We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Christmas/New Year holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Ukunda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel had power cuts as well as problems with the water pumping system; this lead to difficulties each day with trying to wash, either you could not wash as no water at all or having to wash in cold water. On the days hot water was provided it could be scalding. This also meant toilets could not always be flushed and no water to wash hands. The allocation of bottled drinking water supplied in room is inadequate, the bar and reception required payment for further bottled water, even during the all inclusive time frame of up to 11.00 pm; a glass of water could be provided as part of all inclusive but it is not always practical to carry glasses of water to top floor accommodation. The Thomson website does not make it clear that the al la carte restaurants are not part of the all inclusive package. The quality and variety of local drinks offered for all inclusive package is poor and limited in comparison to paying guests.
On a plus note the staff were friendly and the food provided in the buffet restaurant was good.
To summarise, this hotel does not meet Thomsons usual and anticipated standard for a Platinum holiday and does not live up to the usual high standard for all inclusive...disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
3  Thank Floss2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 793 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Me, my wife and my 16 year old daughter spent a relaxing week over Christmas at this fabulous Hotel in Kenya.

We arrived to a welcoming array of smiling staff who immediately assisted us with our luggage to a lounge area where we were given a cooling flannel and a much needed thirst quenching fruit juice. Once we were all seated we were entertained to a colourful and energetic dance troop which was lovely. Passports and rooms allocated and luggage taken by a member of staff to our room. The room was spacious, clean with a balcony overlooking the pool at the mid section of the grounds.

During our stay we were looked after really well by many of the hotels hard working staff.

Firstly we would like to mention how fantastic the entertainment staff were. Especially our dear friend YURI!!!! They work so hard all day long and then in the evening entertained us with various dance and acrobatic displays, which were a pleasure to watch. Always with a smile on their faces. Well done to them.

We stayed most days at the bottom pool, overlooking the beautiful beach and the turquoise Indian ocean. Whenever we needed a refreshment MATATA was always there at the pool bar ready to serve us a cold beer, soft drink or a cocktail. What a lovely guy he was a fab barman and we had many lovely conversations with him. Thanks Matata.

The waiting staff in the main restaurant run by manager GEORGE where courteous and ensured that everything was to our satisfaction. We would like to mention Joseph, Halina, Peter, Yvonne and any other names we have forgotten. The food was delicious with plenty of choice. Some nights it was inside and other nights they moved all the tables outdoors in the grounds and decorated the trees with colourful sparkling lights. You also had the choice to eat in the beach restaurant and one other. Also a snack bar for a lighter bite. You could use the all inclusive in all of these eateries.

The reception staff were also very helpful and would do their utmost to help you with your needs or requests. When I went to them to ask if it was possible to have my beloved Swansea City Football teams game on the Tv in the main lounge, my wish was granted, thanks guys.
Special thanks to Dorothy and Reception Manager.

We had a lovely lady called Amena who cleaned our room on a daily basis, thankyou for making our room so nice. Not forgetting Rufus a Security Guard with a beaming smile and strong handshake who made us feel safe and well looked after. Thanks Rufus.

Overall this holiday at the Amani Tiwi was the best holiday we have ever had. We have travelled to many different parts of the world, including the Maldives. We must say that this hotel with their exceptional staff made it the BEST!!!!

Keep up the good work everyone and thankyou so very much.

And YURI we hope to see you again one day.... You are a star.

ASANTE SANA Paul, Julia and Jessica from Swansea, South Wales UK. xxx

Room Tip: All the rooms as far as we were aware are a good choice as it was quiet and after 11pm the entertain...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed here for 4 days with 15 others as a wedding party and we all had a great time and a laugh.Rooms are excellent quality and the Beach is out its world.
The restaurant is a disaster when it comes to Customer Service,some of us did nt get our drinks some nights and the waiters cudnt be bothered and were clueless.
The food is of mixed cusines most nights and their is a wide choice to choose from.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAGAR A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Amani Tiwi is a typical Kenyan beach hotel situated on its own beach. The beach itself is pretty and whilst it does have some seaweed, this does not detract from it's beauty. The hotel need to deal with the beach boys however as they are a pain. We paid them to leave us alone but it only worked for 24 hours. They are not aggressive, just persistent - they seem to spend a lot of time on their smartphones, however, when not following you down the beach!!

We stayed for two weeks over the Christmas period this year and found it perfectly ok but not probably 4 star. We booked a deluxe room and the bathroom was very tired. The room itself was spacious and adequate. However, we had to move rooms as ours had a leak and we moved just two rooms along. This room had just been vacated and should have been thoroughly cleaned. I found something nasty behind the loo and reported it to reception. Nothing happened despite chasing twice. Eventually a cleaner came and cleaned the bathroom thoroughly. He then tried to tell me that it was a cracked tile and not poo that I had found!! Surprising the faulty tile had completely disappeared when he showed me!! The hotel grounds and public areas are kept very clean and the staff are a friendly bunch. We found the food to be perfectly acceptable and they did make a special effort on Christmas Day with Father Christmas arriving on a camel! This hotel operates a two tier service system - one level for all inclusive and another for guests paying on account. This was particularly annoying when they ran out of draft Tusker and told all inclusive guests that they would have to pay for bottled Tusker. This was also the case if you wanted a bottle of water rather than a glass. We raised this issue with Stacey, the Thomson rep, who said she would deal with it. She did nothing, so we raised the issue with the management ourselves. I am afraid that Stacey was not the most proactive when it came to sorting out problems experienced by guests and I think this needs addressing by Thomson - their customer service lets them down.

The meals are mainly served in Palms which is a buffet style restaurant. The quality of food served there was ok and all very clean and well presented. There is an Italian beachside restaurant which has an all inclusive menu and an a la carte menu. The all inclusive was ok and the a la carte had pizzas and the usual Italian options. The pizzas are not expensive and worth paying for as they were very good. The service at this restaurant is a bit hit and miss and you may have to be very patient. However, the location makes it the perfect spot to have a drink whilst you wait. The other two restaurants are Swahili and Middle Eastern. The Baharini Swahili one was right down the beach and the only time I saw anyone there was for a evening show. The Sultans Dhow Middle Eastern one is never open and therefore should not be advertised as a dining option. Overall, I think by Kenyan standards the food at Amani Tiwi is pretty good. We experienced food at Voi Lodge, Taita Hills and Saltlick whilst on safari and the food at all venues was below the hotel standards.

The entertainment team work hard and are good with the children. However, there is not a lot of variety in their programme. The hotel definitely needs to look at its evening entertainment programme as they appear to rely on the staff to provide most of it and whilst they do their best, it is a pretty basic experience.

We booked our own safari independently before we left for Kenya with JT Safaris. Julius who runs the company was very helpful and once in Kenya we met him to discuss the finer points of our safari. We had our own 4x4 Jeep and driver, Joseph. The safari experience was excellent and Joseph was a great guide. I would not hesitate to recommend you book your safari experience (or any other trips) through JT Safaris. We took our 11 year old daughter and felt JT offered a safe, knowledgeable experience - also great value and cheaper than booking through your tour operator. Check out their website and email Julius, he is quick to respond and happy to help.

To sum it up .. we had a perfectly good holiday and felt it was good value for money. The trip over Christmas cost less then a third of what we would have paid in the Caribbean or other Indian Ocean locations. The rooms are not what you would usually expect in a 4* resort but with a bathroom upgrade, they could soon be there. The hotel overall has a laid back feel which we prefer and offers a good spot to relax and enjoy the sun. Kenya has changed a lot since our last visit some 12 years ago (this was our 5th visit) and there has been a distinct drop in tourism. This is a sad thing for Kenya as the people are lovely and the country has so much to offer, whether it be beach or safari experiences.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are not 4* and are situated near the noisy pool. The bathrooms are tired and need upda...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Perfect1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

we went with what we thought was all inclusive so that should mean that all local drinks and food are included how wrong was we. you can have ice cream in the day for free but go after 6 pm and you have to pay as well as cakes .milkshakes are chargeable at all times and its a family hotel as for having any drinks after 11 pm then you have to pay when i spoke to stacey about it she said to say it at the farewell drink as it would be looked in to witch is what i did only for her to say well all the bars in kenya hotels shut at 11 pm funny how they stayed open as long as you wanted to pay over inflated prices for you drinks i would say shes on your side to your face but in reality its the hotel that matters .there is only 1 restaurant that is covered by all inclusive the 2 others you have to pay for . and the hotel being so far away from diani it will cost you 4000 to get there and back kenya is a lovely place and worth going to but not amani tiwi beach resort

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Very impressive hotel. Beautiful beach side location. Room clean, quiet and overlooking the pool. Food varied and of good quality. Staff hardworking, attentive and friendly. Excellent choice if you want a relaxed, more laid back holiday

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Arrived at Amani Tiwi hotel on Tues 10th Dec after a long flight and delay at the ferry. First time to this particular hotel. The check in went smoothly, we were met with a cold flannel and cold drink which was lovely then was shown to our room 9202.
We had booked a deluxe room and were both disappointed. The bathroom was definitely not deluxe. The jacuzzi bath enamel was coming away in chunks and the fittings in the bath and also the light were covered in rust.
We unpacked and tried to get the air conditioning to blow out cold.It was not at all cold.The lad who cleans the rooms even had a look at it for us but no joy so we reported it to reception. Miriam was very pleasant and said we could change rooms as there was a fault with it. We went to the welcome meeting then moved to room 9204.
On thurs night we reported that our shower was fluctuating from scalding hot and cold. We also reported the air con was not working efficiently. The maintenance man came back to our room with us and said it just needed bleeding. Sorted. Or so we thought!!! The shower was going to be looked at the next day.
Throughout our two week stay we reported to reception several times that the shower was not working properly. It was boiling hot so you had to dodge the water then it was cold. Numerous times they said they had fixed it. Then they said they would turn off the element. We told them that was not the answer but they did it anyway.
The facilities at the hotel are very good. The beach was lovely and beach boys tolerable. They took no for an answer. The food was good BUT the service was appalling. When going in to the dining room the tables were never set whether it was breakfast, lunch or evening meal. We would have to sit and wait for cutlery and napkins then have to wait for them to order and collect our drinks. One night we waited 20 minutes for the waitress to get cutlery then she disappeared to get our drinks. One evening we sat for 15 minutes waiting to be acknowledged at our table. The service in the Italian restaurant and the cafe was as equally slow but more tolerable.
We wanted to book for the Italian a la carte restaurant but after waiting for someone from guest relations to come and go through the menu with us we left it. The particular member of staff was supposed to be there at 9a.m by 10.15 we had seen the rep and wandered around waiting so we gave up.
The food was of good quality but we couldn't get our heads around the fact that they had two different types of wine one for a/I and one for paying guests. Also two different menus for the same. At the pool bar one day one poor chap had to wait 20 minutes for a glass of white wine, they had to fetch it from the main hotel as they only had the wine for paying guests. What on earth is that all about. I know about paying for premium drinks, that is the norm, but the food that paying guests were getting was of far better quality than the a/I.
This was our 5th visit to Kenya and we have never known service as bad as it was.
Four days before we were due to come home we had had enough and spoke with rep Stacey. She wrote down our concerns and said she would speak to management ref customer service and also sort out the unpredictable shower.
We then had to chase her up on our last day as nobody had got back to us. We spoke to management and he apologised for not getting back to us and said it was too late to sort out the shower. Great. That evening as predicted, as the element had been turned off,it was freezing and there was no pressure. We didn't bother reporting it as we had completely had enough by then.
The thomson rep knew we needed to sign the complaint form Monday eve as we was leaving 5a.m the next day. She totally ignored us after a meeting with management. When my husband approached her about it she rolled her eyes, put her drink down and sighed. That lit the touch paper I'm afraid. In our honest opinion as she stays at amani tiwi she was working more for the hotel than she was for thomsons her employer.
I can honestly say in the 7 years we have been travelling long haul this was a very disappointing holiday. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean. The facilities are very good. But the customer service let it down big time.
We will still visit Kenya but will not be staying at the Amani Tiwi again. If they sort out their service and maintenance issues they could have one of the best hotels in Kenya but as it is at the moment it is no where near.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank pclarkeRushden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ukunda hotels
1.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,338 reviews
6.0 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
608 reviews
4.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
4.8 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
493 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amani Tiwi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Tiwi Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1877, Ukunda 80400, Kenya (Formerly Tiwi Beach Resort)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ukunda
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ukunda
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ukunda
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range: $83 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amani Tiwi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently up graded with an addition of another specialty restaurant-Sultan Dhow & Aqua wine bar overlooking the Indian Ocean with a wide choice of wine served by glass. Refurbished Floodlit Tennis Court. A dedicated 3D 84 inch screen facility, Ultra modern conferences in a separate hotel wing.New hotel boutiques, air conditioned rooms, Hi- speed WIFI Internet & 32'' LCD TV with Satellite feed in the rooms, Complimentary mini fridges, electronic safes, Tea & Coffee making facility, Hair dryers, Mosquito nets and superior guest toiletries Dedicated 24 hours in room dining menu. Upmarket Hair Salon Beauty & Wellness Center.Superior guest amenities. Weekly Complimentary traditional renewal of Wedding vows.3 Specialty restaurants and 4 bars including swim-up sunken bar in the a 167 Meter length free form swimming pool... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amani Tiwi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amani Tiwi Beach Hotel Ukunda
Tiwi Beach Hotel
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort Kenya/Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing