We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Break at Amani”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Ukunda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were on a family friends trip to the Amani Tiwi, the staff was very friendly and had a good reception, hotel still under renovation but was not very intrusive. It is worth a visit to the resort and the great pool, though the beach was disappointing with all the rocks and weeds. The resort needs to be complete to have a look at the awesome grand central area..... should be worth a good long look. The restaurant on the beach is great and the food needs to be spruced up a bit. The trip was enjoyable, kids had fun at the pool. Friendly diving instructors and team. Overall a good experience!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank SrivatsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor . We value your critique and will have the whole product ready and operational shortly to provide a distinct and enriching experience for you and the family .

Welcome Back to Paradise Under African Skies !

Sincerely

Aditya Mata
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 844 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2011

We received kingly reception and a nice tour around the facilities. Although this resort is under re-construction,this is a place to watch out for. I visited the different upcoming rooms and facilities,and cant wait for it to be complete.

The facilities are wheelchair-friendly,and there are several restaurants that can carter for everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chicitakenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

was there in June 2011 for a business trip and am planning to visit again just for leisure. I liked the place the food is amazing, that is sure a place you can go either on business or just for leisure and a proper getaway place. The staff are always smiling and the housekeeping staff are so perfect up...

Room Tip: was there in June 2011 for a business trip and am planning to visit again just for leisure. I liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamdaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed here for two weeks. I had my young son ( age 6) with me and the staff could not do enough to involve him, however he was the only child at the hotel. They allowed him in the nightclub and took him up on the DJ stand, teaching him to use the equipment. All the staff were extremely helpful and polite. He was sick during our stay and the hotel immediately got a doctor, who was brilliant. Staff knocked on our door regularly throughout the the two days to check on him and bring us water so that he did not dehydrate. The food I cannot fault at all. Our maid was great, she cleaned our room every day, which must be good to pass my standards as I have mild OCD. A tip to the pool man at the beginning of our stay was well worth it as every time he saw us coming he rearranged sunbeds for us in our favourite spot. My sister even got married there and the whole hotel got involved. the flowers were picked from the gardens that morning, They made little arches from palm leaves everywhere. The traditional African dancers waited outside her room and led her down the aisle. We regularly left out fruit on the balcony for the Bush babies and Monkeys. It was amazing. I find it really hard to believe that the bad reviews are the same hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candyfloss47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

Just to let you know the hotel burnt down yesterday. The thatched roof and most public areas are destroyed.
I suggest if you are due to stay there in the near fuure that you contact your travel agent and change your plans !

Stayed: January 2009
2  Thank safaribird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

This Hotel is Big but very friendly - The Pool was great and the staff were so helpful - Tim in the animation team was an absolute star - great games in the Pool . The only dissapointing areas were the bedrooms they are definately required updating - for a 4 * Hotel . The Food was beautifully cooked lots of variety . The BBq on the Beach was fantastic .The beach was lovely but because of the seaweed we could not swim easily out to the sea - but just walk a few hundred yards and its fine .

The problem here is bookings were down and there were only 60 guest against 400+ that should be there so alot of the restaurants were not open however we did not want for anything

Prices at Bar are reasonable -
Tusker Beer 500Ml 210 shillings ( less than £2.00) Cocktails about 290 shillings .

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2008

I would definitely return to Tiwi again - I had an amazing time during Christmas and New Year 2007/8.

First impressions of the hotel were very good. The entrance lobby is cool and airy, the reception staff friendly and the hotel itself very welcoming. The hotel is approximately 1.5 hours from Mombasa airport with a short ferry crossing - an experience in itself!

ROOM 321 (Ted Rogers eat your heart out!)

My room was spacious, clean and airy. It had one queen size and one single bed, both with mosquito nets (which should be used!). There was a seperate dressing area, seating area, seperate w.c. and bathroom. The rooms had air conditioning and ceiling fan. Power cuts were a feature of the holiday and so I would recommend that you leave your ceiling fan on as well as the air conditioning when you leave the room because the air con stays off when the power is resumed.

All rooms overlook the amazing pools. Each room had a balcony with table and chairs. As Kenya is a malaria hotspot I would recommend that travellers take a plug-in mosquito repellant and leave this switched on all day and night.

Most rooms were equipped with a safe and telephone. Generally, the rooms were above average, and towels and sheets were changed regularly. 2 bottles of (sealed) mineral water are provided each day free of charge.

On check-in you are provided with a card which is exchanged for beach towels on a daily basis.

BEACH AND POOL

The pool is amazing, it consists of 3 large pools which are interconnected by narrow river-like channels and slides.

The beach is beautiful, sandy, plenty of shade via palm trees. There are plenty of (very heavy!) sunbeds and mattresses (which the staff bring you).

You run the gauntlet when the leave the sanctity of the private area of the beach because you are approached by local people selling spears, trips and jewellery. However, the people are very polite and if you tell them you are not interested they (eventually) leave you alone. On the whole it did not spoil the beach experience for me. I would recommend taking beach shoes if you decide to swim in the sea - it is very rocky when the tide is out and generally people used the pools to swim or cool off.

DRINKING AND DINING

The hotel operates a cashless system whereby you sign a slip of paper for any drinks, snacks, meals, you buy during your stay. This is very useful as it avoids the need to carry cash with you. You settle your bill at the end of your stay

The food is very good if you enjoy buffet type meals, with plenty of variety.

There is an indian, chinese, and italian restaurant where you can dine at no additional cost and a lovely seafood restaurant on the beach for which you pay extra. The seafood restaurant is definitely worth a visit.

ENTERTAINMENT AND STAFF

The entertainment can be repetitive (there is only so much masai dancing you can see in one holiday!), the acrobats were amazing, and the live bands fun. The animation team (Howard, Victor, Rama, Tony, Antonio, Linda and Damaris) are lovely and try very hard to keep you entertained all day (they work approx 18 hrs per day in high season). Diamonds, the nightclub on the site, is air conditioned but is usually under utilised (which was a shame).

Daytime activities were good and varied. In fact you can be as active or lazy as your mood takes you. I would recommend the daily aqua-aerobics session.

The staff work very hard, are courteous and friendly and they really put themselves out to make your stay more pleasant.

Our New Year's Eve was amazing! A gala dinner, followed by cabaret, live band and then disco on the beach. It really was unforgettable and will be difficult to surpass!

During your stay guests are not expected or hassled by staff to tip. However, these people are paid very little (trainees are not paid at all for 4-6 months!) and are very grateful for any tips they receive. We left a "group" tip which was distributed to all staff in their pay packets but also gave individual tips to trainees and staff who we considered were extra helpful during our stay.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Smileygirltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ukunda hotels
1.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
6 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lotfa Resort
Lotfa Resort
#25 of 29 in Diani Beach
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
31 reviews
1.9 mi away
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amani Tiwi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Tiwi Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1877, Ukunda 80400, Kenya (Formerly Tiwi Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ukunda
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ukunda
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range: $79 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amani Tiwi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently up graded with an addition of another specialty restaurant-Sultan Dhow & Aqua wine bar overlooking the Indian Ocean with a wide choice of wine served by glass. Refurbished Floodlit Tennis Court. A dedicated 3D 84 inch screen facility, Ultra modern conferences in a separate hotel wing.New hotel boutiques, air conditioned rooms, Hi- speed WIFI Internet & 32'' LCD TV with Satellite feed in the rooms, Complimentary mini fridges, electronic safes, Tea & Coffee making facility, Hair dryers, Mosquito nets and superior guest toiletries Dedicated 24 hours in room dining menu. Upmarket Hair Salon Beauty & Wellness Center.Superior guest amenities. Weekly Complimentary traditional renewal of Wedding vows.3 Specialty restaurants and 4 bars including swim-up sunken bar in the a 167 Meter length free form swimming pool... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amani Tiwi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amani Tiwi Beach Hotel Ukunda
Tiwi Beach Hotel
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort Kenya/Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing