We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst holiday ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kaskazi Beach Hotel
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Ukunda
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worst holiday ever”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The worst possible experience workers are useless management is not any good .it is a shame to the Kenya tourist industry. Entertainment is bogus. Breakfast is skimpy at best.
We moved out after the first night
The bathroom had salty water
Hot and cold wired the wrong way around

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderingtraveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    48
    29
    20
    27
See reviews for
32
52
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

The reception upon arrival wasn't so good plus very unconventional booking and allocation of rooms but once u are settled in its an awesome experience.... thanks to all the staff n the lovely guests I had a terrific holiday ..... coming back again is something I look forward to....love u all

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cliff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chastre
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

It was our third stay in Kaskazibeach and last year I wrote an enthusiastic advise in french on tripadvisor. This time I write in english in order to be understood by more poeple.
We still love the lovely gardens and the particular charme of this hotel, even if the rooms are dated and the beach not the best in front of the hotel. You have to walk a little bit and then you will find a nice sandy beach to swim.
What changed a lot since our last stay in 2012 and even more in 2011 was the choice of food which was great before and now sometimes really poor. Perhaps the reason was the few guests staying in the hotel or the new management. The food is still good, but little choice.
The evening undertainement is also changed. Before, there were good shows, acrobats, now during our two weeks stay twice massai dansers and the other evenings just discomusic.
But what did not change is the exceptionnel kindness of the staff we miss already and who made us feeling like at home. Thanks to all of them.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brigitte und Et... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Kaskazi was great back then when it was under the management of lti, but since 2013, it's no longer the pride of diani poor service from inexperienced staff bad milk staff stealing from guests en poor management from the otara family kaskazi does not offer quality anymore DON'T BOOK KASKAZI FOR THE YOUR SAFETY

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eriquee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Gachie, Manager at Kaskazi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear "Eriquee"

Warm greetings from Kaskazi Beach Hotel. I am writing to express my concern regarding the recent comment you posted on TripAdvisor.

First of all, I want to thank you for your loyalty and repeat visits to our hotel.

We dedicate great efforts to ensure the satisfaction of our guests, and are disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your last stay with us. We would like to apologize for this and assure you that we are implementing a wide range of improvements in the hotel including a new management team such as Chef, Engineering among others since the owners took over the property recently. A far reaching training has been instituted to further grow our customer experience.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon so that we can provide you with a truly Kenyan experience.

In case you require any further clarication, please contact me on marketing@kaskazibeachhotel.com or the hotel General Manager on gm@kaskazibeachhotel.com

Best Regards

Catherine Gachie
Marketing
Kaskazi Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ukunda hotels

NORWAY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I spend my third time at Kaskazi . Its a lovely place outside Ukunda. its cloose to the beach. Everyone at the hotel try to do the best for us anytime . When we arrive the hotel we feel like we come home. They take good care of us the moment we get out of the taxi. Everyone from the waiters , trainee, barman , poolman. and massagaladies , everyone .Allways smiling to us .The room are also nice . everyone of them have seawiew with balkony.The restaurant is very nice and the food is very very good , everyone will find something they will love. At daytime they have gym in the pool , stretching at the gress , waterpolo.shouffelboard ,boccica and beachwalk. Everynight at 23.00 they sing "Lala Salama " and the music stop. Its a quiet place at night. And the hotel have theyr own entertaimentteam who have shows lots of days in the week.. They are very good and we love to watch them do the show and they have lots of fun. After the show they walk around and talk to the guests. Thats so nice to meet them and get to know them on a different way. I cant recommend the hotel enough , you must stay there so you can get the feeling i have for this place .My Kaskazi.

Room Tip: The best is on the northside . Best wiew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank INGJEN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Gachie, Manager at Kaskazi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear "Ingjen55"

Jambo from Kaskazi Beach Hotel! Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Catherine Gachie
Marketing
Kaskazi Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We are a family from Slovakia, we were in 2012 in Kenya - Diani Sea Lodge and in 2013 in Kaskazi. Both hotels liked us, the first has more beautiful beach and the second is next the supermarket Nakumat. Near to this shop there are lot of little "shops", there you can buy woodfigures, bowles... If somebody want to make a safari for good price, can it book by Yuda Tours and Safaris. Please don´t afraid, the travel agency seems very poor, but we have booked here the 2days safari to Masai Mara. It was very very amazing. We saw the lion by hunt. If somebody want to buy beautiful picture, can do it by Benson Gitari, www. gitariarts.com or bgitari2000@yahoo.co.in. He painted for us 3 pictures, you can choose one from his album or from photo.We hope to travel one more to Kenya in future. People are very amiable and respectable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have visited Kaskazi Beach Hotel before and our second was just as lovely and memorable as our first. The rooms ALL have fabulous sea views - you rarely find that anywhere else (and it does't cost extra)
The staff were always friendly and helpful. The hotel has plenty of areas to sit and spend time, either with others or more privately, so you are not stuck with only one or two terraces to go to. for our children, there was a kids club with staff the children really liked. As parents we were able to have time to ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ukunda hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Diani House
Hotel Diani House
#18 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
3.6 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swahili Beach Resort
Swahili Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wayside Beach Apartment Hotel
Wayside Beach Apartment Hotel
#33 of 64 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
#8 of 64 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Diani Blue
Diani Blue
#3 of 64 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaskazi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaskazi Beach Hotel

Property: Kaskazi Beach Hotel
Address: Diani Beach South Rd, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Ukunda
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaskazi Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kaskazi Beach Hotel. Kaskazi Beach Hotel is a Four Star beach resort conveniently located in Kenya’s world famous South Coast on the Diani Beach line, and only a short walking distance from the beach area shopping centre, restaurants, and banks. The resort has been turning moments into memories for our guests for over 18 years. The resort's magnificent architecture (modeled after 5th century Sunni Arab palaces), coupled with the ingenious use of the landscape to create cascading ocean view terraces surrounded by hanging gardens makes it a one of a kind resort in all of the East African coast line. THE RESORT EXPERIENCE: Kaskazi Beach Hotel provides unparalleled options and unique experiences to our guests, from on foot beach tours exploring surrounding beaches and venues, to onsite resort experiences including three restaurants, three bars and lounges, all day long sports and activities provided by our entertainment team, nightly entertainment, a kid's club, and so much more. Other Activities: For sightseers and adventurers alike, guests will have ample "must do" activities such as swimming with wild dolphins at our neighbouring Wasini Island, visiting the ancient port city of Mombasa (Old Town) where one is taken back to a time long lost as the charming city retells its history through its ancient buildings, tiny streets laden with colourful shop fronts and restaurants, and of course, the famous remains of Fort Jesus. For those who want to explore the Diani Beach night life, take one of our resort’s taxi cabs to the famous Ali Barbour and The Forty Thieves beach bar and dance club located only a five minute drive from the resort. There you can dance under the stars and directly on the white sands of Diani Beach. Why choose this resort: The fact that over 50% of our guests are repeat guests who have come to Kaskazi Beach Hotel two to three times a year for over 18 years says a great deal about us. Otherwise, our great and all too caring staff who are always eager to assist you, our excellent cuisine (rated the best in the South Coast by Europe’s largest Travel Agency, TUI), our flexibility in Meal Plans (All-Inclusive or Half-Board), our extremely reasonable rates, and our convenient location, will ensure that you get everything and more than you expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Kaskazi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Kaskazi Beach Hotel Ukunda
Lti Kaskazi Beach Diani
Kaskazi Beach Hotel Kenya/Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing