We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It felt like home.”
Review of Somerset Stables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Somerset Stables
Ranked #1 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“It felt like home.”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

In January my boyfriend and I were travelling from Cape town to Johannesburg by car. One night we stayed at Somerset Stables. Reinette, our host, was standing in the door with open arms welcoming us. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, and it was such a lovely suite. The next morning, Reinette has made us the best breakfast for a long time. She told us so many things and shoved us her home. What is a nice home without a kind woman. After eating and talking we took off. First Johannesburg, then Kruger Safari before we went back to Denmark.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    25
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
93
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We, mom, dad and our two boys had a very interesting stay at Somerset Stables. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, the host very entertaining and helpful and the breakfast was lovely. What more can one ask for? Would go back any time.

Room Tip: Rooms are all comfortable. I would ask for a room with a shower as the bath is a little small for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorinnaH421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at Somerset stables for 2 nights, and enjoyed it immensely. Our hostess was incredibly helpful, and directed us to the nicests sites and restaurants. All her recommendations were wonderful, and made our visit to Graaf Reinet truly memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed overnight at this delightful property, where Reinette was a welcoming and charming hostess. Somerset Stables are in a quiet location with good security, and an easy walk to nearby restaurants and attractions. Rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. A hearty home cooked breakfast was a pleasure to sit down to, in Reinette's own wonderfully converted home, surrounded by her beautiful furnishings, photographs and personal memorabilia.
Would highly recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank diamond1girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed for 4 days in February 2012 at Somerset Stabels. Reinette is an awesome owner, who provides you with super clean and comfortable rooms, a delicious home cooked breakfast and lots of activities for Graaf Reinet itself and the surroundings. The place is perfectly located, as you can easily walk to the centre of town and the restaurants. It is a quite oasis with a nice garden in front. I loved the personal atmosphere, as there are only 3 rooms in total. Each room has its own style and is lovely decorated with lots of details.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Perfectly situated in the centre of Graaff-Reinett, this B&B has been beautifully converted to provide elegant en - suite guest rooms. The owner, Reinette te Water Naude, born and bred in the area is a fount of knowledge about the locality and the best eateries - a great plus for those new to the town.
A hearty breakfast is assured in the beautiful setting of her dining room which is full of beautiful antiques, paintings and memorabilia of Reinette's intriguing past. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfectly located
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.4 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beau & I
Beau & I
#2 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
#5 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Obesa Lodge
Obesa Lodge
#3 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camdeboo Cottages
Camdeboo Cottages
#4 of 14 in Graaff-Reinet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rietjiesbos B&B
Rietjiesbos B&B
#7 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Stables

Property: Somerset Stables
Address: C/O Somerset & Donkin Street, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Somerset Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing