We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful place to stay”
Review of Palm Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Garden Resort
Ranked #6 of 23 Gisenyi B&B and Inns
Rift Valley, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A peaceful place to stay”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had an amazing couple of nights at Palm Garden. It's located right on the lake and there are plenty of lounging areas to relax and enjoy. The food is delicious and unlike much of our other experiences of Rwanda arrived within an hour of being ordered! The rooms are clean and comfortable and have fantastic views. The bar area is very nice and relaxing and the gardent are gorgeous. Many of the staff only have limited English but we managed to get through to them in the end and they never ceased to be super friendly. We really debated between Palm Garden and Paradise Malahide. I haven't seen the latter one but would go back to Palm Garden any time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
10
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just returned to Kigali from a 2 night stay at the Palm Garden Resort. We loved the beautiful palm garden setting by the lake with plenty of seating under cover from the sun. The staff was exceptional. The first night we ordered a variety of croquettes and enjoyed them so much we ordered them again the second night! My favorite was the fish. The rooms were very clean and roomy, though my son-in-law said the mattress in their bungalo was not comfortable.
I would have given an excellent rating except for the steps. There's a variety, wooden and cement, but the risers are not the same height from one step to another. Some are very steep, much more than necessary. My husband and I had an upstairs room and the wooden steps to get to the upper level were treacherous. Some were loose, some slanted down, all very narrow. It was not safe for me! The railing also was not stable, and there was no railing in several places on the grounds.
Overall, a good retreat. Just be careful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My 4 children and I stayed here in August 2012, and were made to feel super welcome by Vedaste (the owner, also a Rwandan tour operator) and his team. They bent over backwards to accommodate us, even to the point of providing a separate rondavel (at no extra charge) rather than shoehorning a third bed into one of the other 2 we'd reserved. The atmosphere that Vedaste has created with his property is sublime and relaxing - - it reminded all of us of a tropical paradise like Hawaii (imagine that, Hawaii on Lake Kivu!). The resort has a great grassy area for relaxing by the lake, a nice area for swimming (although a bit rocky) and a boat launch and boat to take guests on tours around the lake. We were initially torn between this and the ever-popular Paradis Malahide right down the road, but now having seen them both, there is no comparison - - Palm Garden is clearly superior, being further off the road, on a quieter bit of land, etc.

Definitely recommended. Will visit again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RwandaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Staff was fantastic & super helpful! Super beautiful gardens that you can easily sit for hours having a great bite to eat & siping on a cool beverage while looking out at the lake.
I had the sandwich and was blown away by how awesome it was! We found this place by accident and it has now become our favourite!!!!!!
Keep up the great work

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This place is really hidden gem that deserves to be discovered. For me, living across the border in DRC, this weekend escape was a real discovery. Main building is open air style with awesome interior design, warm colors and traditional furniture. Combo of chill out lounge and dining area seems perfect. Ope fire in the center will make fresh evenings unforgettable. Below, towards the lake is huge lawn with palm trees scattered and nice flowers all around.
Bamboo tables and chairs overlooking lake under thatched roof umbrellas are sweet. There is a beach too with sun beds and boat available for lake trip.
Staff is absolutely amazing, always there, discreet but smart, always reminding you about their great food and drink menu. Grilled fish is out of this space - perfection!
And accommodation....amazing. There are 3 little bungalows just next to the lake that are absolutely worth spending few bucks more. Still, don't be desperate if other rooms are available only, all of them will make you want to spend longer than planned.
It is absolutely great. I would add two small thing only - outdoor shower after dip in the lake and ...hammocks :-)
Well done job for Palm Garden Resort!!

Room Tip: Muhazi is absolutely amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljubica1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, U.K
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were meant to stay here for one night only but we ended up staying another because we had such a comfortable experience on the first day here and we wanted to make the most of the lovely surroundings.The view of lake Kivu from the room was breathtaking. The room itself was very clean,spacious,tastefully decorated and it had a wonderful outdoor shower.Breakfast and dinner were very well presented and more importantly very delicious. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing we asked for was too much trouble for them. Vedaste Kayiranga (General manager) was brilliant,he really put himself out to make our stay as welcoming as possible.The gardens are beautiful,the dining/bar area is decorated beautifully with African artefacts and the boat ride on the lake was very relaxing. If given prior notice the Hotel can also arrange for a pick up from the town centre if you don't have your own car. Overall, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We could unfortunately only stay here for one night in September 2012.

It has a perfect location, fantastic rooms and great staff.

We had a light snack the afternoon, a cheese sandwhich and an avo salad. Amazing. offcourse it takes long to prepare, but this together with our dinner here went down as some of the best meals in Rwanda.

We waited ages for our breakfast to arrive(apparently they ran out of sugar) but the location is so surreal that this did not matter. We asked for breakfast to be served right on the lakes edge.

We used the Hotels boat for an hour trip on the lake, visiting the hot springs, brewery and some islands. This was lovely(although it was raining big time!!), although in my opinion slightly over priced, at aroung USD70 or something close.

The pictures in these reviews does not do the beauty of this place any justice.

Not only would I recommend a trip to Gisenyi, but also a stay a Palm Garden Resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisenyi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Paradis Malahide
Hotel Paradis Malahide
#1 of 5 in Gisenyi
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel
#2 of 5 in Gisenyi
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ubumwe
Hotel Ubumwe
#5 of 5 in Gisenyi
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Discover Rwanda Gisenyi Beach
0.0 mi away
INZU Lodge
INZU Lodge
#1 of 20 in Gisenyi
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palm Beach Resort
The Palm Beach Resort
#10 of 23 in Gisenyi
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Resort

Property: Palm Garden Resort
Address: 1 Brasserie Gisenyi | Street to cap Rubona, Gisenyi 00250, Rwanda
Location: Rwanda > Western Province > Gisenyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gisenyi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands on the shores of Lake Kivu, just outside the small town of Gisenyi, which is 160km from Kigali (20 minute's flight from Kigali International Airport) and minutes from the border with the Democratic Republic of Congo and the city of Goma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palm Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing