We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Karoo Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Karoo Break”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our family was privliged to have two nights in the lodge. What a treat - two private game drives a day, luxurious accommodation, tasty food. The scenery is spectacular - the Sneeuberge were covered in snow. The working game farm with breeding sable and wild cats was very interesting - we learnt new things about animal behaviour. The highlight was a cerval kitten. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 450DEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
68
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Mount Camdeboo offers unique warmth and beauty that invites you to come in and relax--it is hospitable and charming, with a distinct elegance. The panoramic views of the sunset, plains, animals, mountains and vistas were unbeatable. The gracious lodging offers privacy. It was a different experience than we found on other safaris; one that rounded out the African adventure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneS29494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

What a fantastic place! The scenery will just take your breath away. The staff's knowledge of the area and the game was insightful and interesting. The food was well presented , very tasty and the service just perfect. If you want to spoil yourself , then this is the place to go!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, Eastern Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This place is off the charts. The accommodation is luxurious beyond what you'd expect or hope for (even from a five-star hotel), the service is exceptional - attentive, caring and friendly, the cuisine is gourmet, yet homely and wholesome, and the views from around the reserve are difficult to beat! I have worked in and visited many reserves in Southern Africa, and this one earns a spot with the best of them!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong - whichever one you choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimothyWilliamGaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Where to start...From the breathtaking scenery to standing a meter away from a cheetah its a visual spectacular from start to finish. You find yourself strangely at home in the warm embrace of the traditional farm style manor houses that provide you enough separation to allow you to entertain the notions of being totally alone on your own farm. The service and food is immaculate and give you a real sense of the luxury of yesteryear, no detail is missed. In short the best way to describe it is a lifestyle estate with a game farm and you will find yourself falling into a simpler time where you have the opportunity to savor the finer things in life. This little Karoo Gem is not to be missed and is certainly worth a special trip from Cape Town!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TremayneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the manor house for 4 incredible days, we were treated to the best service with many small gestures such as a fire roaring in the lounge on our return from the morning game drive, useful facts on the area history on our pillows at night - not to mention the excellent quality of food and local wine served. On our first morning game drive we saw a mother and baby rhino of about 3 months old, giraffe, kudu, a black eagle, kingfisher bird and other buck. Our guide, Mathew was very helpful in explaining the balance they are working towards in the fragile ecosystem and other interesting facts about the areas wildlife.
We rested very well in their care and will definitely be back!
Thank you

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

A stay at the Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve is a truly unique relaxation experience. The team provide very hearty hospitality in a beautifully isolated setting. The homesteads are gorgeous and so stylishly done yet remain comfortable and welcoming. The honeymoon cottage is an absolute gem!! The service is outstanding. Alot of the staff are local karoo folk and one can taste the local flavours in the amazing spreads that are prepared daily. The 'gewone braai' is the best braai I have ever had with the warthog potjie being the deal breaker. Their contribution to conservation is admirable. The landscape is very diverse for the size of the property and it is well stocked with beautiful game. A walk and stalk of one of their cheetahs was an incredible wildlife experience!! I cannot recommend Mount Camdeboo more for a unique home from home experience that just so happens to be in the heart of the beautiful Karoo!!

Room Tip: All our beautiful but the honeymoon cottage is a real gem!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
22.9 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samara Private Game Reserve
Samara Private Game Reserve
#2 of 14 in Graaff-Reinet
233 reviews
23.2 mi away
Somerset Stables
Somerset Stables
#1 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Beau & I
Beau & I
#2 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
155 reviews
23.2 mi away
Karoopark Guest House
Karoopark Guest House
#11 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
243 reviews
22.9 mi away
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
#9 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve

Property: Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve
Address: Petersberg Road, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Cambedoo Private Game Reserve offers the discerning, yet authentic-seeking traveler a safari experience like no other. Eleven spacious double en-suite rooms. Each of the manors boasts a full-length swimming pool, and all the other modern cons. Game drives or walks are a must in this breathtakingly beautiful environment to view a wide range of African game with experienced guides. Interactive cheetah experiences in the wild are the highlight for many guests. Mount Camdeboo is the perfect destination for families, extended families and groups to visit for celebrations such as weddings, birthdays, reunions, meetings etc. Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve provides guests with the rare opportunity to simply relax and absorb the natural beauty in an untouched part of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing