We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great open showers”
Review of Palm Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Garden Resort
Ranked #5 of 23 Gisenyi B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Headed to Gisengyi for some R&R from Butaro. What a blessing in disguise. The hotel was very impressive. Food was great, rooms were very nice and comfortable. Would easily recommend this to anyone. The walk along the coast to the DRC boarder is lovely.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center.. Would have been great if they had, had a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 55 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Located on the waterfront with it's tranquil garden, Palm Garden is a good place to stay. Rooms are nicely decorated and the food and service are good. Standard is less than Serena, but if you want to stay in a nice Rwandan run resort with dito style and enough comfort, this is a great pick.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJBVerhoeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent our first night in Rwanda at the Palm Gardens and could not have been given a more kind and beautiful welcome. Its location is fantastic right on the lake, with views of the water from every spot on the property. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The restaurant serves up delicious meals of all sorts from local fish fare to pasta to croque monsieurs. I agree with other reviews that what stands out more than anything is the service. The staff is attentive and accommodating while the manager of the hotel, Vedaste Kayiranga goes above and beyond to ensure that you enjoy your stay. From arranging traditional music and dance performances on Saturday nights, to boat rides on the lake, to tours around Gisenyi, Vedaste is the ultimate host. Wish we could have stayed longer. HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuohy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We picked the Palm Gardens based on a friend's suggestion. The views are outstanding from the restaurant above and from the lawn where you have breakfast and generally hang out. We loved our cabana which was near the water. It was clean and peaceful. The outdoor bathroom gets a lot of attention from other reviewers. It was a nice touch to be outside for certain.

The manager Vedaste was very attentive and set up two boat rides for us which I highly recommend. We toured the area on a boat - coming up close to the fisherman on their way out to the lake, checking out the brewery and methane pumps (from afar!) If only the hot springs were cleaner! Also, it's still not clear what the consensus is on the lake - schistosomiasis or not? We didn't go in although it was awfully tempting and everyone else seemed to be having a ball.

Our other choice for lodging would have been the Paradise Malahide. We went over there for dinner one night - and it was packed with young college students from the US who came on a bus. Probably not typical - but definitely a different vibe.

Last but not least - I want to comment on how nice the staff was during our weekend there. Our daughter (2 years old) was showered with kindness and attention. Thank you Martin, Eric and the rest. It was just ideal for us as parents.

Room Tip: Get a cabana down by the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariaesperanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Spent a relaxing weekend here in between two weeks of work. The setting, staff and facility could not have been better. A pool and fitness center might be nice, but the former would likely spoil the setting of the place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proflaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I spent the weekend at Palm Gardens and was completely delighted with my stay there. The service is exceptional, the facilities are immaculate, the restaurant whips up super delicious meals and the rooms are comfortable and spacious. What’s best is the service. Vedaste Kayiranga, the managing director, goes out of his way to make sure his guests are looked after. He also has an impeccable taste in music and played everything from American jazz greats to lesser obscure African artists. He is also an expert salsa dancer and is willing to teach a step or two if you’re daring enough. The staff is also unusually attentive for Rwanda, a place that I’ve come to understand has a laid back culture in food and hospitality. It would be a true crime if you visit Kivu without staying with Palm Garden. At very least, drop in to have lunch or dinner on their almost fairytale-like veranda.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A group of us just stayed at Palm Garden Resort this past weekend. Palm Garden Resort is incredibly blissful, gorgeous and situated right on beautiful and expansive Lake Kivu. The grounds of the resort are breath-taking with numerous palm trees, fruit trees, colorful flowers and exotic birds. Led by Hotel Manager, Valence, the service we experienced from the hotel staff and management at Palm Garden Resort was out of this world accommodating, warm and hospitable. The food at Palm Garden Resort is incredibly delicious as well. The included breakfast was plentiful and we each ordered several whole fresh tilapia at ever meal, which is caught straight from Lake Kivu. For recreation, we also rented bikes, a boat out on the water, and went on picturesque runs and hikes around Gisenyi. Our group is already planning our return trip next month, since this is an unmatched location and accommodation for a magnificently relaxing and nature-filled escape. Thank you Palm Garden Resort for a lovely visit! See you soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank my9386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisenyi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Paradis Malahide
Hotel Paradis Malahide
#1 of 6 in Gisenyi
318 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
#2 of 6 in Gisenyi
252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hill View Hotel Lake Kivu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Discover Rwanda Gisenyi Beach
0.0 mi away
The Palm Beach Resort
The Palm Beach Resort
#9 of 23 in Gisenyi
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
INZU Lodge
INZU Lodge
#1 of 21 in Gisenyi
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Resort

Address: 1 Brasserie Gisenyi | Street to cap Rubona, Gisenyi 00250, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Western Province > Gisenyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gisenyi
Price Range: $58 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands on the shores of Lake Kivu, just outside the small town of Gisenyi, which is 160km from Kigali (20 minute's flight from Kigali International Airport) and minutes from the border with the Democratic Republic of Congo and the city of Goma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palm Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing