We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place, would love to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Denis Private Island Seychelles
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place, would love to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We returned from a two week family holiday from Denis Island this morning and had such a wonderful time. The food was fantastic and the staff took such good care of us, including making special arrangements for my 5 and 2 year olds. Such a beautiful, natural island, if you get the chance to go we can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wheelersfromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    41
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
49
303
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire,UK
Level Contributor
212 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

I think this was our 12th or 13th stay on Denis which speaks for itself. We flew out to the island on the Zilair flight and our fellow passengers had read my last year's review of Denis on Trip advisor. At the end of their trip they agreed it was one place they would return to. All the staff are extremely nice, efficient and friendly. Vinay does a superb job in the restaurant helped by Emilia, Betty, Joanna, Molly and Ezra. The house wines are fine - we preferred the French rose to the South African. Darren and Robert excelled themselves this year in the kitchen and the food was better than ever if this was possible. Very good breakfast selection with really tasty fresh fruit. Fresh fish included jobfish,sailfish,kingfish, tuna, red snapper, capitaine. Nothing better than freshly caught fish cooked to order, great selection of salads and a glass or two of rose for lunch though you can have a variety of hot food if you wish & there are lots of puddings too. Dinner is superb and tends to rotate with BBQ Monday, Japanese Wednesday, Al a Carte Tuesday, Thursday,Friday and Sunday, Creole on Saturday. Ask for lobster on the beach one evening though might cost extra and depends on whether they catch any so you might have to wait a day or two. The island smoked fish and meats excellent. Take a walk around the island to look at the farm and kitchen garden, watch for turtles off the beach, or walk inland to look for birds [mosquito spray needed] -Andre will help you. Diving with Eric good too. In room Spa treatment good this year. Remember no Wi-Fi so download books before coming [mentioned this last year's review]. No mobile signal either.Two computers in the library for internet access. We just love it here. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This place is top notch. Food, staff, accommodation, nature - all of it is superb.
Sushi and sashimi for lunch and dinner is prepared by a japanese chef from freshly caught marlin, wahu and yellowfin tuna. Fresh milk, omelettes for breakfast made from fresh farm eggs (Denis runs an organic farm with cows, goats, pigs and poultry), delicious dinners.
Large private chalet with private beach access. Bathroom is all outside (still private though), which is a very nice touch. Large rain shower, bath and another shower to wash off the sand.
Flora and fauna of the island can not be compared to anything I have seen before - there are lots of colorful singing birds, flowers, Seychellois turtles and fish add to the experience.
Very friendly, experienced and efficient staff was always there for us.

Room Tip: All chalets are private, pick any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magictoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

From the minute the small aircraft doors open on the grass airstrip, until they're safely closed behind you again a few days - or weeks - later, you'll believe you've landed in heaven.
Rooms - Stunning !
Service - Unmatched - wherever you may have traveled !
Food - Quite exceptional !
Location - Indescribably beautiful !
This was our 4th visit to Denis, and as impossible as we might have imagined after the 1st, it just gets better and better.
Can not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifford F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-Communications, Public Relations Manager at Denis Private Island Seychelles, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
It is always a pleasure to recieve such wonderful feedback, especially from our repeat guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, it is truly appreciated. I will ensure that all the staff are well aware of their praise. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the island in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This one is a special place for me,I have stayed at Denis 1984,1985,1990 and then in 2012.I have great memories of Denis island and met and made friends with people with whom I still communicate.
The original owner of the Island retired die to old age and sold to someone else from Seychelles.
Denis island was unique very classy place at dinner times man had to wear long trousers and no time flip flops and sleeveless T shirts for man were allowed,now with modern times and new owners they reduced pricing and along with that quality of everything ,they built some more bungalows (God knows what they were thinking)which is totally uncalled for as they will never fill this island and they should NOT even do so.
Food used to be excellent now with cost cuttings its nothing special.
The manager is not an appropriate person to run this jewel if I was the owner I would bring in a good professional manager,raise the prices and hence quality.
As is,sadly it will go dawn the drain

Room Tip: Any bungalow on the beach front such as no 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kucho26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole S, Public Relations Manager at Denis Private Island Seychelles, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for your recent comments and we are always welcoming of feedback from our guests. However, I would like to shed light on some issues which you mentioned. Denis Private Island came under the management of a Seychellois family in 1996. In the last 18 years, the owners and staff have gone to great lengths to restore the island to its natural beauty.
There has been no construction of extra bungalows; our 25 renovated beach cottages each with their own garden, outdoor showers, massage pavilions privately stretched along the beach leaving 150 hectares of a private island to be discovered.
Most importantly, the island has been completely eradicated of rats, therefore protecting our fragile ecosystem. Today this island is a haven for sea birds and we enjoy a bird sanctuary that has successfully introduced several rare endemic birds which today thrive on this island. In the recent months we have had over 100 turtles come and lay their eggs on our beaches.
Our own farm produces 80% of the products we supply to our guests which are all organic and natural. These include poultry, eggs, milk, vegetables and herbs. In 2013, we were proud recipients of the Environmental Sustainability Award; a prestigious accolade for an establishment showing exemplary environmental awareness. Our guests mostly compliment us for such an achievement and the Restaurant continues to be one of the most renowned in the Seychelles.
At Denis Private Island, we encourage our guests to live the authentic island life. This includes our beautiful beaches, lush forests and appreciating the ecosystem that surrounds us. Coming to this island is a retreat where barefoot luxury has been mastered.
We have always enjoyed very high ratings on Trip Advisor, truly a leader in this category, yet on this particular occasion we had an irregularity. I note you are an active participant on Trip Advisor and reading your other reviews, concludes that you are a discerning traveler and we are grateful of your comments which will be shared with the team. Nevertheless, we look forward to welcoming you back to our jewel in the crown.
Kind Regards,
Nicole St.Ange
GROUP Branding & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Denis Private Island simply out of this world. My 4th stay there and will be back for more. Forget about artificial, snobbish luxury and gimmicks and enjoy the real down to earth luxury in form of outmost privacy, calm, peace, stunning nature, turquoise water, white sand. Barefoot luxury, with lovely accommodation, friendly staff and delicious food in the thatched Restaurant. No TV nor wifi in the rooms - perfect to really get away from it all and disconnect. Eco conscious/driven/sustainable Island, amazingly nearly self sustainable thanks to its own island farm. Don't forget to walk the island with the resident environmental officer to show you the stunning fauna and flora including very rare species.
If you really need a rest and relax without be bothered by buzzing cellphones - Denis definitely is the place! Don't spoil it, keep it as pure and clean as it is!!

Room Tip: All Chalets beachfront locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuangfah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have just returned from a two week trip to the Seychelles with our two kids (age 8 and 9). We started with 4 nights at Denis Private Island, which was a perfect start of the trip. Denis Island is a small private island with beautiful villas, incredible food – sashimi made on fish fresh from the sea each day, sushi, vegetables grown in the own garden – and a totally relaxing atmosphere. The resort has an admirable focus on sustainability and preservation of the wildlife and the kids loved the island wildlife excursion and visiting the farm. The service was fantastic with the friendly staff creating a family guest atmosphere. We also took massages for the whole family, which was fantastic – at the porch of our villa, listening to the sound of the ocean. Another plus was the flight to and from the island in a small private charter, which gave an extra adventurous flare and amazing views over the Seychelles archipelago.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family villa, which was perfect in size and situated closest to the beach and near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denis Island
0.0 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
58.6 mi away
L'Habitation Hotel
L'Habitation Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cerf Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
36.7 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#4 of 8 in Grand Anse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Ocean
Hotel L'Ocean
#7 of 7 in La Digue Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gregoire's Apartments
Gregoire's Apartments
#6 of 7 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chez Lorna
Chez Lorna
#2 of 8 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denis Private Island Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denis Private Island Seychelles

Property: Denis Private Island Seychelles
Address: Denis Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Denis Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Denis Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Denis Private Island Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical hideaway where one can enjoy the barefoot luxury of island living. Be seduced by the understated elegance of the twenty five private beachfront cottages and the exquisite cuisine tempting the gourmet’s palate. Share new found passions- fishing and diving amongst the most thrilling or embrace the organic culture and appreciate this rare ecosystem with its numerous conservation activities. Denis island is very accessible, with flights everyday to/from the main island of Mahé. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Denis Private Island Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denis Island Seychelles Hotel Denis Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing