We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be good”
Review of Lava Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lava Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Ruhengeri
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Used to be good”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This used to be the best coffee place in Musanze. The last time we went the did not have any of the things on the menu. Only brochettes and chips. Also, the coffee machines have been sold or taken away... It seems to have become more of a bar. We left very quickly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suur_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Quiet Place to Grab a Drink”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had fresh juice one time and a late lunch another. Food was good and I would consider this a alternative place for a lunch/snack location rather than dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeA1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lava Café is now called Africana Café”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

A few months ago they changed names. Location is still the same, and so is the menu. I only go there for coffee, though, so I don't know how the food is. Service is friendly but not very efficient. Make sure to ask for "strong" coffee. The other day my friend's cappuccino (with lots of milk) was stronger than my Americano !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLBinZeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“No water?”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Unfortunately, the say we stopped at Lava, the water was turned off. This happens periodically in Musanze. So, no coffee drinks. But, the wi-fi was working and they didn't mind that we hung out without eating. If I'm ever in Musanze again, I'll try it. My students enjoyed the food when they were there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MSEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Musanze”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This little cafe has the best coffee in Northern Rwanda
The menu is also quite good especially the chicken noodle soup - different to anything seen before but sooo good

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alansostrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Cafe also viewed

Ruhengeri, Musanze District
Ruhengeri, Musanze District
 
Ruhengeri, Musanze District

Been to Lava Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing