We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Ukunda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel will one day be one of the best in Kenya. We recently stayed here for two weeks and from the. Beginning too the end the whole holiday was amazing. From the moment you arrive the arrive you are greeted by Mercy the rep who was Brilliant, nothing was too much trouble for her.

The staff of the hotel where all brilliant especially Joseph, Janet, and Ben too name a few, nothing was ever too much trouble. The animation team where also brilliant interacting with people through out the day for the daily actives. The food was very good in both the palms restaurant and the beach side restaurants. The only issue is is having too book the beach restaurants by 11 each day.

There maybe problems with this hotel as its new but I can safely say any issue would soon be recited by the great staff and management.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 810 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

I cannot put into words how truly fantastic Amani Tiwi Beach Resort is ... go see for yourselves. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff could have not done any more for us.

All the rooms are situated around the pool so don't worry which block you are in you are only a stones throw away from the pool, a bar & the dining area :-) And it is great to be welcomed back from any excursion you go on with "welcome home".

Bernadette, Joyce, Razik, Joseph, Matata, Janet, Happy, James & Moses .... to name but a few in food & beverages I thank you.

Dixon you have a great animation team .... Carlos, Vincent, Antony, Yuri, Salim, Ruwa, Keisha & Victoria ... and all the rest of the team ... YOU ROCK!!! FREE BIRD :-)

Thank you for making Papa Big 40's birthday something to remember.

We will be back ... just make sure you don't run out of Tusker next time xxxx

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two weeks at this hotel at the beginning of April. It really was a very relaxing experience and I have tried to summarise some points -
Excellent staff and Thomson Rep
Wonderful pool
Good ( and sometimes excellent ) food but don't expect gourmet haute cuisine however on one 'themed night' I had the best beef curry I have ever tasted.
Rooms are a good 4-star standard ( I don't know what the upgraded rooms were like)
Very clean overall
Excellent beach but be aware that you will be approached by 'beach boys' if you venture from the safety of the recliners in the palm trees.
This is a really good 4-star hotel with some elements of 5 star performance ( particularly the staff) however if the ultimate aim is to create a truely quality product then elements of the 'all inclusive' package need to be addressed .A more accurate description of the current situation would be 'full board plus drinks'.
Overall a really relaxing , quiet resort with a willing and friendly staff . Our thanks to all the staff that made it such a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

As they say out of the ashes rises the Phoenix, this is truly the case with Amani Tiwi beach resort. What a fantastic hotel. We arrived on on the 13th April for a 2 week all inclusive holiday and were greated by Merci our holiday rep at mombassa airport. What a great lady, full of fun. She explained to us about mombassa and the roads, how you get a free massage when you travel along them. This was surely the case as the roads in kenya have loads of potholes.
Arrived at hotel afetr crossing the ferry and wow what a hotel. Greated with a iced face towel and a small orage drink. These were both needed. Shown to our room which was 5310 which was at the quiter end of the resort,which was great, and we had a fantastic view of the pool which is 167m long.
Whilst at the hotel it came apparant that it is not the hotel buildings,rooms that make your holiday but the people. We meet so many staff that were all so helpful, always greeting you JAMBO. when ever they saw you.too name a few.
Bernadett. The greeting hostess at the palms, always smiling.
Kennedy. Waiter in the palm resturant, trying to teach us a new Swahili word, butwith my accent..not good
Kelvin waiter at the italian resturant. Brilliant when we had our 30th wedding anniversary there.
Omar..and the pool team. Brilliant staff keeping the pool clean at all times, even taking out one leaf if it was in the pool. The team always knew where you slabbed out in the hot sun and would have your towels etc all ready for you.
James the pool bar tender. He knew exactly what we drank and would have it ready for us when the bars opened at 11am.
There are so many other others that we would like to say thank you too.

The food was great and gave a variaty at night, if you did not like there was always pasta and then the 2 not inclusive resturants you could go to. The third one was being reroofed.

This time of the year is very quite indeed, which we liked as you got that special attention.

Recommend this hotel to anyone. Def yes

Went on a safari to tsavoeast and west with a brilliant tour operator not booked through the hotel but local.can supply details. Recommend them.

This is a hotel that we will return back too as they say "PARADISE UNDER THE AFRICAN SKIES" and it is just that.

Room Tip: Ask for block 5 its the quieter block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham101007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at Amani and we had a fantastic time and were very sad to leave this place behind. The hotel is spotless. Rooms were cleaned everyday and there is also a turn down service in an evening, where mosquito nets are pulled over the beds and the rooms are sprayed with insect repellent.
The swimming pool at Amani is superb. It is one continuous pool, stretching one end of the hotel to the other, joined by a series of small slides! Sunbeds are really comfortable and the pool guys will try and make sure you get the same spot every day. We opted for beds up by the top pool/swim up bar - was the quieter end of the pool. Moses and James at the swim up bar are really nice and always make sure you have a drink in hand if needed!
Food at this hotel is excellent. It is a self service, buffet style set up, but there is a vast selection at every meal.
Without doubt, the best thing about this place is the staff! We met so many wonderful people during our stay. Janet and Matata at the main bar are very friendly and we had a great time talking to them on a night and learning about their family life. There are too many names to mention everyone but basically, it was the staff in this hotel and the people we met in our safari lodges that made this holiday so unforgettable.
This hotel has serious potential to become the best in Mombasa. We really hope to go back one day!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We visited the hotel in March and had a wonderful stay. The staff were all helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for all the visitors. The food was excellent and the hotel clean and very attractive. It certainly is paradise! We are returning next year and it couldn't be sooner. Keep up with the good work everyone.
Indulge in a massage when you are here. it was heaven..

Room Tip: We upgraded before we arrived to block 7. Although all rooms have a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Staff are wonderful, friendly and eager to please, rooms are big enough for what is needed. Food is amazing first time I have not moaned about food in a hotel ever, we are still here at the minute on a two week stay celebrating our anniversary, the hotel is fantastic book a stay and see for yourself, the only issue I am finding is with the beach which is so nice and needs to be seen, as soon as u move from your sun bed to venture into the water the beach boys are on you and it is such a put off going in the water and a polite no thank you doesn't work at all, there is security on the beach but they don't stop the boys from hassling you when you want to go into the water. We have now decided to stay around the pool which I have to say is lovely. Don't let the beach boys put you off coming to the hotel everything is fantastic here.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccleverclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ukunda hotels
1.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
619 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
454 reviews
4.8 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amani Tiwi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Tiwi Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1877, Ukunda 80400, Kenya (Formerly Tiwi Beach Resort)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ukunda
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ukunda
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range: $83 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amani Tiwi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently up graded with an addition of another specialty restaurant-Sultan Dhow & Aqua wine bar overlooking the Indian Ocean with a wide choice of wine served by glass. Refurbished Floodlit Tennis Court. A dedicated 3D 84 inch screen facility, Ultra modern conferences in a separate hotel wing.New hotel boutiques, air conditioned rooms, Hi- speed WIFI Internet & 32'' LCD TV with Satellite feed in the rooms, Complimentary mini fridges, electronic safes, Tea & Coffee making facility, Hair dryers, Mosquito nets and superior guest toiletries Dedicated 24 hours in room dining menu. Upmarket Hair Salon Beauty & Wellness Center.Superior guest amenities. Weekly Complimentary traditional renewal of Wedding vows.3 Specialty restaurants and 4 bars including swim-up sunken bar in the a 167 Meter length free form swimming pool... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amani Tiwi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amani Tiwi Beach Hotel Ukunda
Tiwi Beach Hotel
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort Kenya/Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing