We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ukunda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Ukunda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very clean and comfortable hotel. I was blown away with the wonderful service and I had one of the best holidays of my life here. The beach is stunning but you do get very pestered so we gave up and stayed by the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 477 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a good hotel, very child friendly apart from the scary monkies! We had a good time and I can recommend this place for all. The service, the pool, the food, the accommodation, the beach was all good, the animation team was excellent! Overall a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: Room 1000 or 1001. These are facing the ocean.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ASHMombasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in Aug 2013 and had a very pleasant stay. There are quite a few different activities like aerobics & stretching, aqua aerobics, live play, kids' disco etc to keep the guests busy. The rooms are very spacious and there are different restaurants serving a wide variety of cuisines. The room service is a little slow. Its proximity to the airport and vast expanse ( there are 3 hotels within the property) are an added advantage.This resort is so popular with Indian that the resort serves Indian food on a daily basis which is an advantage for Indians .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amirup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

For all that I had heard about this resort, I was a bit disappointed. Service was just not upto the mark. Check in was slow, the walk to the room was really long. The room is very well done and spacious. There are lots of monkeys in the resort, hence no luxury of keeping the windows open. There were also too many insects and centipedes especially on the ground floor, which was a big turn off. Quality of food is really good. good choice for veggies too. Spa was good, but overpowered by music blasted from the nearby pool areas. Overall good, but nowhere close to 5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SiddharthVasudevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

2 weeks stay at the Kole Kole side of Baobab Beach Resort, with 4 day safari in the middle.
Best aspect - the staff....everyone, but everyone, was ALWAYS friendly, helpful and cheerful, from reception check in to gardeners and pool towel boys.
Worst aspect - no private beach. Beach sellers insistant but never threatening, just a right royal pain. (My wife and teenage daughter wouldn't go to the beach because of this, preferring to stay by one of the three pools). I used the beach every day but had to run the gauntlet of beach boys selling anything from key rings to safaris - just say no insistantly!
Accomodation was very acceptable - we had two double beds as a 3 person family room.
Buffet food and drink plentiful and fine for us but certainly not haute cuisine standards - this is Africa after all!
Beware of the monkeys - don't leave food or drink unattended, they will certainly pinch it!!
All in all, a very pleasant fortnight.

Room Tip: Kole Kole side noisier than
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigjules60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have just returned from our Honeymoon to Kenya. We stayed in the Kole Kole hotel at the Baobab Beach Resort in Diani Beach, Kenya.

Highlights
1) Hotel was exceptional
2) Room was superb. Staff cant do enough to help you
3) Choice of food in resturant is superb and would suit Veggie's.
4) Choice of three pools which are all superb
5) Diani Beach outside hotel is beautiful. Lagoon is amazing for swimming / snorkelling and sand bank visit which becomes available at low tide.
6) Visit to Footprint Orphanage in Shimba Hills. http://www.footprintsorphanage.com/
Kerry and the staff at Footprint are inspirations to anyone. 100% worth a visit.

Safari was booked independently with JT Safari. 10 out of 10 - I will be added a seperate review for the Safari http://www.julius-safaris.com/

Low Lights

1) Beach boys on Diani Beach. They will hassle you. But be stern.
2) Thomson Excursions are expensive. We paid US $110 per person for the Pilli Pipa boat trip to Marine National Park. This is very expensive for what you get.
3) Personally I would book all excursions independently as Thomson make money here. You can find it cheaper through independent links. (e.g. Safari through JT - see above).

NOTE: Check other Trip Advisor for further reviews which will confirm my points.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lezyloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel as part of a wedding party from 12-15th July. We checked into Kole Kole and were given one of the rooms on the top floor. The room size was good however as soon as we walked into the room, there was a bad drainage smell. In addition, the shower has no doors or shower curtains so no privacy! The shower itself was very poor. There was no water pressure - when we did complain to house keeping we were told it is due to the fact that we were on the top floor. However, a friend who was on the ground floor also had the same issue.

The food for lunch and dinner was poor quality. Tasteless and appeared as if the food had been recycled from the previous days. By the end of the 3 days, the majority of the guests at the wedding party suffered from food poisoning.

The beverage selection for the all inclusive was very poor. The beers were being poured from the Keg which was watered down. After 12 midnight, you have to pay for all drinks - the all inclusive does not apply!

Avoid this hotel - many other hotels around Diani

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shah2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ukunda hotels
5.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,338 reviews
2.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
607 reviews
1.6 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani

Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
#8 Family Hotel in Ukunda
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range: $166 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani Hotel Ukunda
Kole Baobab Hotel Diani
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani Kenya/Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing