We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Ukunda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The only thing I was not happy was with the room facilities such as the Air Conditioning & Washrooms. The Air conditioning is not fit for the room & a bigger one should be placed. The washrooms however are fine except their small size.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Nandhu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 813 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

A luxurious 4 or 5 star resort this is not. The 5 of us were there for two nights and we are two adjoining rooms; don't get me wrong the resort is very nice, but lacks maintenance and refinement. We went when the occupancy was at 25% only hence clearly more than enough staff to handle our issues. (The occupancy sheet for available for all to see at reception.) Despite this the rooms were not ready properly (had not been checked for all items, lack of toiletries, lack of umbrellas despite the heavy rain). Upon requesting for these items it often took upto an hour or If I got fed up I had to go to reception to get it. The luxuries you expect in a 4 start or 5 start we're simply not present in the rooms or had deteriorated and not maintained.

We had no hot water in our room for instance which could not be fixed. So they issued another room (5106) to us for just the use of the bathroom facilities. Unfortunately they could not move us to another room as my elderly parents were in the next room who we needed to keep an eye on and they needed the ground floor for mobility reasons. Hence one morning we used that room's bathroom (5106) , whilst the next morning when we went to that room(5106) it had been already been given to someone else. We took one look and saw some bags and ran out, this was clearly a significant security issue too. All 5 of us had to use my parents one bathroom for the last day which was very difficult.

All of the indoor games (pool, table tennis, darts, carom) had not been maintained at all and are falling apart. The darts were so blunt you could not even hurt a fly, both pools tables had broken wooden pieces hanging off it, the table tennis net was just hanging on.

On the good side the beach is amazing with beautiful hammocks hanging off trees, the pool is very long and thin (some 140 meters) and hence offers privacy to all users. The buffet food was good and as my father had special dietary needs they cooked specially for him. The alacart restaurants were of a good choice too, a bit expensive but good. The tea provided at 4pm included hot food such as fresh pancakes. There was local entertainment every night which was a good bonus.

The staff simply need to be quick to respond to customer queries and this would be a much better place. The hotel really needs to invest in maintenance, a lot of things are falling apart. If this is to be sold as a 4 or 5 star resort it needs staff response and maintenance appropriate to the stars they are claiming.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrRishiDShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us.

We have taken keen note of the points raised and will have them addressed comprehensively.

Hope you will give us a second chance to serve you better.

Asante Sana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Returned from Amani Tiwi last week. The hotel is excellent with a great pool and wonderful staff. The only reason I gave it 4* is that there were a few (not so important) issues (no hot water in the shower, coral beach and too many annoying beach boys).

Now back to the great and important stuff.
The service is excellent. Food was amazing every day, lots of activities, bar in the pool, beautiful beach (except from the corals which made it hard to walk in the sea). If you walk 300 meters to the right, you will get to a beautiful sandy beach. However, you will be constantly accompanied by beach boys which can be annoying. Eventually, I found a way how to get rid of them... All you have to do is learn two sentences:
''Jumbo Kaka. Hakuna pesa, hakuna kazi.'' - means: Hi brother. No money so no business.
They will instantly think that you are from Nairobi (or somewhere in Kenya) and if you keep ignoring them, they will leave you alone within seconds. Once you answer in english they will be after you.

It was also my girlfriend's birthday and when we were having a dinner the staff suddenly came out singing happy birthday with a lovely cake - How did they know it was her??? :)
Also, we went as a couple and were concerned about being surrounded by mostly older people (nothing against them but you know what I mean). However, there were quite a few young people/couples so we weren't disappointed :)
There is an open bar next to the restaurant, two pool bars (open only until 6pm), few restaurants, pool table, ping pong table, table football, and animation team organise water aerobics, beach volleyball and water polo every day. Lots of activities going on.

A few tips:
1. Don't buy Safari from the beach boys otherwise you will end up in an uninsured vehicle (most probably a bus) and get disappointed. We used JT Safaris - you can't go wrong with a company that has 502 reviews on Tripadvisor (489 ranked as excellent). Negotiate the price. We got a private jeep for two people and had an amazing experience. The driver was fantastic. I forgot batteries for my camera so he took us to a shopping centre on our way to the park. On the way back, we asked whether it was possible to go through villages and Shimba hills. His response: Not a problem. This is what I call 10/10 service. This guy just deserved a nice tip.
The owner Julius came to visit us at the hotel the next day and brought us a free present...

2. If you are looking to go out clubbing, choose a resort in Diani beach as you will not find anything like this in Tiwi. A taxi to Diani costs around 3,000 - 4,000 KSH which is around £25 return!!

3. Always negotiate on price - everywhere you go.

4. When you get to the hotel on the first day, ask the boy that takes your luggage to tell you who will take care of you when you need to have a sunbed ready on the beach every day. They will call the guy in your room and you tip him $5. All sorted for you.

5. If you feel like having a coconut drink, speak to the young workers/gardeners in green shirts. For 50 KSH (0.50p) they will climb the highest palm tree for you, get the biggest coconut, open it for you and you can enjoy a lovely drink on the beach. Don't buy it from the beach boys as they will ask for much more money.

6. If you get sunburned, go to a beach boy and ask them to get you a bottle with aloe vera juice. There's nothing better than 100% aloe vera fresh juice for your skin. It will cost you around 200 - 300KSH (£2)

7. make sure you buy your sun protection cream at home. The local shop sells it for $20!! What a rip off.

8. The main bar closes at 12pm (all inclusive until 11pm). Order three rounds (or more if needed) at 10:55pm so that you can drink until 2am.

9. Do NOT leave beach bags with food on the beach unattended. The monkeys are watching you! And they will get your snack the moment you turn around. Yes, they even know how to unzip your bag... :)

10. Snorkelling. We booked with Baracuda (office on the beach next to Amani). Great guys and great snorkelling.

11. Massage in the spa is quite nice. Negotiate the price.

I'd definitely recommend this resort as all in all we had a brilliant holiday.

Cheers

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kem I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and the gracious comments -

'' The service was EXCELLENT. Food was amazing everyday. Lots of activities, bar in the pool, beautiful beach''.

This is encouraging and will share with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assure you of our best service again.

Karibu Tena....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great Holiday
We had a fantastic time at Amani and even if I agree with others that the rooms need some updating we couldn’t fault ours for cleanliness. Always had clean sheets, towels etc and a very comfy bed.. what more do you need? We found the food fantastic in all the all-inclusive restaurants and there was always something to suit everyone’s taste. And as for drinking water, we kept filling our bottles at the bars, simple…

We loved the beach which is free from beach boys immediately in front of the hotel, although they are there down by the sea.. we went and talked to them though and all the lads are polite and good fun although persistent if they knew you wanted something. The pool is lovely and welcome.

We couldn’t fault any staff members who all worked hard but were always ready with a smile. Someone else mentioned the service was the same whether you tipped or not and we agree..

For the benefit of 2* nightmare, we travel to Kenya often and stayed in many of the hotels, North and South including Baobab, so we do know what we’re talking about. Oh! And the Baobab is beautiful also - and £300 more.


Agree that there was a flurry of great reviews following the Monkey Poo one BUT what about all the great one’s preceding it?

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Philo711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your GREAT review!

Indeed, this will encourage the Amani Team. We do our best to make sure all guests leave with fond & cherished memories of AMANI.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Karibu Tena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I am astounded at the varying reviews of this hotel and have to say am somewhat sceptical of their legitimacy (particularly as there appears to have been a flurry of them since the last negative review was posted)! Beware! This place is dirty, tired, old fashioned and frankly falling apart (and if you have children avoid the child's pool as it looked more like a pond!). Yes the majority of the staff are great (not the manager) but guests are being lulled into thinking this is the standard they ought to expect in Kenya. It isn't! I moved hotel to another 4* and it was paradise in comparison. Of course if people want to pay for this standard when others are paying the same price to stay in places like the baobab where the food is fantastic, the rooms are modern and comfy, there are several pools including an infinity pool with lots of space and loungers, where all inclusive doesn't mean wearing bands but does mean everything at the bar including cocktails....then go ahead! More fool you! People looking at these reviews should take note of those where people have stayed in a place other then amani as only then will you get a fair view of both. I don't look at star ratings in brochures just to ignore them when I get to my resort and neither should you. I have never put anything on tripadvisor until today but the standard at amani tiwi has compelled me to say something for the benefit of unsuspecting travellers to this hotel. Avoid it like the plague and pay the same to go somewhere 100 times better up the road!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Unhappytimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and indeed your concerns were attended to by our Front Office Manager.

We have noted the gaps in your expectations and shall conduct an internal review.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My wife and I decided to travel to Kenya for a third time in recent years and chose Amani Tiwi as our accommodation. On arrival we were greeted by singers welcoming us with fruit drink refreshments which went down lovely. 1st impressions were very favorable and we were not disappointed. The staff went the extra mile to meet our needs throughout the 2 week stay. The accommodation was very nice, clean and roomy. There was one incident we heard of, that a safe code had been over rode in a room and money stolen from it.
The food I felt was very nice but limited while my wife wasn't particularly keen but its a matter of personal choice at the end of the day.Evening meals were dress coded ie men had to wear long trousers with no exceptions. If not worn then they provided the men with sarongs to wrap around their waists before being allowed into the dinning room. Snack bars on the beach and in the complex were open and included in the all inclusive up until 6pm when you then had to pay for any food. Bars opened at 11 am. Sun beds readily available but if the hotel was busy then there could be a shortage to go around.
The grounds were regularly maintained as were the pools. The beach boys were friendly and little pressure put on you to buy from them, we always found them polite.
While on holiday we decided to do a 2 night 3 day safari to the Maassi Mara and used J.T Safari to book with for the second time. I can recommend this guy Julius 100% he is value for money and bends over backwards to ensure you have a fantastic safari. His staff are brilliant. He also gives you a carving each as a gift at the end of your safari which is a nice personal touch.We E mailed ahead of our trip and Julius met us at our hotel on our 2nd day to discuss our requirements with no pressure. He is that confident that you don't settle final account until after your safari on a no like no pay deal, how good is that. While we were there and after our safari we asked if he could recommend a school which would benefit from pencils pens notebooks etc which we had brought with us to donate, not only did he recommend a poor school he sent a driver who picked us up and took us to the school for a visit, then took us to a supermarket for last minute shopping and because we were helping the children he did all this free of charge, Thank you Julius.

Room Tip: Blocks 7 and 8 were the best 1 to 4 appeared shady 5 and 6 a it out the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We spent two weeks in March at the Amani Tiwi and it was one of the best holidays we have had. We flew with Thompson on the Dreamliner which was nice but I wasn't as impressed as I thought I would be. Getting through Mombasa airport was an experience - since we were last there they have installed fingerprint machines which just didn't like my fingers!
The transfer, though long, was as comfortable as possible in the circumstances and the Mombasa ferry is certainly an experience - the last time we did it was very early in the morning when it was not nearly so busy!

Check in at the hotel was handled very well. We were greeted with a cold drink, and even colder flannel (bliss) and a dance from the entertainment team. This was followed by a talk about the hotel while our passports were seen to. We were then taken directly to our room with our luggage.

The room was large and we both found the bed to be very comfortable. It's always nice to have a seating area as well and although we had a balcony we only used it about twice. We didn't bother with the mosquito nets as we had a plug in but didn't see any mozzies in any case. The bathroom was serviceable with plenty of very hot water. I liked the idea of having a dressing area between the bathroom and the bedroom as well. The bed linen seemed to be changed regularly and the room was spotless. Some aspects were a bit tired but so would you be in this atmosphere the whole time! And yes we did have some power cuts - we went prepared with torches - but the generator kicked in at appropriate times. Walk outside the gates and no-one has electricity so to be in the middle of nowhere it would be unreasonable to expect a reliable power supply.

The food was lovely as were the drinks. The beer was cold and served in large glasses - quite unusual in All Inclusive. Some of the food had a real kick to it which again is unusual as with most All Inclusive it can be a bit bland. On talking to Hawa - the restaurant manageress - she said that if someone had a specific diet or didn't like something they were happy to prepare food separately but felt that it was unfair for everyone to have bland food. We went to the Italian Al La Carte a couple of lunchtimes and the again the food was lovely. The Bombay pizza was a favorite of mine! We also went to the Swahili restaraunt a couple of times and again the food was good. It was a shame that these two Al la Carte were not part of the All Inclusive of an evening. It was a nice change to have food served rather than buffet. In the buffet restaurant I liked the idea that most nights we were taken to a table and we also never had a problem getting drinks with our meals and never had to wait long for someone to ask what we wanted.

Around the pool we never had a problem getting a bed. My husband assured me both the pool and the sea (lovely beach) were lovely and warm but I will have to take his word for this having not tried them myself.

The staff made this holiday. We did not come across one member of staff who was short with us, rude or unhelpful. They all made us feel special. We did not feel that tipping made a difference as we received the same standard of service before tipping as after. We came away from the holiday feeling as though we had made some new friends. From John, who worked his socks off cleaning the public areas, to Winnie in the restaurant, Mohammed, Mutata, Shban, Ruth and Philip in the bars, Ali and Uhuru at the pool, Bokari in the gardens and Martin head of Entertainment - these were just some of the staff who made our time here special.

Stacey - the Thompson rep - was a joy! If you needed anything she was more than happy to oblige and went over and above in all things. She is so much larger than life.

All in all we had such an enjoyable time and can't wait to return!Hopefully next year we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ukunda hotels
1.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
458 reviews
6.6 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
179 reviews
6 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amani Tiwi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Tiwi Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1877, Ukunda 80400, Kenya (Formerly Tiwi Beach Resort)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ukunda
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ukunda
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range: $80 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amani Tiwi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently up graded with an addition of another specialty restaurant-Sultan Dhow & Aqua wine bar overlooking the Indian Ocean with a wide choice of wine served by glass. Refurbished Floodlit Tennis Court. A dedicated 3D 84 inch screen facility, Ultra modern conferences in a separate hotel wing.New hotel boutiques, air conditioned rooms, Hi- speed WIFI Internet & 32'' LCD TV with Satellite feed in the rooms, Complimentary mini fridges, electronic safes, Tea & Coffee making facility, Hair dryers, Mosquito nets and superior guest toiletries Dedicated 24 hours in room dining menu. Upmarket Hair Salon Beauty & Wellness Center.Superior guest amenities. Weekly Complimentary traditional renewal of Wedding vows.3 Specialty restaurants and 4 bars including swim-up sunken bar in the a 167 Meter length free form swimming pool... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Amani Tiwi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amani Tiwi Beach Hotel Ukunda
Tiwi Beach Hotel
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort Kenya/Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing