We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Ukunda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I travelled here with my Husband and Parents, as we were doing a safari trip. We booked through Thomson and they also arranged the 3 day safari, which was reasonably priced. It was a 2 night stay at the hotel followed by 2 nights in Tsavo East and Tsavo West National Parks, then back to the hotel for the remaining 10 nights. The hotel was all inclusive and the safari was full board.

Hotel ... When we arrived at the hotel after a long flight from Gatwick, we were given a glass of fruit juice and a wet towel. The hotel's entertainment team put on a dance show, which was nice. We were then shown to our room by one of the staff. We upgraded to the deluxe room with a king size bed, which had views of the sea. The room was very spacious and the bed was a four poster with the mosquito nets around it. We were a bit disappointed with the room, in particular the bathroom, as it was in real need of upgrading. The bath and mirror was all chipped and the sink was stained. However, when we returned to the hotel after our safari we were put into a different room, just 2 doors along from our first room. This room was much better, the bathroom was of the standard you would expect in a 4 star hotel.

The food at the hotel was excellent. We had never been to a hotel with a buffet restaurant and we'd heard bad reviews of buffet restaurants in general so weren't sure what to expect. There was plenty of dishes to choose from at breakfast, lunch and dinner. The theme changed every day, although there was a lot of indian influence, which wasn't a problem for us, as we like indian food. They did a Kenyan night once a week, which was the best theme. There was also an Italian, Swahili and Middle Eastern restaurant. They did an all inclusive menu at the Italian and you had to choose your courses in the morning at the reception desk. I didn't really like this, as I prefer to choose from a menu when I sit down to dinner, plus the all inclusive menu was the same at the other a la carte restaurants. We did a la carte one night at the Italian and we felt the food was quite basic. The food at the buffet restaurant was much tastier. We also did a la carte at the Swahili restaurant, which was good. Unfortunately the Middle Eastern restaurant was closed for refurbishment, which was a pity. All in all, you could go to the buffet every night and you would not be disappointed or find it boring.

The pools were kept clean and there was a choice of the busy pool near the beach, the quieter lazy pool in the middle or another large pool at the opposite end. We stuck to the middle, as there wasn't really anybody using it much or kids splashing about. The pool boys were excellent, in particular Bahatisha (not sure of spelling). He was very friendly and took your towels and mattresses to wherever you wanted and then prepared the sun lounger for you.

The beach wasn't up to much. Full of coral and the tide was out a lot of the time. But we knew this before we booked the hotel, as I'd read it on reviews. Even if the beach had been soft white sand all the way into the water, I would have still avoided going in, as the beach boys were extremely annoying. You couldn't walk along the side of the water without being hounded by them and they wouldn't leave you alone. In fact, you couldn't even look out towards the water from your sun lounger without them waving and trying to get your attention. They weren't allowed up onto the part of the beach where the loungers were, as that was the hotel grounds, but on the coast, there are no private beaches as such, as the beach boys are allowed to walk right along the coast past the hotels.

All the staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for you. Every one of them said 'Jambo' as they walked past, even the gardeners.

I think this hotel has the potential to be 5 star but the rooms would have to be upgraded. There would also have to be a bit more variety in the entertainment, as this was a bit repetative over 2 weeks. The a la carte restaurants would need to have more than 1 chef, as you could wait quite a while for a meal if there were more than 3 tables in.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would probably stay here again.

Safari ... Thomson arranged this for us through Pollman's tours. We were picked up from the hotel and changed into a safari vehicle in Mombasa. The vehicle only carried 7 people, which was better for viewing out the roof. The guide (Aziz) was very knowledgeable and knew all the routes to take in the parks. We seen a live kill in Tsavo West just at the side of the dirt track, a leopard killing an ostrich. This is something you don't normally see and in fact the guide had never seen in all the years he'd been in the job. We were very lucky. We stayed at Voi Safari Lodge in Tsavo East and Ngulia Lodge in Tsavo West. Both lodges were basic but the food was very good. Again, buffet style with plenty to choose from. Voi was of slightly higher standard and had the Elephant water hole, which you could view from an underground cave. On our way back to the hotel we stopped off at a Masai village and were shown inside their houses, how to make a fire etc. Excellent experience and would highly recommend. I think if we go back we would do the Masai Mara. September is the best time to go in terms of weather and what you will see in the parks, especially if you go to the Masai Mara, as this is when you will see the Migration. The weather was hot but not too hot with occasional rain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharkey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 812 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in August and had a brilliant stay. We loved that the scuba team are trying to develop a sea turtle rescue area (basic at the moment but to be commended). We had a beautiful first room before safari but were less impressed with the 2nd room (noisy child above) we were moved the same afternoon. The entertainment crew were great fun and tried to include everyone, we loved stretching with Peter in the morning. The entertainment manager has a great vision for the place and the biggest smile! Good variety of food and a la carte restaurants were beautiful, they changed while we were there so we could eat there as part of all inclusive. Fab stay, we want to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mainey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel was just amazing and unbelievable like I thought I was in heaven and like it was just the bomb.com if you want a relaxing yet fun and be Ryan beautiful but also at an affordable price. If you are planing to have a family romantic or even friendship and solo trip but not a business trip cause you will relax and forget about wor you must go there

Room Tip: We'll to say the truth it's your choice cause I like the ones next to the sea (our room) O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britney N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Myself & my partner have just returned from the amani after a 2 week holiday and We had a wonderful time!
The staff truly do make this place, they are brilliant. The animation team are also excellent!
We had our pool beds set up & waiting for us ready in the mornings (we tended to tip them 100 shillings a day for this) tipping seems to be customary
The pool was superb & my partner especially liked the swim up pool bar, which you could also order food at
The rooms were a very good size, they could do with a bit of updating, but we're good enough & comfy enough for a 2 week stay.
It was my partners birthday whilst we were they, and they catered superbly for it! His sunbed had flowers on in the morning, everyone sang happy birthday & he also got a cake. Was really lovely!!
The food, it started off good, however seemed to fall a little on the 2nd week, but there was always something to eat, no matter how picky you are. We also ate at the bharani (£18 for 2 courses for 2) & belle vita (£10 for 2 pizzas) so super value for money
Me, being cautious, was hesitant about booking a safari with anyone other than Thomson, however after speaking with other guests, we booked with J T safaris & it was truly superb!! Really was. The other thing to note aswell is, if you go on safari with Thomson you do have to check out of your room, just to inform you all.
Overall we had a superb time! If relaxing and doing nothing is your cup of tea, this is the place for you

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank missjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Aft staying here for a week in march, we decided to return for a two week stay in November and we were not disappointed! The staff here are wonderful, so happy and dedicated, and nothing is too much trouble. The food in the restaurant is always plentiful and very tasty, and the buffet items are replenished regularly. The pool is magnificent and the beach is spotlessly clean and very impressive. We went on a three day safari organised by Jacob at letsgowildsafaris.com, see separate review on their website. We would have no hesitation going back here it really is Paradise Under African Skies. Thank you to all at the Amani for making our holiday truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The ambiance is really good and nice. The swimming pool is on of the main attraction. Clean too. The private beach with lot of coconut trees is a very nice place to spend time. There are many restaurants and bars within. There are many indoor/outdoor activities to do. The rooms are very good and nicely serviced.

Food is very good and the Kenyan night special (on Fridays) was excellent, which we really enjoyed.

It really is a paradise under African skies.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ignatious_Enas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel is excellent with its long pool, but ruined by its staff. The staff seem to be least enthusiastic about their job, low morale, you'd find very few smiling faces. No one knows their job position, chefs run to replace empty plates which is the job of waiters. On our first night food ran out from the buffet selection and not replaced. Very poor food selection, the only seafood they had for a whole week was baked tuna fish which looked a horrible brown mud like finish. Complaints to the senior staff and management was acknowledged by" we shall improve next time". I wonder what magic they must've done to get a four star status by TRIP ADVISOR? A good hotel for package holiday plane loads of tourists who crave for cheap alcohol.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dipak N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ukunda hotels
1.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
5.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
31 reviews
6.6 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
179 reviews
6.3 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amani Tiwi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Tiwi Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1877, Ukunda 80400, Kenya (Formerly Tiwi Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ukunda
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ukunda
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range: $82 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amani Tiwi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently up graded with an addition of another specialty restaurant-Sultan Dhow & Aqua wine bar overlooking the Indian Ocean with a wide choice of wine served by glass. Refurbished Floodlit Tennis Court. A dedicated 3D 84 inch screen facility, Ultra modern conferences in a separate hotel wing.New hotel boutiques, air conditioned rooms, Hi- speed WIFI Internet & 32'' LCD TV with Satellite feed in the rooms, Complimentary mini fridges, electronic safes, Tea & Coffee making facility, Hair dryers, Mosquito nets and superior guest toiletries Dedicated 24 hours in room dining menu. Upmarket Hair Salon Beauty & Wellness Center.Superior guest amenities. Weekly Complimentary traditional renewal of Wedding vows.3 Specialty restaurants and 4 bars including swim-up sunken bar in the a 167 Meter length free form swimming pool... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Amani Tiwi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amani Tiwi Beach Hotel Ukunda
Tiwi Beach Hotel
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort Kenya/Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing