We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALWAYS GLAD TO BE BACK.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ukunda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani
Save
You added Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Ukunda
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ALWAYS GLAD TO BE BACK.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have stayed at the Kole Kole 4 times in the last year and would go back again.
The hotel is set upon a huge area on the the pristine beaches of Ukunda.
What I love about this hotel is that it offers loads of activities for kids and adults alike. The resort is an amalgamation of three hotels (Kole Kole, Maridadi and Baobab) into one boasting more than three restaurants to choose from and three swimming pools as well.
The infinity pool at Kole Kole is the best for a sunset view over looking the beach while the pool at Maridadi is great for relaxing as it is always less busier and set over three tiers.. I am not a big fan of the pool at Baobab as it is too close to the reception area with no great views as such.
There are loads of activities during the day by the pool side and something every night for everybody to enjoy. The hotel is an all inclusive resort so once you are there you do not have any additional costs. There is breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks served through out the day.
The hotel also has a great spa located between Kole Kole and Baobab and is affordable.

I definitely recommend this for couples, families and a group of friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moiz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    117
    25
    4
    8
See reviews for
130
195
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

There is no other place i can go to if i want a great holiday in mombasa and for everyone to be entertained.
The Animation team is absolutely amazing and they work very hard to entertain the guest, the hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful, we went over easter break, the hotel many guests but the staff at the bar, restaurants and reception always catered to serve all in good timeframe.
I miss the pizza's at the kole kole, only one thing is they could add more items or choices for the pizza.
JUST PERFECT

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Wonderful ambience, friendly staff...many staff went out of their way to help. Just beware the beach boys and try to ignore. Food was amazing and plentiful. The bar staff never smile, but are helpful. Asante sana (thank you, very much) and karibu (welcome) are used in abundance. :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sowmya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Food
For a three night four day stay we for served fish on the buffet two days in a row. No chicken!!!
Bed linen and towels are old and needs a change!
The shower have lost their power and seem clogged.
Showers are not cleaned daily! I know this because I carried sea weed in my swim trunks and it stayed in the shower for three nights! Yuk
Animation team : good team
Kids will be busy all day!
All inclusive drinks choice : basic and no bottled beer. Only keg.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Parasaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Having been to numerous resorts in Mombasa, this is one of the best. Variety and quality of food, room size and comfort was excellent. Staff went that extra mile to make you feel special
The entertainment team were amazing - thank you for kick starting our exercise routine.
See you next year Kole Kole.

Room Tip: Kole Kole superior rooms were spacious. Mattress was a bit hard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cumberlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I think it may be best to start as the holiday started as there is alot to cram in.
After a long 9 hour flight in Premium, which was not worth the money on a standard aircraft but definately worth it on the Dreamliner which we had on the way back, we arrived at around 9am in stifling heat, it was a serious shock after leaving behind 4 degrees in London. You have to go through a rigorous check at the airport with fingerprints taken etc but then only a short distance to the coach (the boys WILL ask to take your luggage to the coach, let them and TIP THEM).
The journey to the hotel is long, bumpy and one heck of an eye opener, a serious culture shock and extremely humbling, the poverty puts everything back home into perspective.
The arrival at the hotel was stress free and no queing as you have your bags taken straight to your room where you can freshen up before your Arrival Meeting the following morning.
The comlex is huge, 3 seperate sections, The Baobab, The Kole Kole and The Maradidi, we stayed in the Kole Kole.
Our room was very large and we had a 4 poster bed with stunning Indian Ocean views, double sink and shower and lots of storage space. Rooms decorated to a minimal but beautiful standard, lots of authentic bespoke furniture, very classy.
We only had 2 nights at the hotel before we went on our 4 days Ndogo Safari but I will review that seperately.
The Restaurants all serve the same dishes but we stuck to the Jadari as it was much quieter and closer to our room. Food had an Indian flavour and was very tasty and hot, can't fault it at all. All the bars served local beer and spirits, the beer is only ever served in halves so keep your eye on your consumption, it is lethal at 45 degrees!
The Animation Team are just fabulous, they serve up daily and nightly entertainment and become your friends if you get involved in the activities, a credit to the Resort for their sheer hard work.
We braved the beach one day, not as bad as everyone thinks, just be prepared to get swarmed, but a polite and firm "No Thanks" gets the message across.
Monkey's......everywhere and such characters, if you come across daddy baboon, walk round him....you will know what I mean we you see him.....huge.
I have to say this is the best holiday I have ever experienced, I never wanted to go initially but I would go back time and time again, a very humbling experience, especially a day out at Footprints Orphanage, gorgeous, wonderful kids and Kerry is an inspiration

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike2Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in September for 10 nights for our honeymoon couldn't fault it at all just perfect.
We opted to stay in the Kole Kole part of the Baobab resort it didn't disappoint, the food was lovely with fresh pasta station at lunch and dinner.
The setting is unreal complete and utter paradise apart from the beach boys though we just ignored them and they didn't bother us at all.
Our room was lovely they had a bottle of wine for us upon our return from Safari along with rose petal turn down, a nice little touch.
The staff were unbelievably friendly as was everyone we met in Kenya, we took the 3 night/4 day safari through pollmans and we couldn't have been luckier with our safari driver syed his knowledge of the animals was second to none.
I would definitely stay here again as it is such an idyllic setting and I totally fell in love with Kenya and Africa as a whole!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ukunda hotels
5.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Swahili Beach Resort
Swahili Beach Resort
#11 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani

Property: Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani
Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
#8 Family Hotel in Ukunda
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani Hotel Ukunda
Kole Baobab Hotel Diani
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani Kenya/Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing