We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue Marlin Beach Hotel(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$102
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$130
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$138
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Sands at Nomad(Diani Beach)
$125
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$109
$98
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$215
$173
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
AfroChic Diani(Diani Beach)
$419
$375
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$925
$893
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (882)
Filter reviews
882 results
Traveler rating
378
270
139
56
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
270
139
56
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamafrican skieslong poolbeach boysswimming poolprivate beachsouth coastall inclusive packagedeluxe roomspalms restaurantevening entertainmentwater polotable tennisthe general managerkids clubbeach volleyballstandard room
Filter
Updating list...
620 - 625 of 882 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2007

We booked a last min holiday to Tiwi Beach Resort with Thomson and couldnt fault the hotel at all. There was some confusion when we tried to look through the reviews as there are a couple of other traveller hotels that came up when searching for Tiwi Beach Resort. This resort used to be a Travellers property but is no longer owned by them - has been bought by a private couple as far as we were told by staff there.

They no longer offer all inclusive - only half board. The breakfast and evening meals were very good with good choices on offer. There are two a la carte restaurants - an indian and a chinese - we visited the indian and this was very good with lovely surroundings. The only downside is they are not open every night and they are not advertised enough! You have to go to reception and ask which nights each are open and you can also look at the menus at the guest services desk . There is an italian restaurant at the beach and also a coffee bar which serves good burgers and milk shakes which my teenage son loved.

Drinks are ok, beer good , cocktails hit and miss, but they sell a fair selection of top brand spiritsand overall not too expensive.

The rooms are basic with tv but no mini bar or fridge. Good a/c and good shower over bath. Toilet seperate. Rooms have one double bed and one full size single bed which was okay for my son and he is over 6 feet tall. Mossie nets over both beds. The balcony overlooked the lovely pool and the monkeys that will visit you for food ( leave bits of banana out there if you want visitors! ) can get a little over exited - dont let them into your room!

The pool was lovely ! Swim up bar at one end with volleyball net and then a long lazy river with humps for sliding over takes you down to another big pool area which is great as it is deep for swimming in.

Beaches are rocky in some places but white sands are there amoungst the patches of seaweed!!! The hotel has a nice area of beach with loungers and as it is the only beach in Kenya which is privately owned you can get away from the hassle of the beach sellers - but if you want to talk and bargain with them you are free to do so.

The entertainment is again what you would expect from a hotel - quite authentic with masai dancers - a bit naff music and singers! They had a market set up after the masai dancers which we bought some pictures from. Please take time to look as some other guests of foreign nationality walked ( actually they almost ran ) away straight after the show while they were frantically trying to set up their stalls!!! Theres no harm in looking!!!

We did book a 2 day safari ( voi ) which would have been great if it wasnt for the driver from hell !! We booked this trip through Thomson and they use POLLMANS TOURS. We will never use this company again as there were far too many near death experiences!!! See the previous review for more gory details!! Hi to simon and Llinos!!

We have booked to go to Kenya again later this year 28th dec for a week to celebrate new year but we have booked with First Choice for a different hotel ( voyager beach - this has been given fab reviews by fellow trip ad members ) which is nearer to a different safari area we want to try ( and hope they use a different company to Pollmans aswell !! ) but we would go back to Tiwi without hesitation . It is a lovely hotel which will be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank yvonney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2007

We stayed at Tiwi beach for a week, I think the people with the last review stayed in a differedt place as the food was lovely as were the drinks. The rooms are spacious but basic and clean, dont forget you are in a poor country.
Tiwi beach is the only hotel with its own private beach so you dont get hassled all day by the beach boys.
We booked with Thomsons and the only bad experience we had were the trips we booked through them. We went to Voi safari which was fantastic but the company that Thomsons use to take you on the safari put out lives in danger. The maximum speed limit for the mini buses are 80kph, our driver thought it was ok to travell at 120+kmp and almost tip the bus onto its side.The dirver nearly killed us. We also booked the Pili Pala snorkeling trip...we spent 10 hours travelling and an hour and a half snorkeling...a total waste of money..this is what the rep doesnt tell you. We went to complain but as usual once they have had your money they dont want to know.
Book your trips with the beach boys...a lot cheaper ans more honest!!
You dont get hassle with the monkeys unless you leave food out for them then the whole family will come for dinner!

This hotel is no longer All Inclusive !!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank llinosj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2007

This has to be the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in.

Stayed for 5 nights felt like a lifetime!
Couldn't wait to get home!

The food is pretty much inedible - we all got food poisoning. Each night is a different theme and it gets worse by the minute. Most of the time the buffet is left uncovered outside for the flies, mozzies and god knows what else to feed on, and is never stocked up with fresh food - yum!

The drinks are very very poor. Bought some 'internationally branded' drinks which tasted worse than the local varieties
(They were not international brands!) - the Baileys was certainly not Baileys!

We had 2 rooms and they were both the same - old, smelly and very very dated. The sheets, pillows and towels had stains on. The bathrooms were mouldy too.

The beach and pool are nice enough. Look out for the monkey's they are very friendly!

The staff are, however, lovely. Make sure you give them a tip as it’s pretty much slave labour - $2 a day (they work over 12hour days!).

My advice - Don't stay here! Go on Safari instead - the BEST experience of my life. Truly amazing - try and stay in the Simba Mara Lodge in the Masai Mara - a superb hotel with fantastic food and rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Ali10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2006

i went to tiwi and i may go back but the world is a big place, but i would not give it a thumbs down..........the staff are lovely, as is the beach,,,,,,,,,,but (there always is one) the beach boys spoilt it for me
I like to stroll along the waters edge in peace, admiring the view but boy, where they persistant. Even when you say no thank you they follow you and it is horrid, and intimidating. My friend and i resorted to running away ( the same message in any langauge).
And if you do suceed in getting rid, as soon as you get along the beach a bit,.......... ARRGH, theres more.
I learnt "watchana na sisi tafadali" it means pls leave me alone and does work
The beach is beautiful indeed as is kenya but the beach boys would put me off returning
I visted Mtwapa creek whilst there and this was superb a little bit up market, very nice. the food at the aquamarine rest was very good.
I done a safari as well which i would throughly recommend i went to governors camp which was wonderful in every way comfortable with great food a tip .......the hot air balloons are inflated every morning at FIVE AM outside the tents in little governors, boy am i glad i did not stay there

Stayed: September 2006
16  Thank loonylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2006

The hotel brochure is superb but sadly the hotel does not live up to the classy brochure. This is a typical package, all inclusive hoiday resort with very little going for it for the independant traveller wanting more than 'free' alcohol and endless ghastly buffets. The 'Italian' restaurant on the beach served pasta with tomato ketchup as a speciality! Mind bogglng! Breakfast was indescribably revolting and we checked out after 18 hours - instead of 7 days! The staff were very nice and tried ver y hard but management were non-existent.
The air conditioner dripped onto our heads all night; we were woken at 08h00 to be told the Chinese restaurant was closed for dinner that evening and where did we want to eat. The answer was nowhere, we are checking out!
Loud pool music and corny package holiday amusements do not do it for us! An experience not to be repeated!

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank safarimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews