We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Home Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Home Inn
Ranked #12 of 17 Ruhengeri B&B and Inns
Sask, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Excellent stay and our visit to the dining room was a awesome experience as well. Our server Jean Claude was excellent. It is very close to the main street if you want to get out and explore on your own. The rooms are big but the beds are some what stiff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DNB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
12
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

I went to Home Inn with a team of Research Assistants for 2 nights and I loved the service. The booking on the phone was smooth and the rooms were first class - to my satisfaction. The staff at reception were very understanding and accommodating.

The food was amazing and overall, my comment is that its a great place to go to. I recomment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djnmusendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We loved our stay here. Great great food (from french style to local roast chicken). Excellent staff and helped arrange early morning breakfast, last minute clothes washing and advice. Lovely big rooms, comfy beds. Essential when gorilla trekking.

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs well away from upstairs bar, which could have been a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed three nights while gorilla trekking in Rwanda and were satisfied with the accommodations. The staff was very friendly and the meals were quite good. The hotel has a small dining area on the second level of the hotel (very close to the rooms) as well as a bar and an outside eating area overlooking the parking lot. A buffet breakfast (fruit, bread and cereal) was provided each morning before our trek. While the decor in our room was somewhat dated, it was very clean and the shower was hot. My only negative comment relates to the mattresses; they are very hard - though hotel staff did add a mattress pad after they noticed we put some towels beneath the sheets to "soften" the mattress. The hotel is located within Ruhengeri (Musanze) and we were able to walk to the shopping area in the evening. It is also located very close to the Dian Fossey Gorilla Fund International which has an interesting exhibit open to the public; if you're fortunate enough as we were, you may have the occasion to speak with one of the staff members working with the gorillas. Overall, a very pleasant stay at this hotel which feels a bit as the name suggests like a "homey inn"

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Home Inn may be a small place ,but the warmth and hospitality of its staff is unbeatable.We (4 of us)arrived late in the night and the restaurant staff were still willing to bend over backwards to please us. Considering the late hour (it was past 11P.M) , we asked for simple fare - sandwiches . But it wasn't to be just sandwiches ;they brought in a big portion of french fries
too !

The place is very clean and the room we were allotted was spacious with a verandah and a large ensuite with tolietries ,hairdryer , bathroom slippers and another pair of slippers in the bedroom. The beds had mosquito nets and packaged drinking water was also provided.

Early next morning when we left for the gorilla trek , the restaurant staff had already packed a HUGE breakfast and put it in the landcruiser for us to eat on the way . A hot lunch was waiting for us when we got back from the gorilla trek,

The hospitality was unbeatable and we had a short but very pleasant stay. A big thank you to the wonderful staff !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 250vimala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed three nights at Home Inn, combining some downtime with gorilla trekking. We arrived late in the evening, but the kitchen made accommodations for us by grilling up some pork and chips on one big plate for my friend and me. Combined with Mutzig beer, it was a perfect way to start.
The room is very nice, especially for two guys on an adventure. Separate full beds although a bit hard. I like a very firm bed and these were even too hard for me. If you have a sleeping bag, just keep the comforter on the bed and it works out perfectly. The bathrooms are also very clean and they provide travel toothbrushes and nice towels. The shower head is quite low and our shower curtain actually was so long it plugged the drain! But don't come to Rwanda if you demand perfection. Most places continue to work out the kinks and Home Inn only has a few minor flaws.
I am rather particular about hotels, even in the USA, and Home Inn is a sure bet. Don't hesitate to stay here and meet the great staff. Can't say enough good things about this very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Facing the hotel, rooms to the right get some noise from staff workers. Go for the left side which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeA1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at Home Inn this June for one night following a trek to see the Gorillas nearby. We had a one bed apartment which was spacious, immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. It was very reasonably priced for the quality of accommodation and food available - especially in comparison to some other experiences in Rwanda. Without a doubt it is the hospitality and service provided which singles out Home Inn as a "must stay" hotel in Muzanze/Ruhengeri. From the moment we arrived every member of staff we encountered made every effort to ensure we were happy and comfortable eg Our trekking shoes were cleaned (free of charge) and without fuss. I cannot praise the staff enough for their friendliness, courtesy and professionalism.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bslawlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruhengeri
4.5 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
7.1 mi away
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
5.8 mi away
Villa Gorilla
Villa Gorilla
#3 of 8 in Kinigi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
0.3 mi away
La Palme Hotel
La Palme Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ruhengeri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Peakspot - Kinigi
The Peakspot - Kinigi
#5 of 8 in Kinigi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Inn

Property: Home Inn
Address: Mikeno Streeet | Musanze, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Northern Province > Musanze District > Ruhengeri
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ruhengeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Home Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Inn Rwanda/Ruhengeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing