We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation with loads of character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Paradis Malahide
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gisenyi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here in January 2013. Completely blown away by the excellent location, accommodation, food and service. The hotel is in a fantastic location right on the lake with excellent views. The rooms are simple and yet comfortable and spacious with good ensuite facilities. The food in the hotel restaurant is fantastic and very reasonably priced. The customer service is incredible and the waiters will do anything for you. Very charming character and feel to the whole place. Comes highly recommended. PS. Say hello to Emmanuel one of the waiters he is an absolute legend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbob_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Paradis Malahide
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 317 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here in July 2013. The hotel is cute and service is very friendly. Food was yummy and the hotel setting is beautiful. The little cottages are literally only a few steps away from the lake. It is very quiet and not overrun by hotel guests as some of the other hotels. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a quiet and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

After two nights at a large soul-less hotel in Ruhengeri/Musenze, this small eco-hotel was a breath of fresh air. Rooms are very simple and rustic yet clean and charming. We enjoyed drinks and lunch outdoors in the peaceful lakeside setting. Dinner inside with a nice fire was most pleasant. Kebabs were good, especially the fish and chicken; pizza was average. Cultural singing/dancing show was provided - OK if one enjoys that type of thing. All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful and service was excellent. I wish we had had another day here just to relax and enjoy the lovely ambiance.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank scubakjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had no idea what to expect when we arrived, but was enchanted from beginning to end of our stay. The hotel is lovely, the views are spectacular, the service is top rate/friendly/wonderful, the food is fantastic. I was spoiled staying here and only wish I could find a place this affordable and wonderful in the US. Wow. If you ever go to Gisenyi, you MUST stay here. There are other more well known (and more expensive) places, but this hotel is the best! Be sure not to miss the Intore dancers too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just the perfect place to stay if you want to visit Gisenyi. Nice location though it's a little bit south from town - you can go for a walk, see the harbor, brewery, hotsprings and local life. Lovely rooms which were very clean, had a fantastic breakfast - felt like we were all alone in the middle of paradise -, good food in general and friendly and serviceminded staff (I don't want to be too hard on my Rwanda, but which is hard to find). Prices are very fair.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Pernille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

That's what it looks like looking out over the water from the shore at Malahide Paradis. The water and sky blend together... Enjoy the views from the lounges on the shore or the lawn. The water is fine and strangely boyant.
We spent 2 nights here. The bungalows are very nice and comfortable. Great mattresses. Lovely stone showers, plenty of hot water. We had delicious breakfasts of omelets, toast, and crepes served with delicious coffee and tea, served outside overlooking the lake. Dinner was delicious; great tilapia fillet. The pizza oven smelled great, and the pizza looked good. There was entertainment with native dancing and great drumming, and it was a lot of fun.
Our second night we ordered early while still sitting out, and thus avoided the wait for service.
They also have a gorgeous island offshore that you can paddle out to in one of the canoes, or have a boat take you out. Or if you feel energetic, swim out!
Wifi is available in the main lodge.
Staff is very helpful. Emmanual is a gem.

Room Tip: Bungalows better than house; sometimes there are trucks going by at night which are loud in house, b...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xclr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wish we had stayed longer! We had a room facing the lake, comfortable, clean beds, stone shower, and lovely porch to watch the waves. The food was very good, outdoor amongst the gardens. We had the best hamburgers we have eaten in Africa! Dinner was near the cozy fire, and as we settled, a dance performance began. Staff were helpful and kind, even hurrying our breakfast so we could catch the boat to Kibuye. Plan for 7,000 rf for a long cab ride from the bus station, and bring bottled water, its much cheaper in town.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank tdennis06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisenyi hotels
2.2 mi away
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
#2 of 6 in Gisenyi
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ubumwe
Hotel Ubumwe
#5 of 6 in Gisenyi
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hill View Hotel Lake Kivu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Discover Rwanda Gisenyi Beach
0.0 mi away
Palm Garden Resort
Palm Garden Resort
#5 of 23 in Gisenyi
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
INZU Lodge
INZU Lodge
#1 of 21 in Gisenyi
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradis Malahide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradis Malahide

Address: B.P. 535 Rubona, Gisenyi, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Western Province > Gisenyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gisenyi
Price Range: $92 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal climate, the perfect amount of sunshine, a relaxing lake and rolling green hills...PARADIS MALAHIDE is ideally situated in an area of unparalleled natural splendour.The resort is located just seven kilometres from downtown Gisenyi, this beautiful space provides the perfect escape. Stay in one of our 10 cozy bungalows on a private beach and let your worries melt away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Paradis Malahide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malahide Paradis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing