We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ukunda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Ukunda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Very good hotel and accomodation, clean, spacious, good food with good choices for eveyone I would imagin for all meals. We preferred to eat in the main area of the Baobab restaurant as it gave the largest selection and fastest turn over of food so it wasn't sitting around being kept warm. The main selection of food is cooked by the chiefs pretty much as you wait. They make a big effort to change the appearance of the restaurant each evening with a different theme. Even the wine is drinkable and you can buy different if you wish.
Our room which we shared with our daughter (adult) was very spacious we had two queen size beds and plenty of room, the view and everything about the room was very good.
Overall the service with regards to the whole holiday was faultless, the people cannot do enough for your and I am confident if you had a problem it would be resolved as soon as possible (we had no problems)
Pool areas and sun beds all clean and spacious very good.
Its entertaing sitting by the pool just watching the wild life around you, including the polite monkeys and not so polite baboons who are so clever and funny (providing its not your doughnut they are trying to steal.) The guards are always vigilant and chase them away if needed.
We did a JT Safari which words cannot discribe (see seperate review) in a word awesome. A life enhancing experience excelent service, guide, lodges, transport and as for the animals wow......good value for money.
The beach boys if you are firm and don't enter into conversation will leave you alone, it is difficult because they are so poor and you do not want to offend them.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the suite upgrade
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1Norfolkdumplings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 477 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2011

We agree with all the previous 5* reviews. This really is a great hotel. Staff are friendly & helpful (Caroline from Maridadi was lovely - Jambo Caroline, if you are reading this), food is great, 3 buffet restaurants, 5 pools, nice room, large TV with lots of footie, great entertainment in Porini Amphitheatre (very well rehearsed and talented animation team). On the down side our matress was incredibly hard. When we complained it was replaced with a softer one immediately. We had been a bit concerned about some previous reviews that referred to pushy "beach boys" but our fears were unfounded. They were friendly and usually left you alone if you asked them too, or dropped appropriate hints! We don't visit the same holiday destination twice on principle (it's a big world out there) but we may make an exception this time. We did a dolphin "safari" for a day and did get to swim with these beautiful aquatic beasts, albeit briefly. The day did, however, involve excessive amounts of travelling on land and sea. Overall.......... we didn't want to leave........

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marinfullsuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

we went to This place and had the best time and could not find any fault. The place is clean and rooms are clean. The food was so good that we both put on weight .Great variety of food including Indian, Italian, English, Local and planty of fresh fruit . The chefts would cook things to our taste . Plenty of activies and a daily evening entertainment, The staff go out of their way to make your stay a pleasure . The resort is spread out over a large area and they have a quite bar and a quite pool area too
This is one of the best place we been to and would return again

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Binder58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I travelled alone with my 15 year old son on 21st October for 2 weeks, never been to Kenya and was a little nervous but hey I need not have been. The staff gave us a very warm "Jambo" welcome, hot cloths for our face and hands and a lovely drink of fruit juice. Hotel looks better than the pictures and the views from the bar and restaurant are breathtaking. Monkeys everywhere, so beware, they are funny but will pinch any snacks/food you may have and go in your bag without you knowing. There are 3 types of monkey on site including a very big baboon. A lizard joined me in the swimming pool and could not have cared less i was there and we had 2 very small lizards in our room, don't be afraid they don't harm you and are very cute. Our room was imaculately clean and we had clean towels every day and beds were made, we also had a flat screen tv with the equivalent of sky in kenya so my son was jumping up and down. The air conditioning was great but the rooms stayed cool all day so we just had it on for a bit on a night. Brilliant showers, we also had a hairdryer so no need to take one. Keep your windows shut though or you will have monkeys everywhere, ha ha. Restaurant has every type of food even for picky eaters and the choice was great. The staff are so cheerful and friendly and want you to enjoy your holiday. Bush babies were in the restaurant on a night in the roof space, lovely to watch and monkeys in the morning trying to pinch your breakfast. The views from all 3 restaurants are fabulous, it really is paradise. Animation team are great and they have shows every night in the Amphitheatre. I also booked a 3 day safari with J T Safaris, Julius was fantastic and sorted everything out for me, we stayed 1 night at the Ashnil Aruba and 1 night at the Kilaguna Serena, breathtaking views at both, fabulous food and great staff, lots of animals and reptiles and our driver Thomas from J T Safaris was fantastic, saw animals before we did. Saw the big 4/5 and got some fab footage and pics, Thomas was very knowledgeable about Tsavo East and Tsavo West and we had the best time. Julius rang while we were on safari to see if we were having a good time both days, he really cared that we had a good time. Didnt pay for the safari until the day after we got back and Julius sent a driver to pick us up from the hotel and gave us some wooden animal carvings, they were great. We also booked Pili Pipa trip and went snorkelling which Julius arranged and we had a fantastic time. Julius arranged for one of his drivers to take me to the New Diani Children Support Centre which is an orphanage in Ukunda, I had heard about the good work they were doing and they were in great need of any help, took pens, pencils, lots of sweets, maize meal and made a cash donation, was blown away by the children, they have lots of plans for the orphanage but desperately need help so please go if you can, you won't be disappointed. I would not recommend anyone but J T Safaris, Julius really wants you to have a good time and goes out of his way to make sure that you do and his staff are polite, curtious and speak perfect english. We enjoyed everything about our trip and would not change anything and will go back in 2/3 years time, it was the holiday of a lifetime. By the way Baobob has internet access so teenagers can access facebook etc, apparently a must when they are on holiday, ha ha.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tessa1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Where do I start? We have recently spent our honeymoon in the Kole Kole (part of Baobab Beach Resort)

Before travelling I upgraded our room as a suprise to the Suite in Kole Kole which was the most amazing room we have ever stayed in! and most certainly worth the money!

We have never encountered such wonderful people as those in this resort, every member of staff was friendly and helpful, they always had a smile on their face and the word 'Jambo' is something you can expect to hear an aweful lot.

The food was amazing with fresh fish and meats every day, we tried each of the three restaurants and found them all to be of very high standard from breakfast through to dinner!

The weather was amazing and even when it rained you took cover for 5 minutes tops and then sat back around the pool (this only happened 2 or 3 times in our 2 week stay!)

We were treated to a fruit basket and bottle of wine upon arrival as it was our honeymoon and then invited to a honeymooners dinner wher we were treated like royalty!

The surroundings of the hotel were amazing and the monkeys provided much entertainment, but dont worry, the staff are always on hand to shoo them away if they cause any problems.

The much talked about beachboys didnt really cause too much of a problem, they do spend all day on the beach (which is jaw dropping) but all they are trying to do is make a living by selling things that are hand made. All you need to do is explain that you are not buying anything today and they will leave you to continue your walk down the beach.
If you can take any pens/pencils etc with you from the UK then do so as these type of things are much sort after and sellers are often asking to explain a mere pen for anything they are selling! (we just gave them all the pens we had at the end of our holiday).

We ventured on a 2 day 1 night safari to TSAVO EAST. We had done our reasearch on this site before travelling and decided to book with JT Safaris (If you book please note to only book with JT SAFARIS (www.julius-safaris.com), many companies attempt to trade on the same or similar name. We had a private bus (me and my new wife) which was fantastic as everything went at our pace. JT picked us up from outside the hotel the day before our safari so that we could discuss where we were staying etc. On the day of the Safari we were met by our guide (Abdul) and began our trip. Many people had done the TSAVO East & West but everything we read said that all of the big 5 were spotted in the EAST so we decided to just go there which was the right decsion. Abdul was fantastic and thanks to his amazing eyes we saw over 20 lions! most people we spoke to didnt get to see any! If you are thinking about a safari then I certainly recommend JT, visit his website and send him an email, it is far better than being crammed into a bus full of people and then being over charged which is what appears to happen if going with the company recommended by the travel company. Once we were back from our Safari JT called us the next day and we arranged for him to pick us up to make payment, when we arrived at his office he gave us 3 wooden animal carvings which were beautiful.

All in all this has to go down as the best holiday destination so far and we would both strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank Stroodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

My wife and I have been in Kole Kole for honey moon. Nice place, nice room (we had a j.suite), nice gardens and emotionally moments with monkeys around. Staff very friendly (security) and very very good animation team (over all Georgia, Kaloume, Milton and Baya!!!) and teh boutique staff (Judy).
Unfortunately poor empathy from food and beverage department: a lot of food choise in the restaurant (jadori), but staff, mostly managers, not really helpfull. In Tangezi restaurant, poor starter (prowns cocktail) and frozen grilled lobetser. In the menu is not shown that this kind of food was frozen, otherwise we didn't go to this restaurant (out of all inclusive) to eat. And when we asked the chance to have it boiled, waiter said not. ??At the end we complained for being dissatisfieds and the chief said he could cook the lobster however we wanted. Risult, poor 10% off, advanced by one manager on duty. After a holiday of 11 nights!!! The day after I went to Jadori with shorts. Maitre sent me to my room telling me tath dressing was not allowed for the dinner. I respect rules, but every day I saw lot of other people during dinner time with shorts. Included thet day and when I told him, maiter answerd was not possibile, not having a look into restaurant room where four guys were dressed with shorts.
Not friendly the bar staff next to the pool. Reception staff as well.
I think this is not at all a 5 star hotel. More empathy to the gustes and more felxibility could make forget somthing wrong.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmanunza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed in the Kole Kole wing at the Baobab from the beggining of Sept for two weeks, we had the end room on the first floor & from what we saw it was slightly more spacious than the others on our block. Transfers were fine the ferry took 10 minutes in total but the airport experience is not something I would wish to repeat. As soon as you get off the plane you have to scrabble round for your visa & then we waited in line for about 2hrs total, they certainly take their time. Anyway besides that minor inconvenience if was all good when we finally got on the bus & on our way.
Everyone you meet is really happy & friendly & go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
The resort is a lot bigger than we first thought but each area feels quite intimate, the quietest bit is the Mariadadi (not sure if that's spelt right) this is where we went quite a lot to relax in the morning & have lunch there. The Kole Kole is very busy & there seems to be something going on all the time which is great if you want to be really sociable & play games.
We had our aniversary in the first week & booked a meal at the Kole Kole al a carte restaurant which specialised in seafood. The meal was smashing & we had it all to ourselves which was quite nice.
All in all it was a fantastic holiday didn't get one mosquito bite but then we used expedition strength 100% DEET so I don't think anything would've touched us & we did stop taking the Malarone after the first few days as we starting feeling very anxious & a bit depressed, not what you want on a holiday.
Food was excellent I would say it was the best out of all the all inclusive places we have been so far even the Maldives.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheDimples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ukunda hotels
5.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,339 reviews
2.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
608 reviews
1.6 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani

Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
#8 Family Hotel in Ukunda
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
Price Range: $166 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani Hotel Ukunda
Kole Baobab Hotel Diani
Kole Kole - Baobab Resort Diani Kenya/Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing