We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice kasbah, pleasant to stay after long trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kasbah Tizimi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kasbah Tizimi
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Erfoud
Zwolle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice kasbah, pleasant to stay after long trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

Clean rooms, nice swimming pool, etc, etc. There was just one big issue: some people were taking pictures off our daughters while they were swimming. Hotel management was not very keen on taken action against these people. So beware of sneaky photograpers

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanEtAlleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    60
    33
    16
    9
See reviews for
15
54
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed one night in this beautiful kasbah (hotel). A kasbah is traditional Moroccan big house with a lot of rooms originally meant for big families.

They have nice Berber carpets, a nice courtyard with a fountain, beautiful flowers and plants all over the place, nice colours, a swimming pool with lanterns around (very nice when the sun goes down) and a restaurant.
Our room was good: nice iron beds, carpets, a bath and a copper hand made sink and air conditioning.
The restaurant has room for about 60-70 people.
Around the swimming pool are some tables and chairs and a small bar.

The staff in the reception is nice and polite, in the restaurant we found them too reserved.

It is a clean place. Food wasn't bad, simple, nothing special. Breakfast buffet very basic.

I would surely recommend this place to everyone for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0nneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
275 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

We stayed in room 223 as part of a large tour group. This room is located in the suites block, and our tour guide said Kate Winslet slept in this block when she filmed Hideous Kinky (you can see a framed photo of her with the owner and her comments in the hotel guest book in the lobby).

The L-shape room was huge. We had a queen bed in one area, a sitting area with TV and fridge and 2 single canopied beds in another. There were 2 ACs and no in-room safe. Because of the size of the ceilings and the tiny lamps, the room was not well-lit. The floor is tile with a few Berber-design rugs.

The bathroom is huge! The sink does not drain too well and has limited counter space. The shower, thankfully, drains good and had good water pressure. However, it's annoying that it's a hand-held showerhead. The hairdryer was quite weak.

It's a nice place to get lost in for a short period but don't come here looking for active nightlife or things to do at night. It's located about a mile outside of Erfoud or close to anything interesting.

Beware the mosquitoes that hang out by the pool area.

Breakfast consisted of stale croissants and breads with very bad coffee.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tardykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

Hotel was easy to find by car as described by the descriptions I received. The hotel itself is set up like a kasbah, the staff in general was friendly only the "wanna go to desert me touarag"-guys are getting on your nerves. They are able to spot out that you are not belonging to a tourist group (as it seems typically arriving there for one night) and therefore you are their only hope for business (5 of them within half hour!).
Dinner took long because of the big tourist group, room was clean but big downside was the cost/perfomance ratio...for 60€ a double with breakfast far too high...still a good stay in erfoud if you want something which is easy to find and simple good stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornholioTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

I spent 2 nights at this hotel and it was different than other international chain hotels. It tries to provide an authentic Moroccan feel through the style of the hotel (kasbah), bright colours used, the lighting in the rooms. The rooms are airconditioned and they need as it is so hot. Sitting around the pool you would think you are just in a normal hotel. It is not near shops so you will need to get a taxi to the main area so it is in an inconvenient location. In the evening, there are strong winds. Food was plentiful and delicious. Breakfast was a buffet and it is served in the restaurant. Dinner for our group was a set menu. The staff were very pleasant but don't expect 5-star service or facilities. Rooms have a TV mainly in Arabic, French, and the BBC news channel. The beds has traditional Berber bed spreads / carpets. The bathrooms are small but the basins are made from copper and the basin benches are made from the fossilised marble (which is polished and cut to size only down the road from the Hotel). Water pressure wasn't particularly good and the water in my room did get rather hot so be careful not to get burnt. From memory there was no minibar. The hotel has one computer in reception to use if you want to the internet. You can purchase souvenir and postcards from a stand in reception. The pool is large and is rather clean and there is poolside bar where you can order snacks or cold drinks. It is a good place to relax by the pool or just chill out doing nothing after visiting the sand dunes or Rissani.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivi0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

This hotel is isolated and therefore there is an expectation that as it is on the edge of the Sahara you should expect some deprivations. Most people we were with loved it and so did we but I am going to downgrade it a little because the isolation is used as an excuse for a drop in some standards. For example there were not too many people in our group of 27 who had a decent water pressure thus cold or scalding shower and in some cases it was nowhere near as clean as it could be. We once stayed at an outback hotel in Australia which used it's isolation as an excuse for terrible standards. This hotel was the only one in the region and charged whatever they liked and provided terrible service. There can be no excuse for this and this hotel may be in some danger of doing the same if it does not watch it's performance closely.
In Erfoud this hotels owner is now building an upmarket 6 room guest house just down the road. I would bet that this new expensive boutique hotel will have good water pressure and will be sparkling clean and also provide exemplary service. It can be done despite the isolated location. There is no barrier to this hotel spending some money on adequate water pumps and a few more staff to clean adequately. Having said all that this hotel is quite charming and probably one of the better hotels in Erfoud. It just irks me that the location is used to make excuses for the hotels deficiencies. We loved our short stay here and you will too just don't let them get away with being slack it is too good a place for that. I have taken points off for this view that near enough is good enough. I am reliably informed that the more expensive hotels are probably not as good a standard so don't hesitate to stay here I just think that this hotel has the potential to be perfect hopefully a review such as this will assist them to lift their standards.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan.G49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

Our stay here was delightful. The staff was very helpful and they found us a wonderful guide , Mohammed, who took us to the dessert one day. Kake sure if you want to go to the dessert that you ask for him. The rooms are quite spacious and the pool area is very nice. We listened to some music and the manager gave us a copy of the disc as a gift. You can't ask for more.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurersyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erfoud
4.5 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Xaluca Arfoud
0.5 mi away
Riad Salam Erfoud
Riad Salam Erfoud
#6 of 13 in Erfoud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ksar Assalassil
Hotel Ksar Assalassil
#4 of 13 in Erfoud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Chergui
Kasbah Hotel Chergui
#2 of 13 in Erfoud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belere Hotel Erfoud
Belere Hotel Erfoud
#7 of 13 in Erfoud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
23.6 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Tizimi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tizimi

Property: Kasbah Tizimi
Address: BP 94 Route De Jorf, Erfoud 52200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Erfoud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Erfoud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Tizimi 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kasbah Tizimi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Tizimi Erfoud
Kasbah Tizimi Hotel Erfoud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing