We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Denis Private Island Seychelles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

From the minute the small aircraft doors open on the grass airstrip, until they're safely closed behind you again a few days - or weeks - later, you'll believe you've landed in heaven.
Rooms - Stunning !
Service - Unmatched - wherever you may have traveled !
Food - Quite exceptional !
Location - Indescribably beautiful !
This was our 4th visit to Denis, and as impossible as we might have imagined after the 1st, it just gets better and better.
Can not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clifford F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-Communications, Public Relations Manager at Denis Private Island Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Guest,
It is always a pleasure to recieve such wonderful feedback, especially from our repeat guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, it is truly appreciated. I will ensure that all the staff are well aware of their praise. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the island in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 441 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

This one is a special place for me,I have stayed at Denis 1984,1985,1990 and then in 2012.I have great memories of Denis island and met and made friends with people with whom I still communicate.
The original owner of the Island retired die to old age and sold to someone else from Seychelles.
Denis island was unique very classy place at dinner times man had to wear long trousers and no time flip flops and sleeveless T shirts for man were allowed,now with modern times and new owners they reduced pricing and along with that quality of everything ,they built some more bungalows (God knows what they were thinking)which is totally uncalled for as they will never fill this island and they should NOT even do so.
Food used to be excellent now with cost cuttings its nothing special.
The manager is not an appropriate person to run this jewel if I was the owner I would bring in a good professional manager,raise the prices and hence quality.
As is,sadly it will go dawn the drain

Room Tip: Any bungalow on the beach front such as no 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kucho26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole S, Public Relations Manager at Denis Private Island Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,
I thank you for your recent comments and we are always welcoming of feedback from our guests. However, I would like to shed light on some issues which you mentioned. Denis Private Island came under the management of a Seychellois family in 1996. In the last 18 years, the owners and staff have gone to great lengths to restore the island to its natural beauty.
There has been no construction of extra bungalows; our 25 renovated beach cottages each with their own garden, outdoor showers, massage pavilions privately stretched along the beach leaving 150 hectares of a private island to be discovered.
Most importantly, the island has been completely eradicated of rats, therefore protecting our fragile ecosystem. Today this island is a haven for sea birds and we enjoy a bird sanctuary that has successfully introduced several rare endemic birds which today thrive on this island. In the recent months we have had over 100 turtles come and lay their eggs on our beaches.
Our own farm produces 80% of the products we supply to our guests which are all organic and natural. These include poultry, eggs, milk, vegetables and herbs. In 2013, we were proud recipients of the Environmental Sustainability Award; a prestigious accolade for an establishment showing exemplary environmental awareness. Our guests mostly compliment us for such an achievement and the Restaurant continues to be one of the most renowned in the Seychelles.
At Denis Private Island, we encourage our guests to live the authentic island life. This includes our beautiful beaches, lush forests and appreciating the ecosystem that surrounds us. Coming to this island is a retreat where barefoot luxury has been mastered.
We have always enjoyed very high ratings on Trip Advisor, truly a leader in this category, yet on this particular occasion we had an irregularity. I note you are an active participant on Trip Advisor and reading your other reviews, concludes that you are a discerning traveler and we are grateful of your comments which will be shared with the team. Nevertheless, we look forward to welcoming you back to our jewel in the crown.
Kind Regards,
Nicole St.Ange
GROUP Branding & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Denis Private Island simply out of this world. My 4th stay there and will be back for more. Forget about artificial, snobbish luxury and gimmicks and enjoy the real down to earth luxury in form of outmost privacy, calm, peace, stunning nature, turquoise water, white sand. Barefoot luxury, with lovely accommodation, friendly staff and delicious food in the thatched Restaurant. No TV nor wifi in the rooms - perfect to really get away from it all and disconnect. Eco conscious/driven/sustainable Island, amazingly nearly self sustainable thanks to its own island farm. Don't forget to walk the island with the resident environmental officer to show you the stunning fauna and flora including very rare species.
If you really need a rest and relax without be bothered by buzzing cellphones - Denis definitely is the place! Don't spoil it, keep it as pure and clean as it is!!

Room Tip: All Chalets beachfront locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fuangfah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have just returned from a two week trip to the Seychelles with our two kids (age 8 and 9). We started with 4 nights at Denis Private Island, which was a perfect start of the trip. Denis Island is a small private island with beautiful villas, incredible food – sashimi made on fish fresh from the sea each day, sushi, vegetables grown in the own garden – and a totally relaxing atmosphere. The resort has an admirable focus on sustainability and preservation of the wildlife and the kids loved the island wildlife excursion and visiting the farm. The service was fantastic with the friendly staff creating a family guest atmosphere. We also took massages for the whole family, which was fantastic – at the porch of our villa, listening to the sound of the ocean. Another plus was the flight to and from the island in a small private charter, which gave an extra adventurous flare and amazing views over the Seychelles archipelago.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family villa, which was perfect in size and situated closest to the beach and near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bjorkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had an amazing honeymoon trip and this hotel and island were so fabulous. The food was lovely, really fresh and delicious. It really feels like you're on your own private island. I couldn't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahmills789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have just returned from our honeymoon on Denis island.
We spent 10 days on the island (originally booked for a week and extended our stay as it was so good!)
Francesco, Amar and all the staff really are fantastic and have the perfect blend of always being on-hand but never in your way.
We stayed in Room 14 which is a beach-front spa and an excellent room at the end of the row on that side of the island.
The accommodation is first class and the main lodge area also great. The well stocked bar (with excellent wines on the all inclusive rate) is very relaxed. The food that is produced is amazing and every meal we were amazed. The island has its own farm and with deep-sea fishing one of the activities there is always plenty of fresh fish and meat, veg, salads and fruit.
The island is stunning and with just 24 rooms on the whole island (which takes about 2 hrs to amble around) it is a very private place.
Bird life, turtles, snorkelling, sun-set cruises etc are all great activities to get involved in.
No mobile phone signal also a huge positive to get away from life
I would highly recommend Denis as a honeymoon destination and we will one day go back for sure
Thank you all for such a fantastic stay

Room Tip: Room 14 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OffbeatKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 10 night stay on Denis Private Island. It was just the relaxing location it had advertised and was everything we had hoped for. We arrived on the 30th November and the resort was only 30% full. Although, even if the resort was running at 100% capacity, you still would have experienced the magical tropical Island experience!

The staff were wonderful, friendly and courteous. The food was amazing. With resort being mostly self sufficient with its own farm, the quality of the food stuffs was exceptional. The chefs never failed in delivering top quality dishes.

Many resorts advertise 'All Inclusive' and the selection of wines and drinks can be quite limited. The selection at Denis of the House Wines was superb. No real need to purchase a bottle from the wine list when such a superb variety was available All Inclusive.

The Scuba Diving was very good albeit the seas can be a little choppy! No long boat rides thankfully!! Eric, the dive guide was excellent and made us feel welcome and secure. Expect sharks and turtle galore!

The bungalows were all a very good size and were very comfortable and well equipped with a 30m stroll to the beach. I would recommend a deluxe beach bungalow with spa room! We stayed in No.12 and this was an excellent spot!

The plane ride to Denis is interesting. A tiny four seater Vulcanair aircraft. The landing on Denis is very bumpy........not quite Heathrow!!!

To summarise, if you are looking for a relaxing breath to get away from the very day stresses, want good food and wine and luxury accommodation then Denis Private Island ticks all these boxes

5 Stars!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 10-14 are best located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Denis Private Island Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denis Private Island Seychelles

Address: Denis Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Denis Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Denis Island
Price Range: $1,010 - $2,339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Denis Private Island Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical hideaway where one can enjoy the barefoot luxury of island living. Be seduced by the understated elegance of the twenty five private beachfront cottages and the exquisite cuisine tempting the gourmet’s palate. Share new found passions- fishing and diving amongst the most thrilling or embrace the organic culture and appreciate this rare ecosystem with its numerous conservation activities. Denis island is very accessible, with flights everyday to/from the main island of Mahé. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Denis Private Island Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denis Island Seychelles Hotel Denis Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing