We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Abbotsbury

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Graaff-Reinet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbotsbury
Ranked #20 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We left the N9 onto the farm road and enjoyed the slow drive into this lovely oasis! Approaching the farm we passed the sheep and farm workers herding the goats. We expected, from viewing the website, something special and were not disappointed! We were met by the owner, Sue Scott, who showed us to our 2 bedroomed cottage. Travelling with my wife and 2 friends, this was perfect. A beautifully restored farm cottage, elegantly furnished and very comfortable. We sat in the lovely garden, in perfect tranquility, having pre-dinner drinks as the sun went down.
Our dinner, cooked by Sue and served by Priscilla in the cottage, was our selection of Karoo lamb and Bobotie, followed by Malva pudding. Excellent, excellent, excellent!! As was breakfast prepared by Priscilla in the little kitchen.
Abbotsbury was a great find and I highly recommend a stay if you are in the Graaff-Reinet area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 36 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

I visited Abbotsbury during a recent road trip and it is the ideal place to go if you just want to relax. The bed was comfortable and the suite had a en-suite bathroom and separate living room where dinner and breakfast was served. The venison pie was excellent and more than enough for two guests. I would definitely recommend Abbotsbury and will return again someday. Thanks Sue for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavedeJager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

this little gem was quite a find!! my cousin's wife found this place while trying to break up our trip in two as we were going to Plettensburg Bay. When we arrived, there was such a sense of peace. The rooms are really quite lovely, bed very comfortable. Sue and staff are so nice. Food was really very good. I think this place is wonderful for couples just wanting to get a little alone time, very romantic!!!! Hopefully, will return soon!

Room Tip: i do not believe you can go wrong with any room......they are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

An ideal stopover on your way to or from the coast, 27 km outside Graaff-Reinet, on the N9. Excellent accommodation with comfy beds, heaters and electric blankets to take the chill off the Karoo winter, peaceful farm surroundings and delicious, home-cooked food served in your suite. Sue Scott is a charming and friendly hostess and she and her staff will really look after you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you are looking for a beautifuly accomodation, hearty, fresh and organic farm style food and personal service you should stay with Sue at Abbotsbury about 20 km from Graaf-Reinet. We booked one of the lovely equipped cottages and felt so pampered getting served a perfectly cooked springbok pie in our cottage for dinner, later snuggling in the huge double bed heated by electrical blankets. The peaceful surrounding and stunning view of the Karoo landscape also is worth a visit of Abbotsbury.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I hesitate to write a review just incase Abbotsbury fills up and I cannot be accommodated next time.I am a regular at what I believe to be SA best B&B in its category. Superb rooms,wonderfull home cooked food,efficient freindly staff,led by one of the most caring of people Sue Scott, I would and do go 100 klms out of my just to stay at Abbottsbury.

Room Tip: All great only 3 sadly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Thank you Sue for taking such good care of us. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel at home and looked after. The suite was perfect, overlooking your beautiful garden with the mountains as a backdrop - what more could we want. Breakfast and dinner in particular, "were to die for" - just one complaint ... after 4 nights with you, we need 2 weeks of dieting to get back to starting weight!!!
Breezer's evening visits and the game with Joe each morning were the cherry on the top, you'll be sure to see us next time we're in Graaff-Reinett.
Lotsaluv, Cliff & Lea

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffordH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.3 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
#10 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
104 reviews
0.9 mi away
No. 4 Rothman Street
No. 4 Rothman Street
#16 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Whyte House
The Whyte House
#14 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Reinet Guest House
Villa Reinet Guest House
#11 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rietjiesbos B&B
Rietjiesbos B&B
#4 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsbury

Address: On the N9; follow the farm road for 3km from the Abbotsbury sign | P O Box 551, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing