We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Volcanoes National Park
Book In Advance
$2,990.00*
and up
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Ruhengeri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The "Parc National de Volcans" (or PNV as it's known by locals) lies along the Virunga Mountains, with 8 ancient volcanoes, which are shared by Rwanda, Uganda and the Democratic Republic of Congo. Just a short two hour drive from Rwanda's capital of Kigali, the park is a central location for exploring some distinctly Rwandan experiences. While a visit to the mountain gorillas is often at the top of visitor, the dramatic landscape also offers thrilling hiking and visits to the fascinating golden monkeys.
Sydney Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had been looking forward to this for such a long time that I wondered whether the experience I would have would match the one I had imagined. Glad to say that it exceeded my expectations.

The trek to see the Isabukuru group of gorillas consisted of a six hour round trip plus one hour with the gorillas. It was a steep trek through thick jungle and often through mud - an exciting challenge but achievable if fit. The stinging nettles were uncomfortable but forgotten once in the company of the gorillas. The first glimpse of the gorillas brought a tear to the eye. What magnificent creatures. The gorillas were habituated and tolerated our presence by carrying on with their daily lives. There were gorillas of all shapes and sizes from the silverback to adults, juveniles and the cutest of babies (Fasha, that's you I'm talking about). They were clearly visible and close by. It was impossible not to get a good photo or two (hundred). One of the babies even reached out and touched my sister, another leant on her.

The guide Kari was very knowledgeable. The porters helped whoever needed help - they were good at pushing up hills and guiding down steep and slippery descents. All in all and amazing experience that will be etched in my memory forever.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mjhSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    884
    62
    7
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The gorilla trek is expensive but worth it. The moment we heard the gorillas and then saw the dominant silver back is one to treasure. Although the permits are expensive the benefits for both these wonderful animals and the local communities are apparent. Guides are knowledgeable and the treks are very well organised

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovelly, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Sensational - a must see and do experience”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Apart from the 2 hour hike in (climbing 500 metres) and the 2 hour hike back, the one hour spent with the family of gorillas (Bwenge) was amazing. The way in which the gorillas just continued their main task (eating) and ignored the human intrusion was surreal. To havea large 200+kg silverback brush past without interest on his part concentrated the mind.

We were fortunate in having an amazing young man as a guide (Roger) and he was a mine of information and that made the whole experience even more enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank handr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
1,020 reviews
329 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 578 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were fortunate enough to spend a day gorilla trekking and another day climbing Bisoke to the crater lake on the Congo border.

The gorilla trekking was hard work, we were supposed to be going to visit a family that was a 1-2 hour walk away but because the gorillas kept moving we ended up having to walk up hill for about 4 hours which was hard work! The last bit was through the forest which was difficult and we all got stung by the full strength nettles and other prickles.

Once we saw the gorillas tho it was all worth it. There were lots of young ones playing, a mother and a baby and a big silver back who even charged at a couple of us and slapped on of our party on their butts! We spent an hour with the gorillas taking photos and just observing them and the time went very quickly. We were lucky in that we had a small group of 6 people plus our guides.

The walk up Bisoke was up to around 3,600m and it was quite fast and steep which was quite difficult. We were training to climb Kilimanjaro so thought it was a good idea. The scenery is lovely and the crater lake at the top is interesting. We were right on the Congo border so there were lots of armed guards with us but that didn't bother us.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gorilla Trekking”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The volcano national park is surrounded by multiple volcanos and is home to 17 or 18 gorilla families. The experience of seeing thieves magnificent animals is life changing. It is not for the weak and weary. Much harder than anticipated but so worth the effort.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank reidbo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcanoes National Park also viewed

 
Rwanda, Africa
Kigali, Kigali Province
 

Been to Volcanoes National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing