We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ishema is a good option in Musanze” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ishema Hotel

Ishema Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruhengeri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ishema Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Ruhengeri B&B and Inns
Tilbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Ishema is a good option in Musanze”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

The Ishema Hotel is a large(ish) hotel dominating a corner plot next to the cathederal. In fact the hotel is owned by the Anglican Diocese of Ruhengeri.

The staff are very friendly, the rooms comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food is good and the hotel has a tucked away swimming pool. I am also impressed that the hotel is totally non smoking.

I use it when in Musanze overnight with work.

The only reason it doesn't get a 5 star rating when compared against the other hotels in Musanze is that there is no hotel bar. You cannot buy any alcohol in the hotel but they don't mind you buying it outside and bringing it in. I was even told that you can send the staff out to buy it for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is a very good option for the gorillas. The hotel itself is a little bit strict as it is run by the Catholic Church but it is good value. The rooms are more than adequate, especially for the price. There are substantial grounds which you can relax in. There is wireless but it is variable. There are multiple travel service offices in the building itself.

The hotel staff are very accommodating and helped me purchase a ticket at relatively short notice. They were able to arrange a good driver to take for the gorilla trek (and one who was able to convince the appropriate people that I was fit enough for the Susa group when I patently am not! what a champion) and were able to whip up a packed lunch for me. The restaurant is outstanding value - would recommend the green peppercorn steak which goes for less than $4. Just don't expect a beer or a glass of wine with it!

All in all great value and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divvy_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

The Ishema Hotel was a wonderful and relaxing experience! The staff is amazing: very attentive and diligent in doing their job and making the stay at the hotel a pleasant one.
The restaurant is buffet style and the food is delicious. It has a different variety of food items each day. The restaurant and the hotel rooms are very clean and comfortable. The hotel staff seems to take pride in the hotel and it is obvious their main goal is for the customer to enjoy his/her stay. I would highly recommend staying at the Ishema. By the way, it is very close to the gorilla park, so it would an obvious choice for tourists to stay there when going to observe them. It is also very affordable. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dixiemyrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

The Ishema is run by the Anglican Church and is a wonderful, comfortable hotel with very friendly and accommodating staff. The grounds set it back from the main road in the town nicely, so it is quiet, clean and pretty - they even have crested cranes wandering the gardens. The business center works and has wireless and computers for public use. The restaurant serves meals (usually buffet style) much faster than anyplace else I visited in Rwanda. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The hotel even has a swimming pool, which is a little brisk but very refreshing. This place is a hidden gem and excellent value. Don't miss the gift shop of the Mothers' Union next door - best gift shop in Musanze/Ruhengeri!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usmapiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Stayed here in late June / early July - was a really welcoming place. Staff excellent and the whole experience very enjoyable. No hesitations.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011Advice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

I had the good fortune of staying at Ishema Hotel in Musanze/Ruhengeri for 5 weeks while working at a nearby nonprofit for my graduate degree. Everyone at Ishema treated
me like I was part of the family and went out of their way to make sure I was comfortable and safe. It was customer service at its finest. I really can not say enough about the staff!! Plus everyone does their best to speak English! The buffet dinners served in their restaurant were always very hearty and delicious (though no alcohol) and breakfast comes free with your stay. The rooms are basic (TV with just one channel), but it is very affordable, clean, quiet and I always had hot water. Btw, I would suggest staying in the older/original part of the hotel (called the guest houses) which are located in the rear section of the property by the pool (very nice pool!) as opposed to the newer modern rooms located in the front. These older rooms are a little more quaint and are surrounded by a charming courtyard garden. Ishema also has a business center where you can access the internet. I would stay here again in an eye blink.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janegoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruhengeri hotels
0.0 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Red Rocks Rwanda - Campsite & Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Virunga Hotel
Virunga Hotel
#3 of 18 in Ruhengeri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sainte Anne Hotel
Sainte Anne Hotel
#5 of 18 in Ruhengeri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montana Vista Hotel
Montana Vista Hotel
#6 of 18 in Ruhengeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amahoro Guest House
Amahoro Guest House
#4 of 18 in Ruhengeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ishema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ishema Hotel

Property: Ishema Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 26, Ruhengeri, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Northern Province > Musanze District > Ruhengeri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ruhengeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ishema Hotel, located in stunning Musanze, Rwanda, is a full service facility offering a wide range of accommodations, delightful dining, and impressive conference capacity. Only a two hour drive from Kigali and twenty minutes from Volcanoes National Park, Ishema is a perfect options for those wishing to trek gorillas or simply come relax in the serenity and beauty of mountainous northern Rwanda. Ishema, meaning pride in excellence, goes to great lengths to ensure our guests are greeted with quality service and exceptional facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ishema Hotel Rwanda/Ruhengeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing