We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite bungalows with activities and hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Paradis Malahide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Paradis Malahide
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gisenyi
Certificate of Excellence
Planet Earth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quite bungalows with activities and hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

From the time we arrived to departure the staff were welcoming and attentive. Yes, it might take a few minutes longer than western style restaurants to receive your food, but its worth the wait. Order the entrees esp. the local Rwandan dish. I was not disappointed!

The breakfast is very filling.

Also, I enjoyed the hotel's (small) private beach and small Island you can canoe to from the mainland (the island is a must-see. In the future I hope you might offer over night camping). Thank you Mucyo (manager) for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: If your traveling from Gisenyi to Nyungwe there is a local boat (11 hours!!). 11 hours is long but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    97
    25
    3
    6
See reviews for
37
113
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Paradis Malahide is a charming guesthouse with a private beach just outside the main city of Gisenyi. The prices are really reasonable and budget friendly. You get more than what you pay for - comfortable beds with mosquito netting, clean bedrooms, hot water showers, a lakefront view and your own private porch if you're lucky.

Amazing hospitality, above the average service you experience in Rwanda. There's a restaurant that serves really delicious, fresh food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Thank you to the amazing staff at Malahide for making our stay in Gisenyi a home away from home. We felt like princesses sleeping in the beds they were so comfortable. The food was phenomenal. I highly recommend the garlic sauce with everything and don't forget to ask for a smoothie during your complimentary 3 course breakfast. The smoothie isn't included in the breakfast, but it's worth the extra $$.

Also, I was truly amazed when my friend and I arrived on the small island just off the front dining area to find a man to guide us to shore. The island looked like it was set up to host an event, complete with a bar and tables and if we had had more time we would have come back for a picnic lunch out there.

One minor suggestion is to have more female staff, both from an equal opportunity stand point and a financial stand point (women are often tipped more than men).

I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlp206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely resort a couple of nights in early January 2014 based on previous reviews. We loved every second of it!
This small resort (13 rooms) is situated on a small private beach very close to Gisenyi. The bungalow rooms were simple but yet clean and charming. There is a very chilled, semi-hippie vibe to this place. Dinner at candle light by the lake was another memorable experience - and food was as great as the atmosphere (we ordered the grilled tilapia two nights in a row). Service is super friendly though very slow, but hey, this is Africa! At $75 per night this is great value for money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DanNYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This place is great! Right on the beach of Lake Kivu, nice atmosphere, and decent food. They even have nightly performances of Intore dancing. The only downside was no wifi or TV in rooms. Overall, a great stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jenben88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Front line customer service in the restaurant at Hotel Malahide Paradis is friendly, but kitchen logistics leave a lot to be desired. It took 2 hours from we placed a simple order for 5 persons at 6.30 pm. till the food arrived on our table at 8.30 pm. We were the first group to arrive for dinner in the restaurant and thought we would order something simple: 3 vegetable curries, 1 steak and chips, 1 local Rwandan dish. As the meals were served we were given two excuses: "we ran out of curry and had to go and buy some" and "we are so busy"!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Wow! We only spent a night here but could have done with a couple more nights.
Where do u start? Location by the lake with amazing views to the island which is owned by the hotel! Sandy beach.
Food at the hotel - delicious!
Staff and service - always smiling and very helpful.
We had not booked a room and they were fully booked but they had a tent which we camped in overlooking the lake! Was breath taking we loved this place. We also met the boss Muoya and he was very friendly, made us feel very welcome and took us to the island at night! #pleasegothere! #amazing

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisenyi hotels
2.2 mi away
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gisenyi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ubumwe
Hotel Ubumwe
#4 of 4 in Gisenyi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
2.4 mi away
Discover Rwanda Gisenyi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
INZU Lodge
INZU Lodge
#1 of 20 in Gisenyi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Garden Resort
Palm Garden Resort
#3 of 16 in Gisenyi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Resort Lake Kivu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradis Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradis Malahide

Property: Hotel Paradis Malahide
Address: B.P. 535 Rubona, Gisenyi, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Western Province > Gisenyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gisenyi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal climate, the perfect amount of sunshine, a relaxing lake and rolling green hills...PARADIS MALAHIDE is ideally situated in an area of unparalleled natural splendour.The resort is located just seven kilometres from downtown Gisenyi, this beautiful space provides the perfect escape. Stay in one of our 10 cozy bungalows on a private beach and let your worries melt away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Paradis Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malahide Paradis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing