We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only okay for me”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cypress Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cypress Cottage
Ranked #7 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Only okay for me”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

What I liked:
Flowers in the room
Large size of room
Pretty garden
Air conditioning
Graaf-Reinet is a pretty town with many listed buildings.

What I didn’t like:
We booked the blue room and were given the green room with no explanation
The magazines in the bedroom were about shooting and hunting which I find offensive
The bed should have been queen or king size in a four star establishment
Mildew on bathroom ceiling and in shower grout
Ants in the bathroom
Communal tea tray only had enough coffee for one cup
We requested breakfast at 7 and were told it would be fine. Bettie the cook arrived at 7 but she did not have the ingredients to make breakfast so we had to wait about 20 minutes.
The coffee plunger was large enough for one cup (we ordered two coffees). When we asked for more coffee, she had to fetch it from across the road and reuse the same small plunger.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet & Derek U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    20
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
40
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband, daughter and I had a lovely 2-day stay at Cypress Cottage in April. Our two bedrooms were spacious and beautifully decorated, and the bathrooms were spotless with high quality soaps and shampoos. A visit to Graaf-Reinet will enhance any visit to South Africa. The museums and the hike to the Valley of Desolation and the day in Nieu-Bethesda will expand your horizons on what the new South Africa is about. Hillary took great care of us, and made absolutely spot -on recommendations on where to eat and what to see during our trip. And, of course, the cooked to order breakfasts and fresh fruit from the gardens were spectacular. We were close enough to walk into town both during the day and at night, and we felt very safe. Staying at Cypress Cottage will completely enhance your visit to Graaf-Reinet and the fascinating country of South Africa.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank africagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

I wish i'd done my homework better. We only stayed here for 1 night on the way to the north of SA and was so disappointed we didn't stay longer. Graaff- Reinet really does need 2 days and then add another day to see Nieu-Bethesda. Everything about the cottage was superb. Location, cleanliness, breakfast was of a standard I have come to expect in SA - EXCELLENT
There are several restaurants in town most of which looked of a very high standard. Will definitely be coming again but will stay for longer.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhenen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

We had a wonderful stay for some days in Cypress Cottage. Hillary is a fantastic host and her staff is friendly and very helpful.They make you feel right at home.The rooms are really beautiful and spacious. Ad the garden, from which you have a great view at the mountains in Desolation Valley, and Cypress Cottage is THE perfect place to stay in Graaff-Reinet.
If I am ever back here, I know where I'm going to stay !!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed there with my family on the way to the coast from Johannesburg : what a marvellous place ! Welcome from the moment we arrived , excellent rooms , friendly service , great breakfast !
There is a massive garden filled with a glorious splash of colour from dozens of different flowers ! The swimming pool ( an old farm dam ) was a hit with the kids . And the price ? Barely the cost of a family meal in a fancy seaside resort !
A big thumbs up for Hillary and her staff ! We will be back !

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leifmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Hillary and her team couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Lovely historic cottages and a breakfast to die for. Attention to detail in everything. A really pretty and peaceful spot in a town where there is lots to do and see.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talgarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed in Jaccaranda Cottage but Hilary gave us the run of the whole place. We were looked after by Bettie who treated us like royalty and offered lots of homespun wisdom courtesy of her father, a shoemaker.
The Cottage was splendid, the garden lovely and Bettie's breakfast without parallel.
Graaff-Reinet is a gem and Hilary's cottages are the place to enjoy the jewel

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 869peterw869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.6 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset Stables
Somerset Stables
#1 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beau & I
Beau & I
#2 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rietjiesbos B&B
Rietjiesbos B&B
#8 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
#6 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aan Die Oewer Bed & Breakfast
Aan Die Oewer Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Cottage

Property: Cypress Cottage
Address: 76 Donkin Street, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cypress Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottages are of the early 1800s Cape Dutch variety & are understatedly decorated with a highly developed taste for the natural & comfortable. Rooms display high reed ceilings, solid pine & slate floors, antique chests, fresh flowers & free-standing baths. Breakfasts consist of free-range eggs, yogurt, fruits from the orchard, toast, bacon & delicious sausage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cypress Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing