We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Thai food in Rwanda!!!”

Thaijazz Beach Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Gisenyi
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Rwanda!!!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Surprised with this restaurant! The owner is very friendly and likes to talk with the customers so that's a nice welcome. The food is very good and not too expensive. The waiting time is longer than usual but in Rwanda food waiting time moves slower than anywhere else so I even think it was faster than most other Rwandan restaurants. The staff was also friendly and helpful.
But the thing that got to me most was that they had Leffe! Finally a beer other than Primus or Skoal and it's beautiful Leffe! I do hope they get Leffe there on a weekly/monthly basis since I'll probably go back to Gisenyi soon.
Since it's on the coast of lake Kivu you can enjoy the view while you wait for the food. Best food in Gisenyi is either here or Serena Kivu hotel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kajser27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    6
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lakeside character”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Quiet and near the lake and run by an extrordinary character, who'll no doubt come by for a chat. Beers cold and food reasonable without being anything to write home about.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank geoffwellard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Legit beach bar and Thai food in Rwanda!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We've lived in Rwanda for a while and only just learned of Thai Jazz. We'll definitely be back. Probably the best atmosphere for a bar I've seen in country and they serve Thai food, something you can't get in Kigali. We had Tom Kha Kai, beef with coconut milk and Thai spices, and chicken with ground peanuts and green curry. All were great (beef was the best). The bar is set up right on the water and there is good jazz music playing at a reasonable level so you can still hear the waves crashing if you happen to be there when Lake Kivu isn't flat. Owner Jamil has awesome style and is super nice and the food was out in less than 30 minutes, unheard of in this country. Definitely one of the best places in Rwanda and much better than the Serena a few doors down the road.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nathan3455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best chocolate mousse in the world”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Seriously! And a great vibe, lovely menu, charismatic host - don't miss this if you're in the area...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ciara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“lovely ambiance and owner is delightful”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The venue of the restaurant, right on the lake and a tiki like ambience was great. Many Thai items were not available when we were there but the food was enjoyable. The service was very nice.. an overall exotic experience...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nancmock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thaijazz Beach Restaurant also viewed

Gisenyi, Western Province
 
Gisenyi, Western Province
Gisenyi, Western Province
 

Been to Thaijazz Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing