We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
INZU Lodge
Nearby Hotels
La Corniche(Gisenyi)
$65
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
$41
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
$80
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Musanto Hotel(Gisenyi)
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$210
$37
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Ubumwe(Gisenyi)
$51
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$191
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
99
29
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
29
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscongo nile trailin advancelake kivucomfortable bedsbamboo houseover christmasan amazing vieweco toiletsmall fried fishseparate buildingwonderful gardenlocal familyflush toiletsa great place to staywifi connectionbus stationhot shower
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 135 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2016

*There is no actual public internet in a usual public space or near the tent - MTN mobile net work is also not great

*They only take cash payment and can not accept cards

*The View is sensational and the reason to stay here. Inzu is located away from the beach on the hill overlooking the lake. The extra high provides better views than from the hotels on the lake front.

*Walking distance to other hotel restaurants - avoid Inzuzu that has an extremely luxurious building and grounds but does not deliver in food with a small menu and very steep prices.

*Inzu has a good menu. The food is not outstanding but it is very vegetarian friendly. I particularly enjoyed the banana chips with salsa.

* The beds are very comfortable and there is a wad of blankets making it impossible to get cold. It rained heavily and there were no tent leaks. There was enough space to move around and store a reasonable amount of luggage under the bed and on some shelves.

*The breakfasts are substantial.

*Their Moka pot is actually a stove top espresso.

*Stay here for the great views and veggie food

Room Tip: If you have lots of luggage or don't want to walk up a hill ask for a tent near reception.
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INZU L, Owner at INZU Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your appreciation of our hotel. I will share your kind words with our team.
The payment possibility are cash, Paypal, MTN Mobile Money or bank transfert, but it is true that we cant accept credit cards at our reception desk.
Thank you for having taken time to write a review for our hotel.
Kind Regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2016

We stayed one night there on our way back from DR Congo. The place was great, confortable and clean. It is definitely the perfect place to rest. Worth mentioning the restaurant, with great food. If WIFI was arriving there... it would be just perfect.

Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
Thank dissabtero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INZU L, Owner at INZU Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for the nice review and sharing your experience with the viewers of tripadvisor. We do have free WIFI in the reception, but unfortunately sometimes the network is not good or very slow.
Best regards,
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2016 via mobile

A very welcome two night stay at the end of a week's tour of Rwanda. Amazing lake views and spectacular gardens. The restaurant cafe bar is an open terrace amidst the gardens. Our safari tent had a porch with chairs and again wonderful views. Dinner was delicious- try the small fried fish and fish kebabs. A fabulous place to kick back. Hot showers too. Inzu is a great example of an eco lodge. We arrived straight from trekking to see the gorillas, a perfect way to end a once in a lifetime experience.

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INZU L, Owner at INZU Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2016

Dear Guest
Many thanks for the very nice review and taking time to share your experience with the viewers of tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at INZU Lodge and I will share your comments with our team.
Best regards,
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2016

The area is really nice and relaxing.
There are 3 different types of accommodation, all with share bathrooms: bungalows, tents (located on the lower part) and very basic tents (located on the upper part). Although both kind of tents have exactly the same price the ones in the upper level were at the time unfinished, roofless, smaller, with less furniture and further away from the hot showers.

During our trip we stayed twice in the INZU lodge and the experience was completely different in both of them.
The first time we booked through Booking and got one of the nice tents, on the lower part, with beautiful views over the lake. The mattress had seen better days, as it was a bit uncomfortable but the tent had a terrase with a couple of chairs and a table and you could really enjoy the atmosphere.
The second time we stayed, we were allocated one of the tents on the upper level although we had booked one of the other. The tent had an unfinished roof, and the workers kept working on it even when we were inside.

WIFI is only available in the reception and extremely slow.
Breakfast is not included on the price. The fruit plates are delicious
It takes a long time to cook and serve but average for Rwanda.
If you are in a hurry it´s better to order in advance the previous night.
Food is a bit overprice. Avoid ordering half chicken, as it´s not a half chicken but a couple of tiny overcooked pieces of it.

Room Tip: Tents on the lower part are nicer and have better views. Avoid the ones on the upper part. No good value for money.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank earthandheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INZU L, Propriétaire at INZU Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

I apologize that your experience at Inzu Lodge did not meet your expectations, and I thank you for your review so that we can work to improve our lodge and our customers’ stay. I also apologize if the workers where working on the roof of your tent when you was inside. Now, all the new tents have the bamboo roof and we put a water heater in the bathroom by the new tents so that everyone will be close to a hot shower. All new tents are finished and have beds, chairs, a little table, and linens. Thank you again for your feedback, and I will continue to work with my staff to improve our customer care at Inzu Lodge.

Kind regards,
Marie-Noelle
Owner, Inzu Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2016

We stayed for two nights at Inzu Lodge before heading on the Congo-Nile Trail with our mountain bikes for days of fun and adventures. The lodge overlooks Lake Kivu and the region has a pleasant climate. We slept like babies in our comfortable tent. The hot showers are down by the restautant and are very clean with plenty hot water. Sitting in the restaurant with a tall Primus beer and some of the best food we've had in Africa time stood still. Marie-Nöelle, the French-Canadian owner, has created an oasis pf peace. Merci!

Room Tip: There are 4 older tents--bigger, lower, closer--and 4 newer ones, try to get an older one if you need space and proximity to restrooms.
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janickpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews