We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and unique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Erfoud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel was a high point on a tour of Morocco. Rooms are dessert chic with local fossil stone carved sinks. Pool is beautiful. Enjoyed breakfasts around the pool and the concierge is worth a couple of pictures. Could have stayed more days to lounge and explore the Sahara.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clearwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 674 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed as part of a small group tour with VJV. Although it was not the most luxurious hotel we stayed in during our tour of Morocco, this was our favourite.

We were welcomed by a troupe of musicians and then went off to find our rooms (after the usual welcome tea). Rooms arranged in blocks to resemble a Kasbah. Our room OK - some might say quirky - decorated to look like a Berber tent, but with all mod cons – including fridge, hair dryer and two comfortable single beds which could be pushed together to make a double.

We had dinner in the buffet style International restaurant which was very good with a wide choice of dishes. The Breakfast buffet offered limited choice.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so once you're there's nowhere else to go ... but the bar has reasonable prices and plays 70s rock.

Great place to stay in this part of Morocco

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Any hotel that knows you will only be there for 1 night has it's objectives: clean room, decent pool and a full spread buffet. The rooms were a bit too dark and a/c didn't really make the room that cool (summer in the sahara). Dinner to our surprise was quite good but breakfast was lacking. If you are going to the dunes in he AM, it's not really worth coming back to the hotel as we did.
This is apparently the best u will find within an hour of the dunes, it could be worse. We booked a few days before and got a pretty good rate, it's quite large so advanced booking isn't that necessary.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCTraveler729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This property was a surprise. Well layed out and staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are dark but gives the feeling that you are in a different country. Room is large with beds and sitting area. Decor is Berber and has interesting decorations in the rooms typical to the area. Beautiful large pool and attractive dining area. Would recommend if in this area of Morocco.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegirls97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Situated about 5 kms. from Erfoud township and built in the traditional style but the hotel includes all the facilities you could reasonably need. The staff are used to dealing with large influxes of tourists and were polite and helpful.
The pool was clean and welcoming after a hot day !
Our room on the ground floor was quite dark, but cool and comfortable and everything worked !
It was spacious, with two queen beds and two settees in the sitting area.
Meals were all buffet style but included a good selection of dishes and catering for different cultures.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldWideKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We had a large suite with good views, but nonetheless were not impressed. The walls were thick enough to keep out the noise from large parties cavorting nearby. There is no local flavor to the hotel. Also it is the only place to eat and we do not care for hotels, such as this one, that offer only buffets, particularly buffets that offer food that has no local touch.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The accommodations were okay, but even though we were on a customized tour, we felt like one of many other groups of tourists on their way to the desert. From the super loud singing and tambourine greeting in the lobby to the buffet dinner and breakfast, nothing felt personalized. The Xaluca Grup is quite the commercial establishment!

The hotel is quite isolated and not within walking distance to a city center, so it's a good thing they have a spa, pool, and gift shop if someone needs to do something other than sleep there. We literally used this as just a stop to eat and sleep on our way to the desert, but were glad we had a driver given its relatively isolated location. I got about 5 mosquito bites while waiting in the lobby to complete the paperwork, and my friend had bites in the room, so insect repellent is recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kirklandkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erfoud
0.3 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Chergui
Kasbah Hotel Chergui
#2 of 13 in Erfoud
171 reviews
6.2 mi away
Palm's Hotel Club
Palm's Hotel Club
#3 of 13 in Erfoud
203 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ksar Assalassil
Hotel Ksar Assalassil
#5 of 13 in Erfoud
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kasbah Tizimi
Kasbah Tizimi
#8 of 13 in Erfoud
152 reviews
4.3 mi away
Riad Salam Erfoud
Riad Salam Erfoud
#7 of 13 in Erfoud
97 reviews
15.5 mi away
Auberge  Derkaoua
Auberge Derkaoua
#22 of 23 in Merzouga
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud

Address: Km 5 Route d'Arfoud a Errachidia, B.P. 205, Erfoud 52200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Erfoud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Erfoud
Price Range: $94 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spa & Wellness in the door of the desert. Kasbah Hotel Xaluca is located in Arfoud, a city known as "the Door to the Desert." The Kasbah is listed as unique in Morocco due to its distinctive characteristics. It was built with adobes, the traditional Moroccan building bricks, and it is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the moment. Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud offers 137 spacious rooms decorated with regional materials, as well as 7 bungalows. It combines tradition with modern amenities, where installations are adapted to the stringiest standards. It is a fantastic place, situated among the dunes and palms, where you will be able to enjoy unique emotions. The team at Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Hotel Erfoud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing