We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“need another holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Ukunda
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“need another holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

just back from the amani but waited for a few days to let things sink in.trip from the uk delayed over 3 hours and took alot longer than normal for the transfer due to traffic and the ferry.hotel was still being worked on but didnt cause any problems.it was very quiet for first 2 days but got slowly fuller by the end of the second week.This i think effected the food quality as it got better by the end of our holiday.beech boys were there again but just play cat and mouse and they do give up.went on safari into tanzania and this is reported else where.anyone interested we stayed at sopa hotels and will be done soon.the staff are helpful,polite and cheerful.this hotel will soon end up full of families and may not suit the couples only set as the beech,pool area and facilties are just right for this type of holiday.one small complaint is aimed at the thomsons day trips.pilli pipa is way over priced and not what we expected.we have done other boat trips and this one didnt meet our exxpectations.dolphins seen but not swam with,no beech time and too long a day (over 12 hours from pick up to drop off).very poor value for money and not recommended.Thomson rep (Mercy) is full of fun and energy and will try and sort out any problems.Overall hotel will be a great venue when finished and staff are already a credit.last point,read all reports and you will get a good idea of what to expect as do not want to repeat alot of what others say.just go with an open mind and enjoy.

Room Tip: leave aircon on all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RICHIE056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    226
    109
    44
    20
See reviews for
243
299
22
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I would only be repeating all the wonderful comments made by everyone else if I began to say what a truly amazing resort this is.

The staff, food, pool and rooms will ensure this will be a holiday to remember. We cannot think of one thing to complain about (something rare when it comes to hotels).

Go to this resort, it really is paradise under African skies.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2Fleetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We actually specifically booked the Amani Tiwi beach resort despite there being no reviews as it was still under renovation after a terrible fire a few years ago. The risks were obvious but we were just happy to be visiting Kenya and so we knew that we'd have a good time regardless.

The trip from the airport is tough, particularly after such a long flight. The reason such a long transfer is given is due to a ferry crossing that can take 15 minutes but on one occasion it took us almost 3 hours (strikes, ferry breakdowns etc). The actual journey from the airport to the hotel is less than 45 minutes removing the ferry from the scenario!!!

The excitement of arriving in Kenya was so huge that actually we didn't care about the long transfer - driving through the villages was an eye opener and actually for me quite inspirational. As we swung into the resort, we knew we'd hit the jackpot and the beautifully presented staff ready to greet us was welcome and we saw by their happy and genuine faces that we were in for a treat. After a lovely cold flannel and a cocktail we were all given out keys at the same time and taken straight to our rooms.

Whilst nice, the room we were in 7305 was actually a little dated, small double and single bed with mosquito nets around the top. All rooms have a pool view which is stunning. The only minor comment is that I felt the single bed is unnecessary for most guests and I feel that all those I spoke to would have rathered a much larger double bed (once the net is over bed I couldn't sleep with my partner as it was just too claustrophobic!!). In fact, ended up being moved in any case as the flaking walls ended up being a bit of a damp problem so they needed to refurbish the room. We were upgraded for our trouble into a delux room (block 9) - this was much more like it. A huge bed, lovely bathroom with a jacuzzi bath (although our jacuzzi didn't work!). They even gave us a bottle of wine too for the inconvenience which was appreciated but not necessary.

The pool is out of this world. In three main sections all linked by a river style pool which you can swim down the entire circuit. At one end is a super swim up bar which was mainly hosted by the beautiful Grace, Hamisi, Omar and sometimes Jacob. These staff are invaluable and are genuinely happy to do whatever it takes to ensure your happiness, comfort and not to mention your state of inebriation!!! The pool guys who often go unnoticed were brilliant, the pool was cleaned within an inch of its life every day and throughout the course of the day. They are happy to put your towels down in the same place everyday and are again just genuinely delightful people.

The food, well - we're quite critical in general but I have nothing negative to say. Whilst some moaned that there was a limited selection - that was what I liked. Whilst there was always plenty, fresh crunchy veg (never overlooked) and several meats and fish - due to the themed food evenings it meant that everything was cooked to perfection. There was lovely fresh fruit and breads along with soups which were all handmade every day. Breakfast was great, eggs as required, freshly griddled bacon, cereals, pastries etc. Lunch we always ate at Belle Vita which was an Italian that was not part of the all inclusive but they had a small all inclusive menu including minute steak, grilled red snapper, spaghetti, soups and salads. This restaurant is on the beach and the breeze is welcomed.

The entertainment - hmmm, some of it was great, some of it was good and some of it was inappropriate. The great stuff was the Masai Warriors and the acrobats along with some of the dance groups. There was one however which made most of us feel we were at string fellows! The enthusiasm of the girl dancers was plain to see and not appropriate for a family hotel!

The location, great - the private beach is pretty although very hard to get out to sea due to the vast amount of coral which was precarious and off putting. The resort is on its own, to get any other bars or restaurants you would need to go to diani beach or Ukunda.

The facilities - there is a fabulous dive school on site called Baracuda and they will arrange boat trips, dolphin safaris, Padi courses and many others.

The staff - well this is where I can't say enough. Truly, the most wonderful staff in any hotel or restaurant I have ever been to. They are interesting, genuinely happy, hardworking, fun and when you get to know how hard their lives are compared to ours and yet how positive they are I found myself being ashamed of our hospitality in the uk and also of my meaningless moans in my day to day life!!! I can't name then all as there are too many but also I forget but I'll do my best:- Grace, Zainab, Metano, Diana, Jacob, Bernadette, Omar, Hamisi, Janet, Gorgeous, Lilian, Joyce and Mustafa. Quite frankly, everyone there was amazing. There in fact was only one person who I didn't feel complimented the resort but with a team so wonderful, their failings will easily be hidden and hopefully won't affect the success or the standard of the hotel.

We got engaged on our last night and bar a hiccup at the end to do with a bill for a bottle of Moët for £220, we couldn't have had a more special evening (guys, if you're planning a special occasion, stay away from the champers!!). This issue has now been resolved by the management so we are happy with the end result.

Trips out - things to do:- firstly go on safari and use J T Safaris and please do double check thatnitnis Julius Tact Safaris as there is an imposter using his name and not offering as good a service. We went to Tsavo East and West with George who was fantastic. We stayed at the Satao Camp which was wonderful. Described as a tent but was stunning, beautiful en- suite shower room and great veranda. George was so knowledgable and we were in a private jeep for 2 which was a larger and more robust vehicle than any other we saw during our safari and all other tourists were cramped in a smaller van (2 wheel drive which is simply not good enough) and they paid more with Thomson and other tour reps. Go direct to Julius Tact and he will arrange everything for you.

We also went to the Forty Thieves Bar in Diani Beach which was stunning with live jazz and fab atmosphere. We then visited their sister restauarant called Ali Barbours also known as The Cave. Stunning cave with chambers with fine dining. Check it out on line. We also went to a traditional eatery in Ukunda called Rongais (spelt wrong) but they do roasted meats on the fire and is an experience worth having (if you don't mind flies!!)

So.....I'm getting bored of my own words here and for those that know me, I could go on and on and on.......to summarise:- for the holiday of a lifetime with excellent customer service and wonderful cultures to learn about I cannot recommend Kenya enough and the Amani Tiwi Beach is set to be one of the best resorts in the south.

Room Tip: Pay for the deluxe room if poss but be warned - the better rooms are at the noiser end of the resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wilsonh31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were offered this hotel since Thomson were no longer using the hotel we had originally booked.

Decided on a private transfer from Moi airport since the coach was advised as a 3 hour trip. Definitely a good move, since we arrived nearly 2 hours before the coach rolled in.

Reception very efficient, and rooms exactly as stated. Clean, tidy, with excellent facilities. Be warned if you are in Block 2 you may well be visited by the local Verket monkeys, so don't leave anything out overnight on the balcony. You might find a monkey wearing your swim shorts instead of you!

Hotel facilities very good, restaurants very efficient, buffet style food breakfast, lunch and evening meal. Did find the selection of food was very spicy and mainly curry style meats, Would have benefited from a selection that included at least one fairly plain meat rather than everything in sauces. However, if the food is very much a problem they are very accommodating and will cook something plain if you ask.

Staff very friendly.... Only bug bear was that they have a system whereby even if you are all inclusive, which we were, you still have to sign for all drinks, and be aware that they charge extra for diet coke!! For some reason it is not included in AI. However, if this is a real problem, then speak to your rep.

Hotel has beautiful gardens, fantastic sun loungers everywhere, and staff couldn't do enough to help and make sure we enjoyed our holiday.

Thank you everyone. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you want to see monkeys on your balcony select block 2 for more quiet rooms select block 3 or 4 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

When we originally booked this holiday in December 2011, we booked for the voyager beach resort like everyone else....we then got it changed to the Amani Tiwi.....3 weeks before we were due to go but I'm so glad we did.....the hotel is beautiful....the staff cannot do enough for you. The food is lovely...the rooms are stunning...everything is wonderful. The only downside is the beach sellers...they are a pain..my advice is do not entertain them at all cos if you do they will hassle you all your holiday ......BEST HOLIDAY EVER xx oh and the beds are really comfy x

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank louise r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We booked our family holiday (little boy aged 7 included) at Amani in June 2012 knowing that the official opening would be in October and so expected a wonderful time knowing that the hotel would need to give its best service especially in the first few months. Our expectations were far exceeded and our son says this is his best ever holiday even though we thought we pushed the boat out for my 40th birthday last year - so well done to all (and we mean all at the hotel)
After a delayed flight from the UK for over 3 hours and a long wait to cross on the ferry all the guests on arrival were either fed up or frustrated. On arrival at the hotel something we have never come across on our travels was a reception from the front of house staff that allowed us all to sit, sip on a cocktail and all of us at the same time listen to their welcome instructions overall savig loads of time - far more chilled out than queing at a reception desk to book in waiting for everyone to be told the same thing .
Our bags were taken to our room jumped straight into the pool. Wow - we went to the top pool which has a swim up bar. The water was like jumping into a warm bath it was lovely. There were very few guests at the hotel due to its recent opening so our little boy introduced himself to everyone there quickly. Pedro and Julie from Baracuda diving (based at the hotel) were on hand and we quickly discussed our out of hotel needs such as safaris. There were no UK kids there but a lovely family from Sweden that he played with for the first few days.
If you start at the top pool you can work your way down the complex through the slides (not huge ones) to the bottom pool and then walk down to the beach and beach restraunt. The pool has to be seen to be belived its wonderful. It truly is a fantatsic sight. Our boy swam down the length of the pool for lunch most days. the pool is kept immacuate by staff and we felt like royalty as the towel staff found us the perfect place for the day.
Being one of the only kids there our sons name was quickly known by all staff from the pool staff through to the management. The entertainment staff were marvellous, we particularly found Matano, Zainab, Kezia and Diana to be very friendly and by the end of the holiday we felt like part of their family as they were really happy to talk about their familys and give us a taste of the local culture. As there wernt may guests the entertainment staff were more than happy just to play with the kids pushing the ball over the water polo net and vollyball nets they were brilliant and change what they need to do with the guests that are there. Our son had their full atention everyday and more importantly for us (as we took him out of school for this break) they learned him many swahili words that allowed us to make the effort to speak to all staff in their language not just English. The staff liked us making the effort and everyday they learned us more.
Again all the bar staff were brilliant - a few to look out for are Jacob (you wont miss him hes huge)who has many tricks to show you and Grace who has the warmest of smiles. Most people were drinking either beer or cocktails - the only downside to the bars (for now i guess) is that diet drinks are not included in the all inclusive package.
The food and waiting on staff were amazing - the food was varied and very tasty - our boy loved pancakes for breakfast. If you want your kids to try new things other than chips and nuggets that many hotels bang out as a kids menu this is the place to come - he loved the grilled fish and rice and we all eat really healthily for the week.
We did a couple of visits either run by or facilitated by Pedro (baracuda diving) and would highly recommend you using them. We went on the dolphin safari done by Pedro which included finding the dolphins - we saw loads and this is the first time our boy has seen them up close and personal - the trip also included snorkelling and again was his first time - Mahammad was fantastic he was very patient with our boy and lead him by the hand to see the sealife - he loved it - so much that Duncon then took him out snorkelling the next day close to the hotel - the guys supply all the equipment. We all then did scuba diving in the pool as the Baracuda guys knew how strong our boy was at swimming. So our boy has done loads of things for the first time with Pedro and his staff - THANK YOU. Our safari again done through Pedro was into Shimba hills. This is excellent if you have a little one as it is only a 40 minute drive from the hotel and can be done in a day we saw all the animals there elephants, giraffes, buffallo, monkey to name a few. As part of the trip we walked down to the waterfall - its a wonderful site when you get there but if you do it i advise you to slop loads of cream on and have much water as the walk back to the jeep is in the midday sun and gets tiring in parts. You have lunch at shimba where you can chill looking out over a pond with lizards and turtles along with may birds. Its wonderful - we all loved our trips out.
There are about 12 monkeys on site but as the hotel develops and is fully open i am sure loads will be there - its brillinat watching them thay are very confident and will eat out of your hand. If you go down to the beach area at night there are loads of crabs - our boy spent many a happy hour chasing after them - the security staff loved playing with him and the crabs in the dark hours.
The hotel is still being developed and when we left the flagship restaraunt and wine bar was due to be open - its in the shape of a ship and you can eat or drink there as if you are on board a ship looking out to sea - we got very friendly with the project manager of the redevelopment and it was magical to see a guy with such passion about the project he has developed for our use - shame we missed the opening of it but i am sure we will revisit the hotel at some stage soon to see it up and running fully.
If you go out there just remember you dont have to take plug converters over - everything is 3 pin like in the UK. All rooms have mosquitoi nets over all beds, we took mosqito plug ins and sprays which we did every night before going out for the evening. Thankfully we never got bit which is unusual for me - however many of the other guests got bit.
If you go there you will love it i guarantee the staff take good care of everyone - congratulations too all staff - i am sure you will get 5* status very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool - i dont think you will get a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Although we had booked with Thomson for a return visit to The Voyager Beach Resort our holiday was changed 3 weeks prior to our departure. Our 4 week holiday would now be spent at the newly opened Amani Tiwi Beach Resort of which we had little knowledge. We decided to go with a positive attitude as it was not, after all, the new hotel's fault that our holiday had been changed.
From the moment we arrived at The Amani Tiwi, we were treated like royalty - nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We have travelled extensively but we have never encountered such warm, courteous, efficient staff as here. Obviously, there were one or two teething problems as the hotel had only just opened, but they were addressed immediately to our complete satisfaction. The staff always went that extra mile to ensure that we were completely happy. There was some building and renovation work going on at the hotel but the noise was not at all intrusive and did not affect our relaxation at all. The work will be completed within a couple of weeks creating a spectacular new restaurant and stage.
Our de-luxe room, overlooking the pool, was large and beautifully decorated and it was great to relax there at the end of the day. The swimming pool has to be seen to be believed as it meanders from one end of the complex to the other and is a very attractive feature. During our month's stay we were delighted to witness the hotel's development and expansion. Guests' views were continually requested and utilised to improve the service and the Manager, Mr Mirza, always found time to talk to us and check that all was well. One month after its official opening, the hotel had established a daily programme of events and was hosting some great evening entertainment acts. The food, although not as wide ranging as in other hotels, was of a high quality and certainly provided enough choice for us even though we were there for a long time (and do not eat meat!) The food in the buffet restaurant was always varied, freshly cooked and delicious and the setting of the Italian restaurant on the beach was absolutely magical. We enjoyed many long, lazy lunches here just gazing out over the ocean.
We learnt so much about Kenya and its people from this holiday and we would certainly love to visit again. We would like to express our appreciation to the management and staff for making our holiday so memorable.
If you are planning a safari while in Kenya we can highly recommend F Kings Safaris. This was our third visit to Kenya and the third time we have used F. Kings. Their private safaris are excellent and provide an amazing experience. They are less expensive than the safaris organised by Thomson and also mean that you can choose when you go, have the van to yourself and do not have to give up your room at the hotel while on safari. Check them out on Google - you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Janice012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ukunda
4.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
1.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
17.0 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
6.3 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amani Tiwi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Tiwi Beach Resort

Property: Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 1877, Ukunda 80400, Kenya (Formerly Tiwi Beach Resort)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ukunda
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ukunda
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amani Tiwi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently up graded with an addition of another specialty restaurant-Sultan Dhow & Aqua wine bar overlooking the Indian Ocean with a wide choice of wine served by glass. Refurbished Floodlit Tennis Court. A dedicated 3D 84 inch screen facility, Ultra modern conferences in a separate hotel wing.New hotel boutiques, air conditioned rooms, Hi- speed WIFI Internet & 32'' LCD TV with Satellite feed in the rooms, Complimentary mini fridges, electronic safes, Tea & Coffee making facility, Hair dryers, Mosquito nets and superior guest toiletries Dedicated 24 hours in room dining menu. Upmarket Hair Salon Beauty & Wellness Center.Superior guest amenities. Weekly Complimentary traditional renewal of Wedding vows.3 Specialty restaurants and 4 bars including swim-up sunken bar in the a 167 Meter length free form swimming pool... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Amani Tiwi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amani Tiwi Beach Hotel Ukunda
Tiwi Beach Hotel
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort Kenya/Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing