We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amahoro Tours & Red Rocks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amahoro Tours & Red Rocks”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

During the month of November i and my boy friend booked a gorilla tour with Amahoro Tours , who were very quick in replying my emails, the trek was fabulous and we visited the SUSA B group which was amazing. Our driver guide Salim was also great , very informative about Rwanda and the gorillas.During our 3 days tours - Amahoro Tours had booked us a room at Red Rocks, a basic hostel just a few kilometres away from Musanze town, the hostel is quiet clean and offers mostly twin room and we were served local Rwandese food which was tasty, Harriet our host was also amazing she organized for us to visit local villages just near Red Rocks and we were able to interact with the local Rwandese population and we were able to witness their daily activities done at their villages.we highly reccommend Amahoro tours and Red Rocks campsite for making our trip to Rwanda more memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    19
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
19
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I just returned from Rwanda from a culture and community trip and of course the Mountain Gorillas on the parading beautiful Volcanoes.. Muhabura, Gahinga, Karisoke..
Through our ground operators Amahoro tours we had an overnight in the Red rocks facility.
For the young people who would like to get the real feeling of visiting and staying in a truly local
setting, this is the place!
Its a vast domain with a guest house with en suite rooms and a shared bathroom, living room with a lot surrounding you, masks, great paintings from a studio next to the banana garden.
Visitors with some skills and time can sketch the Volcano ranges in the backdrop :-)
It has a camp site, with well set tents, Isabella and the rest of the guide can take you into some medical tourism, young women can volunteer and learn how to peel bananas, brew, treat infant rush, survivor skills in deep villages without relying on the very best.
The facility has an Eco friendly touch, local and well set up avoiding expensive artificial products which is there winning formula and for all of us.. keeping it simple is rewarding. our backpacking friends, budget and community tourism visitors from mamalandsafaris, redrocks is perfect..

Room Tip: The burden of setting up a tent and the chilly mist from the Volcano, if you miss the tents, i will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamalandsafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here in June 2013 with my family (including 2 kids under 3 years)... The guest house has basic amenities but the friendly, helpful staff make up for this. Accommodation is pretty basic, shared toilet facilities which were constantly clean for me and my family plus the other guest who were there I would definitely recommend the hotel on account of the good service they offer. They even allowed us access into the kitchen to prepare baby food whenever we needed to! Great manager too...

Room Tip: Since they do have a campsite for independent travelers who have no kids i recommend for them to cam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henk G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent the night before and after our gorilla trek at red rocks. Red rocks is an amazing place! The staff are so helpful and fun! Irene made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The food was delicious and the guesthouse is very clean. I would highly recommend staying at red rocks!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Its clean and beautiful place set on a working farm. Staff is very friendly, especially Izabella who runs a place, she is very helpful and knowledgeable. Rooms are clean and comfy with African decor and nice shared bathroom. Food is great, especially breakkie. Lunch and dinner is Rwandan traditional food, very nice but can get a bit tedious if staying longer. It was nice to stay for 3 nights to relax and explore villages and see traditional life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Red Rock is a wonderful hostel which provides genuine cultural experiences between local and visitors. If you stay in a hotel and not Red Rocks you are truly missing out! Go, See and Do! You will not regret spending the time here. I hope it captivates you as much as it did my family!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaunita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmahoroTeam, Manager at Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hostel is out of City.
To reach, you have to catch boda, approx. 1$ from the city.
Price per one room – 13 ooo RwF = 20$ there is 2 single beds or 1 double.
Toilet with shower out of the room. It is for sharing.
3 meals per day = 10$.
Or 5$ each meal.

Hotel is near by the village. It is surrounded by unbelievable beautiful nature.
Just to be there is pure enjoying.

Hotel also offering:
- Nature walk
- Basket weaving
- Banana beer making
- And a lot of other activities

You can find them on FB.
And +250 788687448
+250 788655223

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kseniya o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmahoroTeam, Manager at Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and great review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruhengeri
8.2 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Amahoro Guest House
Amahoro Guest House
#5 of 17 in Ruhengeri
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Locanda
La Locanda
#1 of 17 in Ruhengeri
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
0.0 mi away
Lake Ruhondo Lodge and Tented Camp
10.4 mi away
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse

Property: Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse
Address: 7 km Out Ruhengeri off Kigali-Gisenyi Road | Gps: 1°33'38. 1"S 29°38'11. 0"E, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Northern Province > Musanze District > Ruhengeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ruhengeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Red Rocks Rwanda stands for is what our name stands for. Our organization takes its name after the igneous rock that covered Northern Rwanda during volcanic eruptions some 700 years ago. Just like the red rocks, we are deeply rooted in local history and culture. There’s something for everyone at Red Rocks Rwanda, and every visit is a welcome respite from the busy cities our guests leave behind. Our location amidst rolling Rwandan hills and splendid valleys and our proximity to the Virunga volcanoes makes this a hotspot for tourists. As a social enterprise, we’re all about the community, the wildlife, tourism & travel. Our pioneering cultural tourism scheme involves developing our community and promoting our nature preserve through tourism. We strive to make every stay pleasurable and memorable, so bring your cameras, your memory cards and your love of all things natural with you. ​ Our approach is local, so we’ve built a good rapport with the villagers throughout the years, and we have in-depth knowledge and first-hand experience of local life. We are here to enrich your life, your travels and your values. Make your mark at Red Rocks, and enjoy the gratifying experience of making a difference in the life of the locals and that of our wildlife! FIND US ON THE MAP: Gps: 1°33'38. 1"S 29°38'11. 0"E ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse Ruhengeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing