We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Paradis Malahide
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gisenyi
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise”
Reviewed March 2, 2011

The clue is in the name. If you have made it out here you will find that this hotel is a little bit of Paradise at lake Kivu. This is a little hotel in fabulously green gardens directly on the lake, even with a little stretch of beach. The rooms/huts are a bit dated, but really nice. The shower is good for Eastern Africa and hot water was no problem at all. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would always recommend it. You can spend all day in the garden watching all sorts of birds flying by, enjoy a really good cup of coffee and wait for the fishermen to sail by. Pure relaxation! The staff is super sweet and you won’t notice them until you need/want anything. You can eat a pretty good lunch and dinner here in a great atmosphere. For dinner there will even be a real fire in the middle of the open restaurant hut. Breakfast was also really nice. Not very different from the breakfast you get elsewhere, but any fruit salad just tastes that little bit better when you eat it while watching the kingfisher dip into lake Kivu. The one thing that clearly stands out is the good coffee, which is surprisingly rare in East Africa.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroundtheworld57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    100
    27
    4
    6
See reviews for
38
117
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We chose this place because we went gorilla tracking and there arn't any budget places to stay in the area. The bungalows are cozy and clean and the food was pretty good. The location is great. Our problem arose when a staff member unplugged our hot water heater to charge his mobile phone. The management offered us a bucket of water! Normally we aren't too fussy but if we are paying $80 night we expect more than a bucket bath! After being ignored for a couple of hours we ended up taking cold showers. I tried to complain to management and they offered us $5 off our stay. The owner doesn's speak a word of english and will ignore any problems you have any dump you off on the powerless staff. I would suggest staying in Paradise hotel, or in a guesthouse near the start of the gorilla tracking park.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorel424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We spent three nights at the Paradis Malahide while travelling Rwanda. We would have liked to stay for a longer time. The staff is great and so is the place including bungalows, restaurant and garden. Your days there begin with a fantastic breakfast surrounded by beautiful flowers in the garden and end with delicious rwandan dishes sitting by the fire. Rooms are clean, the price is okay. Also the paradis is situated 6 km from the city centre of Gisenyi, it is easy to get there by motorbikes or car - the staff will help you with arranging transport.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanBerit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2011

This was one of the loveliest, best-value-for-the -money, hideaways I've ever experienced anywhere. The staff were so friendly. They were at our car when we arrived & again when we left. The huts were wonderful & spacious. The dining was in such aesthetically pleasing settings & the food was delicious. It was definitely a high point of my months in Rwanda. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettinabroer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Relaxing, beautiful, great food, friendly staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drakeflock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

The hotel has a very nice garden, the beach is also nice.

The rooms are okay, bath good be improved

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilevoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Cash stolen from inside a bag in locked room. Every single penny.
Response from management was to deny it could have happened.
Also room smelled terrible - too near the cesspool or something - and security guards outside our room swiched on a blaring radio at 0400. All in all, a bad bet

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katemca01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisenyi hotels
2.2 mi away
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gisenyi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ubumwe
Hotel Ubumwe
#4 of 4 in Gisenyi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
2.4 mi away
Discover Rwanda Gisenyi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
INZU Lodge
INZU Lodge
#1 of 20 in Gisenyi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Garden Resort
Palm Garden Resort
#5 of 18 in Gisenyi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dian Fossey
Hotel Dian Fossey
#2 of 18 in Gisenyi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradis Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradis Malahide

Property: Hotel Paradis Malahide
Address: B.P. 535 Rubona, Gisenyi, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Western Province > Gisenyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gisenyi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal climate, the perfect amount of sunshine, a relaxing lake and rolling green hills...PARADIS MALAHIDE is ideally situated in an area of unparalleled natural splendour.The resort is located just seven kilometres from downtown Gisenyi, this beautiful space provides the perfect escape. Stay in one of our 10 cozy bungalows on a private beach and let your worries melt away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Paradis Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malahide Paradis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing