We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Serene .... with the occasional hippo!”
Review of Loldia House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loldia House
Certificate of Excellence
Chepstow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Serene .... with the occasional hippo!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Jambo! A superb way to start a most amazing experience. A wonderful welcome from George & his lovely smile at the airport & a drive starting with the hustle & bustle of Nairobi followed by awe inspiring scenery of the Rift Valley & then the absolute serenity of Loldia House. It is like going back in time to colonial Kenya. The house & rooms were simple but full of character. The gardens were beautiful with the view of Lake Naivasha. Having hippos, buffalo, impala, baboons etc within a stones throw is a thrilling experience & you felt very safe with the subtle but present security. Not to mention the variety of birdlife. All the staff were amazing. The service was wonderful & they were always willing to chat with a smile. The manager, Heather, was superb. She was very hands on & down to earth. She made you feel at home straight away. The food was very good & a lot of it. Our guide, Evans, was friendly & knowledgeable & we had a brilliant time on the trips. Lake Nakuru National Park is a great introduction to the wildlife & the boat trip with the thousands of flamingos was out of this world. We stayed two nights & absolutely loved it. Definitely could have stayed longer as there was more to see. There is honestly nothing we didn't like. It is a special place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisbnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
71
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We enjoyed stays at three Governor’s Lodges in Kenya and are very happy to review all of them individually, but at the outset would like to compliment the owners on three very different settings and styles. All shared in common the wonderful staff, magnificent settings, and excellent food.

As others have commented, Loldia House has a colonial feel enhanced by the communal pre-dinner drinks and shared dinner table. Not always the most sociable folk on holiday we were unsure how this would work for us, but it enhanced our stay superbly. Hosted by Rachael conversation never dulled and remained interesting throughout.

Our days, (and evenings plus one night tour) were filled with various trips to see the abundant wildlife in the area, and we never failed to spot something spectacular thanks to our marvellous driver, Jacob.

However, it would be wrong to single out individuals as all the staff were brilliant. Everyone sought to make our stay very special, and just could not do enough for us.

And then there was the lakeside location….and the wonderful food with fresh vegetables from the adjoining farm….and…..

Suffice to say, when we left we left paradise.


Thank you, and please may we return?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeMaybury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Loldia House was everything we expected and more. The setting was stunning, beautifully kept gardens. That fabulous tree under which breakfast and lunch were served. Heather was fantastic, soooo efficient !! All the staff were lovely, Simon, Peter, and our special guide Sammy, who was so knowledgeable and such a joy to be with. We stayed in the cottage which required a drive down to the main house, and some may say they feel a bit isolated up there but we just felt so special as Sammy and Peter were always on hand for our every need. Every night Peter would light the fire and put hot water bottles in the bed, then wake us in the morning with coffee, heaven! There could be no better place to stay in Kenya!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral Merseyside
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My sister and I started our Kenyan Safari holiday with 2 nights at Loldia House, I wish it had been longer - next time it will be. From being collected at the "airstrip" by Sammy, taken on a short game drive (would have been longer only Heather was holding lunch for us) and seeing our first Dik-dik, we felt very much at home. Lunch was wonderful, gazpacho soup, red snapper (the best I've ever tasted) with a lovely glass of wine, followed by pudding and cheese and biscuits. All meals at Loldia are 5 star - thanks to all the catering and serving staff - you all do a wonderful job and are clearly proud of what you do and where you work. We stayed in the Cottage which is wonderful, the views are superb, we were well looked after by Peter who always made sure the fire was lit and there was a hot water bottle in our beds. Make sure you visit Lake Nakuru, the only place nowadays where you'll see rhino. Thank you Sammy for being so in tune with us during our game drives - you always knew when to slow down or stop for that camera shot - our pictures are amazing. We shall definitely be returning next year for a longer stay - can't wait!!!

Room Tip: We loved our cottage and would certainly ask for it again, spectacular views of Lake Navaisha, parti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilaryH1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudjimba, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

These lodgings take you back to the old world charm of yesteryear. The wildlife abounds around and everything is so serene and peaceful. Hospitality was great even from the resident golden labrador, Scottie. Unfortunately the flamingoes were not as abundant due to heavy rainfalls, but went to an island, where there are no big predators and got to run with giraffes (although my boyfriend tells me it was more like chasing giraffes lol), an experience I will never forget. Thankyou Heather.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilloutkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Heather was efficient and a pleasure to be around. The driver Evans knew so much about the wildlife and birds. We were pampered and spoiled. An amazing start to our safari. The food was wonderful and our servers were well trained. It was a pleasure to stay here with our family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamabear1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Many of the other reviews have summed up Loldia so well, I will just try to add a few bits.

We weren't quite sure what to expect having not been on safari before. Loldia House was approx 2.5 hours pleasant drive from Nairobi. Met on arrival by the amazing Heather who sorts you out! Loved her no fuss and practical school ma'am attitude organising you to pre dinner drinks at 7pm in the sitting room by the log fire listening to the history of the house and the family.

We stayed in the main house room 1 which was just how I would expect a colonial room to be. Super comfy bed and nice touch with the hot water bottles.

Food and service was amazing...red snapper the best we've tasted! Picnic on the game drive was superb.

All day game drive at Lake Nakuru -research the best time of year for flamingo if this is important to you as we did not see this huge spectacular in July. Jacob our driver and guide was wonderful as were all the staff.

Airstrip to Masai Mara was on experience....they send a guy on a bike to ride up and down to scare off the zebra etc.

Really enjoyed our time here and a nice introduction to colonial Kenya.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pernickety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
7.5 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
3.5 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
8.1 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 40 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#10 of 40 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
7.6 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
6.7 mi away
Elsamere
Elsamere
#7 of 40 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loldia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loldia House

Property: Loldia House
Address: Naivasha 20117, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loldia House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Loldia House you’ll experience the life of Kenya’s early settlers. Loldia House is an ideal spot to relax, taste the pleasures of Kenyan country life and explore the Great Rift Valley. There are beautiful views of the dormant volcano, Mount Longonot. Wild animals roam free on the farm and in the evenings hippo munch quietly by the waterside. Loldia House is only a two hour drive from Nairobi and within easy reach of Nairobi’s International Airport. It is a perfect place from which to begin your exciting safari holiday around Kenya. It is also conveniently located for day trips to the famous Lake Nakuru National Park. There are now also daily flights on Governors Aviation direct from Loldia House to the Masai Mara. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loldia House Hotel Naivasha
Loldia House Naivasha, Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing