We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic Kasbah on the edge of the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Erfoud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

During our visit to Morocco, my wife and I spent a couple of days exploring Erfoud and the surrounding area. We stayed at Kasbah Xaluca which is an expansive property which resembles a traditional kasbah. When we first arrived, we were greeted by a group of musicians and served cookies, almonds and delicious mint tea in the lobby area. Even though this is a modern facility, the decor is magnificently traditional. In the lobby the large lantern hanging from the ceiling is gorgeous and the colors throughout the lobby are are eye catching.

After promptly receiving our room keys, we were escorted to our room. On the way to our room we passed the pool area which is lovely and has a lot of outdoor seating and a nearby tented area which provided live musical entertainment in the evening.

The rooms are set up like a traditional riad and even include old facing turnkey light switches. We were provided complimentary fruit and water in the room which was very comfortable and larger than some of the typical riads we stayed in while in Morocco. The room was very clean and included all of the necessary toiletries including shower gel, shampoo, lotion, etc. Just remember to bring your own washcloth! Bath towels and hand towels were provided.

After settling into our room, we went to the restaurant for dinner. This restaurant is large and buffet style, and provides a large selections of foods. There are a large number and types of salads, fresh fruit, as well as chicken, meats and an amazing array of desserts. There are some pastas available, but I did not travel to Morocco to eat pasta! The eggplants dishes were delicious as were the couscous, chicken and the always present seasoned olives. The breakfast options also included made to order omelets. I looked forward to ending each meal with a delicious cup (or two) of mint tea. I really became addicted to the mint tea during our journey through Morocco.

Kasbah Xaluca also has a number of amenities that included a spa, a fitness center and a miniature golf located on a terrace with an amazing view of the desert. There is a camel stable located near the entrance to Kasbah Xaluca. The evening of our arrival, a camel gave birth to a calf right in the front of the stables. It was fascinating to see the mother camel encourage the calf to try and stand over the next couple of days.

Though this is a large property, the service is excellent and it is well marked and easy to get around. We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating during our stay. It is an ideal location to stay if you plan to venture to the dunes or see some of the cultural sites in Rissani.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jonahNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 644 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I spent one night in this beautiful Kasbah Hotel on June 22, 2014 prior to our journey into the Sahara. Our room was elegantly decorated, very clean and quiet. The staff was friendly, the grounds impeccable and the buffet dinner and breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wkmNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was the second Xaluca property I stayed at. There were lots of Moroccan families there enjoying themselves. The musicians and singers/dancers were spirited. Enjoyed sitting by the pool, especially after dinner. The staff at the buffet restaurant were super friendly despite how busy it was. They worked tirelessly. Outside of finding a giant cockroach (harmless I was told, they are attracted to water) in my shower and some dripping from my AC unit, I enjoyed the decoration of my room, especially the handmade Tuareg rug.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
Thank NW T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Large establishment, two pool areas (indoor one is heated), very pleasant poll/bar area with privacy and space. We upgraded to a suite which was very roomy with all expected facilities. Great service from the bellboys.
The highlight was the extensive buffet dinner and breakfasts which had something for everyone and lots of space in the dining areas.
Highly recommended for a restful stay near the desert.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel was fine, with spacious rooms and tiles everywhere. Our bed was a bit firm, but we were pleased with the space in our room and the cleanliness. The traditional décor outside and a central swimming pool made for a nice, large central area. You are right on the edge of the Sahara, so one feels ready to start out on a caravan. The hotel offered quite varied buffets, for all meals, which were pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnOurWay038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Absolutely charming rooms with lots of Moroccan atmosphere. Don't know how authentic it is, but don't care. I'll remember this hotel 10 years from now, whereas the other perfectly nice places I stayed are already lost memories.

One odd thing is that the hallways are poorly lit, and even unlit, at night; my flashlight came in handy.

The breakfast buffet is pleasant, but the dinner buffet was the best buffet I have ever had, and I'm a person who lives to eat. Fantastic variety, no skimping, something for everyone. The savory dishes far better than the desserts.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank 133travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with the ambiance of an old kasbah on the edge of the desert. Rooms are unique in decor with a nice seating area. Pool area is like an oasis. Great views from the rooftop of the overall property and surrounding area. Hotel offers overnights stays in tents on the desert or a sunrise excursion. Both are well worth the additional costs

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erfoud
6.2 mi away
Palm's Hotel Club
Palm's Hotel Club
#3 of 13 in Erfoud
198 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ksar Assalassil
Hotel Ksar Assalassil
#5 of 13 in Erfoud
70 reviews
4.3 mi away
Riad Salam Erfoud
Riad Salam Erfoud
#7 of 13 in Erfoud
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Chergui
Kasbah Hotel Chergui
#2 of 13 in Erfoud
165 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kasbah Tizimi
Kasbah Tizimi
#8 of 13 in Erfoud
151 reviews
15.5 mi away
Auberge  Derkaoua
Auberge Derkaoua
#21 of 22 in Merzouga
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud

Address: Km 5 Route d'Arfoud a Errachidia, B.P. 205, Erfoud 52200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Erfoud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Erfoud
Price Range: $91 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spa & Wellness in the door of the desert. Kasbah Hotel Xaluca is located in Arfoud, a city known as "the Door to the Desert." The Kasbah is listed as unique in Morocco due to its distinctive characteristics. It was built with adobes, the traditional Moroccan building bricks, and it is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the moment. Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud offers 137 spacious rooms decorated with regional materials, as well as 7 bungalows. It combines tradition with modern amenities, where installations are adapted to the stringiest standards. It is a fantastic place, situated among the dunes and palms, where you will be able to enjoy unique emotions. The team at Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Prestigia so you can book your Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Hotel Erfoud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing