We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take a snack to eat while waiting for dinner!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gorillas Volcanoes Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ruhengeri
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Take a snack to eat while waiting for dinner!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I didn't stay in this hotel but we did eat there one night (Only!!)
The food (when it came) was quite good albeit expensive for the area. Unfortunately it took nearly two hours to receive our food and our table of 6 were the only people in the restaurant!!

Room Tip: Don't be too hungry when eating here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alansostrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    11
    8
    1
See reviews for
4
5
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kigali
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights when visiting the gorillas. We reserved a family room and when we arrived it was in repair. So we took a double bed room, which was quite cozy! The rooms overall were clean, the food was fine, and the staff was friendly. They did not have mosquito nets and we were covered in bites after the first night. The management said they do have the plan to purchase them, but not sure when that will be so plan ahead. We spent the first night on the first floor and it was extremely noisy- request the second or third floor if you don't want to hear every noise from the kitchen or people coming home late at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke B.C.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights before and after our gorilla trek. Comfortable, clean, friendly staff. The pool needed some cleaning, we were the only ones in it and it didn't look all that inviting. There is a fellow who cleans your boots when you return from the gorilla trek, almost made them look brand new. The breakfast buffet was ok, nothing fantastic but good enough to get your going before your trek. The menu for lunch and dinner was good and the food not too bad but the service was unbelievably slow.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SookeB.C.Schoolbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Upon arriving at this hotel after gorilla trekking we weren't majorly impressed but thought "we're only here for the night and we've been in worse!". The room was just about clean enough but is in desperate need of a refurb, the electric was also not on when we arrived. No mosi nets or mosi curtains on the windows and no air con/heating but the shower was good, but the drainage wasn't and bubbled up over the bathroom floor!
The food at lunchtime was edible, but God only knows how long it had been sitting over the inadequate burners as it wasn't hot (temperature), but the spice blew your head off! 2 Hrs later the hubby had chronic diarrheoa which wasn't the best start to our honeymoon as it lasted a week till we could get antibiotics. Imodium didn't touch it! Evening meal a la carte was average and on par with the rest of the hotel.
It was raining in the afternoon so thought we'd venture to the fitness room which was signposted and came across a staff member having a sleep in a room which obviously wasn't a gym!
All in all the worst hotel I've stayed in in Africa.
However, there are nice views of the volcanos and its not a long drive after gorilla trekking.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fitrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ruhengeri hotels

Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

If you're looking for luxury, this is not the place. But, if you've already spent all of your money on your gorilla trekking permit, this is a perfectly sufficient place to stay.

The rooms were clean, the food was decent, and the drive to Volcanoes National Park was about 20 minutes. There's also a guy that will clean your muddy shoes to like new, for cheap! That said, there's not much in the way of scenery, the TV in my room didn't work, and you could hear noise from the hallway and the pool.

Note that we were able to make use of the "luxury" lodges by having a drink at sunset at Virunga and have dinner one night at Mountain View. A nice compromise.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gopheliad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruhengeri
0.0 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Gorillas Golf Hotel
Gorillas Golf Hotel
#18 of 47 in Kigali
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
0.0 mi away
Montana Vista Hotel
Montana Vista Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ruhengeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Locanda
La Locanda
#1 of 17 in Ruhengeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorillas Volcanoes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorillas Volcanoes Hotel

Property: Gorillas Volcanoes Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 94, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Northern Province > Musanze District > Ruhengeri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ruhengeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Gorillas Volcanoes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorillas Volcanoes Hotel Rwanda/Ruhengeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing