We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suse group - gorillas in Rwanda”

Volcanoes National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$4,210.00*
and up
Gorilla Trekking and Wildlife Game Drives in Rwanda and Burundi
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Ruhengeri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The "Parc National de Volcans" (or PNV as it's known by locals) lies along the Virunga Mountains, with 8 ancient volcanoes, which are shared by Rwanda, Uganda and the Democratic Republic of Congo. Just a short two hour drive from Rwanda's capital of Kigali, the park is a central location for exploring some distinctly Rwandan experiences. While a visit to the mountain gorillas is often at the top of visitor, the dramatic landscape also offers thrilling hiking and visits to the fascinating golden monkeys.
Cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Suse group - gorillas in Rwanda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

truly amazing experience, especially if you are doing this in Rwanda ! We heard that Suse group is the largest one, so we arrived there early to make sure we get to see that one. At that time there was a limit of 10 people or so visiting each gorilla family. hike is fab though the bamboo trees, and it doesn't take that long at all. You get to see them as close as 1 meter away. As per recent comment below it is fascinating when guides speak "gorilla" :) A must when visiting Africa, and we spent in Africa 8 months so did see a good bit. not cheap but well worth it, especially when most money goes to protect them.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CorkKat_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    838
    57
    6
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutchess County, NY
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Seeing the Silverbacks is Not To Be Missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Visiting the Silverback Gorillas is not to be missed! This is a safe and very well organized outing. It is amazing that the guides "speak gorilla"! You get so close but yet we felt no danger. You are accompanied by 2 well trained guides and several park rangers. We hiked to see the gorillas 2 days in a row. The 2nd day was even better than the first. Be prepared for some serious climbing through dense brush (although the guides do hack a path for you). Where serious footwear (hiking boots) and be prepared for changeable weather. There is a lot to do at Volcanoes National Park and i only wish we could've stayed a little longer to do some of the awesome hikes besides seeing the gorillas! This is expensive but worth every penny!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank atraveljunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda
Level Contributor
154 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“It is the reason why most people go to Rwanda!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Vulcanoes National Park is in itself an attraction for most of the people who visit Rwanda. It offers one of the most amazing experiences you can have in life - gorilla tracking. The park is wild, there are not many tracks and the guides will have to give way. The encounter with the gorillas will pay back for all the efforts.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning views and close-up gorilla encounters guaranteed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Absolutely stunning views of volcanoes and steep mountains in the mist. Thickets of bamboo forests and of course (if you are gorilla tracking :)) close encounters with gorilla families!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tyhckerom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

What can I say - we had such a great experience -everyone should do this - forget the costs and just get your trip booked! Take a porter - they really are great and help with the struggling up and down through the muddy forest.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SquirrelyCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcanoes National Park also viewed

 

Been to Volcanoes National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing