhance your visit to Graaf-Reinet and the fascinating country of South Africa.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank africagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.6 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset Stables
Somerset Stables
#1 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rietjiesbos B&B
Rietjiesbos B&B
#6 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Obesa Lodge
Obesa Lodge
#3 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queen Manor Boutique Guest House
Queen Manor Boutique Guest House
#11 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
#5 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Cottage

Property: Cypress Cottage
Address: 76 Donkin Street, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cypress Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottages are of the early 1800s Cape Dutch variety & are understatedly decorated with a highly developed taste for the natural & comfortable. Rooms display high reed ceilings, solid pine & slate floors, antique chests, fresh flowers & free-standing baths. Breakfasts consist of free-range eggs, yogurt, fruits from the orchard, toast, bacon & delicious sausage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cypress Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing