We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful welcoming with fabulous meals and arranged activities to suit”
Review of Loldia House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loldia House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We have visited Loldia House on eight visits over the years and never fail to enjoy the warm welcome of Peter the Manager and his Staff. The relaxing atmosphere is to be recommended ,and especially the evening dining guests together in the lovely Lounge with drinks at a roaring fire,followed by a delightful meal in the Dining Room with the Peter as host.
During the day an excellent breakfast with freshly made pancakes and muffins fruit,eggs,bacon -your choice ,lunch is very good or if on a visit elsewhere a packed lunch is supplied also very tempting.We saw three Leopards on a night Game Drive which was wonderful,and visits are available to Lake Nakhuru and elsewhere. A sail on the Lake Naivasha is exceptional.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtoto_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 166 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

Very friendly and efficient staff, and great food. Peter, the manager, is a great host with a fabulous sense of humour. The situation of the hotel is wonderful with animals on view all around. It is exciting and a privilege being in the middle of the animal world. I stayed in the Lodge up the hill from the hotel. It is superbly sited and fitted with great views over the lake. We were able to take a boat ride on the lake and see hippos and other wildlife. We then flew from there in to the Masai Mara.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

There are two ways to get to Loldia from Nairobi, by plane, about 30 minutes from Wilson airport or by car, about 2 ½ to 3 hours. I have done both. The plane is easier and quicker but you miss out on the drive though the Kenyan countryside and the views over the Great Rift Valley. If you want to feel and see the country then by car is my preference. For me holidays are all about the experience.

Loldia is a wonderful old house on the shores of Lake Naivasha. The accommodation is in wonderful cottages or rooms within the house. Loldia very quickly becomes a home rather than a lodge. Peter is the ‘Best butler in the world’. Nothing is too much trouble for Peter and his staff and from the moment you arrive to when you leave you are spoilt and pampered. The food is superb, however Loldia is NOT a place to visit if you wish to diet. It is ideal if you want a couple of days relaxing or visiting the various lakes such as Nakuru to see the flamingos and rhinos.
You will be reluctant to leave and will want to stay forever.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LongHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Well where to start, when you drive into Loldia you are greeted by lush, beautiful surroundings overlooking Lake Naivasha, and Mt Longonot.

We cannot do the place justice in words suffice to say this is one place in Kenya that both me for many a year and, now my partner has witnessed for the very first time the tranquil nature and if there is anywhere that will take your mind off the monotony of the Urban sprawl then this is it.

On arrival you're greeted by Peter. Now Peter is the Manager, but certainly is more the Kenyan man I know from old, charming, charismatic and to top it off he has an infectious laugh to boot.

Everyone in the house from Peter to the staff effortlessly keep everyone happy, topped up with drinks and fed beyond your needs. This neatly brings me to the food.
When you arrive you are asked if you have any food allergies, a nice touch if I may say so and given you are in the middle of nowhere we couldn't fault the food, its presentation and taste above all was delightful and, hasten to add that don't go there expecting haute cuisine, if you do then you should be staying in a Hotel in an Urban jungle not Loldia.

The eating experience is one of sharing, all seated around a long table for breakfast and lunch overlooking the lake and then in the evening in the cosy dining room, with artwork adorning all the walls both there and in the lounge area, all these by a local artist who lives just around the corner from the main house, a healthy bank balance is required for the originals.

The accommodation is in my mind just right for the surroundings, and serves its purpose well and with all accommodation being located in and around the main house you can't really get lost, but rather use the whole area as if it is your own.

I think perhaps to sum up the entire stay is too difficult a task to do but, I will say one thing book up and make sure you take the day trip (including picnic) to Lake Nakuru and the national Park, home to 0000's of flamingoes and indeed Rhino, buffalo, giraffe, lion and spectacular views.

Thanks Peter

Mark & Sarah

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BwanaKimbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This was our 2nd visit to Loldia House within a year. This time we stayed there for 3 nights at the start of our safari in the Masai Mara.

Peter and the staff remembered us and catered for us very well while we were there. We had not pre-booked a cottage this time so we had a different room adjacent to the main house, which was good, but not quite as "wow" as the cottages. We would recommend the cottages for anyone wishing to visit.

We visited Lake Nakuru while we were there and our guide Samuel was a really good driver.

The local schoold which is sponsored by Loldia House is well worth a visit - very humbling and uplifting at the same time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leopards_cheetahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

A tranquil, cozy house that made us feel as though we were living in the film "Out of Africa". The staff is wonderful, the setting is beautiful, and the nature activities are plentiful. The house is rustic but cozy and comfortable. You can walk the grounds and observe zebra, antelope, impala, buffalo, and hippo on Lake Naivasha. We even spotted a leopard at dusk. Don't worry, no crocs in this lake. Bird watchers paradise. Afternoon tea and 3 course meals prepared by a superb chef make you feel pampered. They even have a friendly lab retriever in case you miss your pet while on holiday. Take the day safari to Lake Nakuru to see the rhinos and other wildlife. A memorable place to stay. Downside: some mosquitoes from the lake in the evening, but easily managed with proper clothing and a little repellent.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueRidgeTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

I can only echo the comments made in other reviews. Loldia is a small and intimate lodge on the shore of Lake Naivasha where you can just sit and enjoy the sights and sounds of the wildlife - as well as the wonderful hospitality of Peter and his team. We had a great day's game and flamingo viewing at Lake Nakuru - and really enjoyed the opportunity of a nighttime game drive and seeing the 'Kenyan kangaroo'! We also did a couple of short walks with a guide from the lodge - although if you want to see much we would recommend leaving Scottie the dog at home, as he does love to run after the dik diks. We were unfortunately not able to take a boat trip out on the lake, as there is currently a large expanse of water hyacinth and other plants at the edge of the lake, which makes it impossible to get a boat out.

Peter is an excellent host and really looks after his guests - make sure you go before he has to retire (if they ever allow him to that is)! We had a room in the cottage, which was delightful, and even though it was not particularly cold, the log fire in our room at night was lovely. The food, most of which comes from the farm in which the lodge sits, was of a very high standard and the brioches and pancakes at breakfast must get a special mention. We only spent a couple of days at Loldia, but I am sure we came away several pounds heavier!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Owner at Loldia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
3.5 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
7.5 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
4.3 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#7 of 41 in Naivasha
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 41 in Naivasha
217 reviews
10.7 mi away
Chui Lodge
Chui Lodge
#3 of 41 in Naivasha
149 reviews
7.6 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Naivasha
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loldia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loldia House

Address: Naivasha 20117, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loldia House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Loldia House you’ll experience the life of Kenya’s early settlers. Loldia House is an ideal spot to relax, taste the pleasures of Kenyan country life and explore the Great Rift Valley. There are beautiful views of the dormant volcano, Mount Longonot. Wild animals roam free on the farm and in the evenings hippo munch quietly by the waterside. Loldia House is only a two hour drive from Nairobi and within easy reach of Nairobi’s International Airport. It is a perfect place from which to begin your exciting safari holiday around Kenya. It is also conveniently located for day trips to the famous Lake Nakuru National Park. There are now also daily flights on Governors Aviation direct from Loldia House to the Masai Mara. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loldia House Hotel Naivasha
Loldia House Naivasha, Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing