We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissful paradise”
Review of Palm Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Garden Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Gisenyi B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blissful paradise”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A group of us just stayed at Palm Garden Resort this past weekend. Palm Garden Resort is incredibly blissful, gorgeous and situated right on beautiful and expansive Lake Kivu. The grounds of the resort are breath-taking with numerous palm trees, fruit trees, colorful flowers and exotic birds. Led by Hotel Manager, Valence, the service we experienced from the hotel staff and management at Palm Garden Resort was out of this world accommodating, warm and hospitable. The food at Palm Garden Resort is incredibly delicious as well. The included breakfast was plentiful and we each ordered several whole fresh tilapia at ever meal, which is caught straight from Lake Kivu. For recreation, we also rented bikes, a boat out on the water, and went on picturesque runs and hikes around Gisenyi. Our group is already planning our return trip next month, since this is an unmatched location and accommodation for a magnificently relaxing and nature-filled escape. Thank you Palm Garden Resort for a lovely visit! See you soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank my9386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    16
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed there for only one night after a long road, was supposed to stay for longer but we had to leave, the staff was really comprehensive and agreable. Waiters were super friendly and attentive to our needs.
The food was ok but could be improved, i had a lentil soup (or somthing like that) that tasted only of pepper...
Otherwise, the place feels safe, the room are really clean and nice. The view is simply amazing!

There was a small fire to warm the guests in the evening ... was really nice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far end, a bit removed from the lake, second story are amazing with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed for two nights in April at this beautiful lakeside resort. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Hot water & mosquito nets and big closets. The whole place is beautifully manicured and feels like a castle. My included breakfast (juice, toast, omelete, coffee, fruit plate) came as soon as I sat down. Dinner similarly, was very tasty and served right away, so I did not experience the slow food some other reviews mention at all. The staff was very attentive and brought beers and cocktails down to the pretty waterfront seating areas and loung chairs. The manager could not have been more friendly and helpful with tips about Gisenyi. This is the perfect quiet place to read a book by the lake and relax. I will be back.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms are free standing and furnished and laid out very differently. Ask to see a few if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CourtneyMFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse, ny USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

the palm garden resort is a gorgeous place in the windy mountain roads of gisenyi, rwanda. i wish i had more time to spend relaxing there, but instead was only spending a quick night before heading off to work on lake kivu. the food was good, but took forever (even longer than expected by rwandan standards). lovely bathtub in my room, with ample hot water. nicely decorated, and very comfortable! i would love to go back.

Room Tip: my room was nyanza, and it was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacki_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I've visited the Palm Garden Resort several times and each time has been wonderful. On my most recent trip we actually had to stay across the street at the INZU Lodge but we had dinner and drinks and a wonderful breakfast the next morning. The whole experience was really wonderful. I didn't write a review of my previous stays but I have loved each one. The staff have always been terrific and the restaurant bar is one of the coolest spots in Rwanda I think.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rift Valley, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had an amazing couple of nights at Palm Garden. It's located right on the lake and there are plenty of lounging areas to relax and enjoy. The food is delicious and unlike much of our other experiences of Rwanda arrived within an hour of being ordered! The rooms are clean and comfortable and have fantastic views. The bar area is very nice and relaxing and the gardent are gorgeous. Many of the staff only have limited English but we managed to get through to them in the end and they never ceased to be super friendly. We really debated between Palm Garden and Paradise Malahide. I haven't seen the latter one but would go back to Palm Garden any time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just returned to Kigali from a 2 night stay at the Palm Garden Resort. We loved the beautiful palm garden setting by the lake with plenty of seating under cover from the sun. The staff was exceptional. The first night we ordered a variety of croquettes and enjoyed them so much we ordered them again the second night! My favorite was the fish. The rooms were very clean and roomy, though my son-in-law said the mattress in their bungalo was not comfortable.
I would have given an excellent rating except for the steps. There's a variety, wooden and cement, but the risers are not the same height from one step to another. Some are very steep, much more than necessary. My husband and I had an upstairs room and the wooden steps to get to the upper level were treacherous. Some were loose, some slanted down, all very narrow. It was not safe for me! The railing also was not stable, and there was no railing in several places on the grounds.
Overall, a good retreat. Just be careful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gisenyi
0.0 mi away
Hotel Paradis Malahide
Hotel Paradis Malahide
#1 of 4 in Gisenyi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gisenyi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Discover Rwanda Gisenyi Beach
0.0 mi away
INZU Lodge
INZU Lodge
#1 of 20 in Gisenyi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Resort Lake Kivu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Resort

Property: Palm Garden Resort
Address: 1 Brasserie Gisenyi | Street to cap Rubona, Gisenyi 00250, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Western Province > Gisenyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Gisenyi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands on the shores of Lake Kivu, just outside the small town of Gisenyi, which is 160km from Kigali (20 minute's flight from Kigali International Airport) and minutes from the border with the Democratic Republic of Congo and the city of Goma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palm Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing