We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Cypress Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cypress Cottage
Ranked #10 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We had a wonderful stay for some days in Cypress Cottage. Hillary is a fantastic host and her staff is friendly and very helpful.They make you feel right at home.The rooms are really beautiful and spacious. Ad the garden, from which you have a great view at the mountains in Desolation Valley, and Cypress Cottage is THE perfect place to stay in Graaff-Reinet.
If I am ever back here, I know where I'm going to stay !!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 118 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed there with my family on the way to the coast from Johannesburg : what a marvellous place ! Welcome from the moment we arrived , excellent rooms , friendly service , great breakfast !
There is a massive garden filled with a glorious splash of colour from dozens of different flowers ! The swimming pool ( an old farm dam ) was a hit with the kids . And the price ? Barely the cost of a family meal in a fancy seaside resort !
A big thumbs up for Hillary and her staff ! We will be back !

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leifmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Hillary and her team couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Lovely historic cottages and a breakfast to die for. Attention to detail in everything. A really pretty and peaceful spot in a town where there is lots to do and see.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed in Jaccaranda Cottage but Hilary gave us the run of the whole place. We were looked after by Bettie who treated us like royalty and offered lots of homespun wisdom courtesy of her father, a shoemaker.
The Cottage was splendid, the garden lovely and Bettie's breakfast without parallel.
Graaff-Reinet is a gem and Hilary's cottages are the place to enjoy the jewel

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 869peterw869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

12 of us stayed for 3 nigths recently. We took over both cottages and were delighted with the Dutch Cape decor, the service, the gardens and the advice on local attractions given (and arranged) by Hillary. We planned a braai for one night but this scuppered by a
thunderstorm - Hillary stepped in and helped cook the food in the kitchen ovens but it was worth missing the braai for such a spectacular lightening display. A quite haven of a place which we all thoroughly recommend.
Pete Rowson

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Have just returned to Knysna after 2 nights at Cypress Cottage (actually in their Jacaranda Cottage). What a wonderful, relaxing place! Hillary, the owner, made us very welcome and Betty prepared delightful breakfasts. We decided to braii in the beautiful garden on our second night - to enjoy the peaceful surroundings. The rooms were spaceous, quiet, well equipped and immaculately clean. The town centre sights of Graaff Reinet are all within easy walking distance as was the delightful Polka restaurant/bakery - a must! We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough and will certainly be back soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent - some were twins others doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_S1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I have stayed here on a few occassions and have been very impressed. You are guaranteed serenity and a beautiful nights sleep, topped with great hospitality and a professional staff. Highly reccommended to passers-by and holiday makers alike.
Graaff Reiniet has an awe about it and Cypress Cottage only adds to this relaxing, cultured, colonial vibe. Much enjoyed. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidMoorcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.6 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rietjiesbos B&B
Rietjiesbos B&B
#4 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset Stables
Somerset Stables
#1 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Whyte House
The Whyte House
#14 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
24 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
#11 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse
Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse
#5 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Cottage

Address: 76 Donkin Street, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range: $86 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cypress Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottages are of the early 1800s Cape Dutch variety & are understatedly decorated with a highly developed taste for the natural & comfortable. Rooms display high reed ceilings, solid pine & slate floors, antique chests, fresh flowers & free-standing baths. Breakfasts consist of free-range eggs, yogurt, fruits from the orchard, toast, bacon & delicious sausage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cypress Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing