We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Paradis Malahide
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gisenyi
Certificate of Excellence
Kigali, Rwanda
2 reviews
“A place to relax”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We spent two nights at Paradis following business in Musanze and Gisenyi. It was the perfect get-away from the traffic and busyness of the towns, and directly on beautiful Lake Kivu. Our 'rontelle' - a stone hut- had a comfortable bed with good mosquito netting, very dim lighting (so bring a flashlight or head lamps), and mostly hot water in the shower (it was good for one shower with a need to wait for the second). The bathroom was small but adequate. The food was good and the service was excellent. There is a full bar. We loved the grounds and the small island that you can row to in one of the wooden canoes - or engage a local to do the rowing for you! Birds and flowers abound. There were many international guests and we enjoyed sharing our stories around the 'campfire' in the dining area. Internet connection is available in the reception/restaurant area. On Saturday night we had a performance by a group of African dancers, which was excellent. A glass of wine watching the sunset, the kingfishers dive for food, and the local fishermen in their triple boats cannot be beat!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toniandbernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    100
    27
    4
    6
See reviews for
39
118
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel is great. For a reasonable price you get a hotel right next to Lake Kivu. The rooms are spacious but the bathrooms could use a good cleaning. The rooms have an excellent view of the water. They have beach side tables so you can have your breakfast by the lake. The food was excellent, as they have wood-fired pizzas and fresh lake fish, plus delightful freshly squeezed juices. The grounds of the hotel are excellently designed, full of flowers and potted plants. They have free WiFi in the main lounge and plenty of friendly staff. Only complaint is that they are right next to the main road, a nightclub and a church, which makes for a noisy night and an early Sunday morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuggie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Paradis Malahide for 3 nights. The location is great and the property was lovely -it is right on Lake Kivu. As part of the tour package we booked, we got a boat ride around the lake which was nice - they bring you to the small island that is part of the hotel, a hot spring area where locals hang out, and around the area. It was a nice activity for about an hour.

The rooms are quaint as well - spacious and comfortable; the bed however was a little uncomfortable. What made our stay great was the staff. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. The front desk manager, Safari, was especially nice and patient with me. He helped me make several phone calls to our tour guide, the airport, and Ethiopian Airlines while we tried desperately to find our luggage that Ethiopian Airlines lost. And the staff were all genuinely happy when we got the good news that our bag was finally found!

The food (especially the chef salad and seasoned avocado) was also quite good as well. Just note that it can take up to 45-60 minutes to get your food from the time you order - it's no problem as long as you're prepared to wait - just have a drink or two! Breakfast is served fairly quickly and is included in the room rate.

The only (small) complaint I have is that on the morning we were going to leave, we were woken up at around 5am by someone raking / cleaning - it was still dark outside so we found it a bit odd and it was loud enough to disturb our sleep but we eventually fell back asleep.

Overall, the service and location of Paradis Malahide makes for a lovely stay - I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are planning to travel to Gisenyi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was there on 20th October 2013,My family and I were looking for an opportunity to experience the lake and at the same time get to eat something and relax as we had been traveling all day from Kigali. The entry experience to the property is somewhat ordinary, guess intentionally to guide you to the unexpected amazing African themed restaurant . The red clay bricks used to build the main structure just go in to enhance the African theme. The windowless restaurant allows in the cool wind from lake Kivu to join you in your meals and simultaneously let you steal glimpses of the beautiful lake from your eating space. The African decor interiors are the first I've seen and its good execution leaves you with hunger wanting for more and obviously.... once the food comes in the fish carved wooded plates, my goodness..its like eating art and food at the same time. The waiters dressed in African fabric serve you courteously with a smile on their face and patiently wait a few moments afterwards just in case you want any other service rendered, you don't have to look for them, they are there.When it started to drizzle the waiters thoughtfully came to out table with red hot charcoal stacked in small clay pots and placed them on the ground where our feet were, this attention to small detail is what I was impressed with during my time there.

The views by the lake is spectacular especially in the afternoon when the sun is setting.The distant views from the shore include huge hills in DRC (Congo) forming a wall, closer to shore one is able to appreciate small islands which are a boat ride away.My experience there was truly memorable because of these moments.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kubai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We arrived latish after flying from Nairobi and then looking through the genocide memorial museum (which is well worth a visit) then lunching at Hotel Des Mille Collines (Hotel Rwanda fame) in Kigali. Being late we were gently hurried with our luggage to our bandas to enable us to go back to the restaurant and order a beautiful meal. Although the bed was a bit hard (as they mostly were in Africa) and the shower was a bit haphazard (as many were in Africa) this was our first stay out side of a big city and it was lovely. The restaurant had fab food and entertainment of African dancing in the evening plus a great breakfast down by the lake. They organised a lake boat trip for the four of us after breakfast that was a delight for bird life and local culture. A really lovely relaxing place with great views over Lake Kivu. This was the beginning of our 6.5 week trip through Africa so not knowing what to expect was difficult but looking back, yes, Hotel Malahide Paridise is worth more than a one night stay. I would like to visit again to see more of the local culture.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trudyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Wonderful views over Lake Kivu are the highlight of this accommodation. With a small private beach (no towels provided), outdoor eatery and a private island you can reach by canoe, this is a place to rest if needed. You can also take a short drive to see the border crossing (closed to tourists) with the D.R.C.

The rooms are comfortable and decorated with double beds (or two singles) some cane furniture and large mosquito nets. There is a mix of small round huts or two storey block with four rooms. We stayed upstairs in the block which has the best views of the lack. On the down side bring your ear plugs. The road to and from town runs right behind the block and it can get busy in the early evenings. Our shower was warm and the shower head falling apart providing more of a 360 spray; all part of the African experience.

There is also a bar and restaurant which serves a diverse range of food from pizza to local dishes served by a very friendly group of staff. I discovered that I had a different understanding of grilled when it came of my fish and bananas. The food is good but take a book with you or just enjoy the tranquility as it can take a while to arrive. Breakfast outside with the buzz of the town in the background is wonderful.

There is wifi in the restaurant area however for those old enough it will bring back memories of dial up modems....on a bad day!

NB: Only cash payment accepted however there ATMs in town that accept Visa card.

Room Tip: Rooms in the block back on to the road so can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielsko-Biała, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I've spent a night and had an excellent meal at this venue in 2012. Wonderful view of Lake Kivu, excellent fresh fish and banana fries. Decent standard rooms, clean and tidy. Definitely can be a place to stay if better sleeping options in Gisenyi are unavailable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 83Maciek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisenyi hotels
2.2 mi away
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
#2 of 5 in Gisenyi
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ubumwe
Hotel Ubumwe
#5 of 5 in Gisenyi
15 reviews
2.4 mi away
Discover Rwanda Gisenyi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
INZU Lodge
INZU Lodge
#1 of 20 in Gisenyi
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Garden Resort
Palm Garden Resort
#6 of 23 in Gisenyi
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gorillas Lake Kivu Hotel
Gorillas Lake Kivu Hotel
#6 of 20 in Gisenyi
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradis Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradis Malahide

Property: Hotel Paradis Malahide
Address: B.P. 535 Rubona, Gisenyi, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Western Province > Gisenyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gisenyi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal climate, the perfect amount of sunshine, a relaxing lake and rolling green hills...PARADIS MALAHIDE is ideally situated in an area of unparalleled natural splendour.The resort is located just seven kilometres from downtown Gisenyi, this beautiful space provides the perfect escape. Stay in one of our 10 cozy bungalows on a private beach and let your worries melt away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Paradis Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malahide Paradis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing