We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful oasis near the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Erfoud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Vic Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis near the desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

We stayed overnight at Kasbah Xaluca in order to visit the Merzougan sand dunes and found our stay very comfortable and our accommodation excellent, our rooms were very spacious and clean. The dinner buffet provided, beside a beautifully lit swimming pool, after a sunset journey to the sand dunes had an excellent array of food and was very good. The location of this hotel appeared to be in the middle of nowhere but is suitable if visiting the sand dunes or if you are happy to stop for a little relaxation passing through this little town.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    194
    55
    9
    8
See reviews for
90
205
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

Extraordinary surprise! Unfortannely we know Marocco as a country with a high level of pobrety and desorganization, and that's correct. But it's also a beautiful country with outstanding landscapes and magic traditions.
The Xaluca Hotel is one of the most incredible places i've been till now, the magic of the hotel himself and the speechless decoration (the rooms are suprimes!), turns this spot in a must go! I recommend the hotel mostly for his romantic and magic ambiance.
Don't go to Marocco without stay in one of Xaluca's group hotels!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NunoMelides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
453 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2008

While I will leave it to others to describe the pleasant rooms and surroundings at this hotel in the desert, I want to focus on the buffet served in the restaurant. While the evening meal had plentiful food, it was surprisingly bland and tasted as if it had been sitting around awhile. At breakfast the next morning, I was surprised to see loads of flies buzzing around the entire buffet and the staff didn't seem at all concerned. It made for a very unappealing breakfast. I notified reception of this upon my departure and they showed no concern. That is my only criticism of this otherwise lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marblehead750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

This is a fairly new place (2003, I think). It is very large and surrounds several courtyards, one with a beautiful pool. The rooms are large and clean and styled up to look tent-like. In the evenings, there is local music and camels, etc around the courtyards. We enjoyed sitting by the pool and having drinks. The evening buffet and morning buffet were very nice. The staff was also nice and helpful. It is fairy isolated, but we only stayed one night passing through.

  • Liked — Sitting around the pool having drunks
  • Disliked — All the bus tours
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

My family stayed here while on a 10 day tour of Morocco - fantastic hotel wished I could have had an extra day there to relax. Food great, pool cool but nice surrounds. Staff very friendly and helpful about arranging our trip to the sand dunes of Meragoza. Would definitely recommend that you stay here however it is about 5km out of town - not that there is much to do in town anyway.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Rose252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2008

Excellent hotel - literally an oasis in the desert. This modern hotel is built using traditional pise methods (mud brick) and in the traditional kasbah style. Built in the middle of nowhere it is surrounded by a high wall. There are two connecting courtyards - one containing the hotel rooms, and the other the swimming pool, dining room, tea room, bar and reception. Rooms are traditional but clean and comfortable, with en suite bathroom containind a large washbasin carrved from stone containg fossils.

The hotel has dune buggies and camels for trips into the desert, and will arrange an overnight camel trip to a Berber camp at an oasis in the Erg Chebbi dunes near Merzouga.

Good base for visiting nearby Rissani (large market) and Erfoud (the place to buy fossils).

  • Liked — Traditional kasbah
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdiTravAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2007

I can only say that this hotel is quite a surprise... a FABULOUS suprprise.
the only thing I can't evaluate is the pool... couldn't use it under the freezing cold you can find in the desert during the month of January...
If you're looking for a high quality place to stay if you're going for an off-road adventure this is the place to be.
If you're looking for a romantic place ... well... this is the place to stay as well.
The food is good, and the service and overall quality of the hotel is abolutely fabulous.
Be aware.. if you want to make reservations during the days that Lisbon-Dakar competition goes past Erfoud, make it at least two months in advance.
In very short terms... Been there and loved it ! 1001 nights hotel.

  • Liked — Everything... Just great
  • Disliked — food... but still pretty good
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRosaLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erfoud hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ksar Assalassil
Hotel Ksar Assalassil
#4 of 13 in Erfoud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.3 mi away
Riad Salam Erfoud
Riad Salam Erfoud
#6 of 13 in Erfoud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Chergui
Kasbah Hotel Chergui
#2 of 13 in Erfoud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kasbah Tizimi
Kasbah Tizimi
#8 of 13 in Erfoud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
5.3 mi away
Belere Hotel Erfoud
Belere Hotel Erfoud
#7 of 13 in Erfoud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Masandoia
Palais Masandoia
#3 of 15 in Erfoud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud

Property: Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud
Address: Km 5 Route d'Arfoud a Errachidia, B.P. 205, Erfoud 52200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Erfoud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Erfoud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spa & Wellness in the door of the desert. Kasbah Hotel Xaluca is located in Arfoud, a city known as "the Door to the Desert." The Kasbah is listed as unique in Morocco due to its distinctive characteristics. It was built with adobes, the traditional Moroccan building bricks, and it is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the moment. Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud offers 137 spacious rooms decorated with regional materials, as well as 7 bungalows. It combines tradition with modern amenities, where installations are adapted to the stringiest standards. It is a fantastic place, situated among the dunes and palms, where you will be able to enjoy unique emotions. The team at Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Hotel Erfoud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing