We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt Like i was at home !”
Review of Cypress Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cypress Cottage
Ranked #9 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I am from Canada, and throughout my travels in Africa Cypress Cottages B&B was by far the most homely place we stayed. I didn't want to leave! The small town of Graaff-Rienet had so much to offer and staying with owner Hillary Palme made it that much better.
Hillary growing up in Graaff-Reinet herself knows all the small little resturants and stores, therefore she made it extremly easy to fully experience the wonders of the Karoo!
The breakfast is home cooked, and the gardens are amazing to sit and have sundowners :) ... Myself and two friends absolutely loved it !
Thanks we hope to visit again soon

Room Tip: All the rooms looked amazing! ours was fantastic but honestly you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 124 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2011

Great feeling ,restored houses with comfortable rooms and excellent service.
Beautiful garden setting and views.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Santesana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

These old Dutch buildings have been beautifully renovated and provide one with a perfect setting to enjoy, relax and experience the "Gem of the Karoo". From the moment you arrive, you are welcomed and feel as though you have truly become a part of the surroundings.
After a busy, hot day the best way to finish it off is a dip in the beautifully clear bore-hole swimming pool or to sit and enjoy the magnificent views of Spandau Kop as the sun sets with a beer in your hand on the superbly maintained lawn.
All the amenities are provided. Couple this with excellent, friendly service from all the staff; spacious, homely rooms; and all the garden and play space your kids could need and you have set yourself up for a wonderful holiday or stopover.
Thank you very much to Hillary and her staff for making our stay so very enjoyable. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Africanatheart18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Soleil747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RWSchulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank propee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
Thank Brigitte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.5 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rietjiesbos B&B
Rietjiesbos B&B
#4 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Somerset Stables
Somerset Stables
#1 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
#14 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
#6 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Reinet Guest House
Villa Reinet Guest House
#12 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Cottage

Address: 76 Donkin Street, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range: $108 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cypress Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottages are of the early 1800s Cape Dutch variety & are understatedly decorated with a highly developed taste for the natural & comfortable. Rooms display high reed ceilings, solid pine & slate floors, antique chests, fresh flowers & free-standing baths. Breakfasts consist of free-range eggs, yogurt, fruits from the orchard, toast, bacon & delicious sausage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cypress Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing