We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”
Review of Loldia House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loldia House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Perfect place to start a honeymoon. Beautiful property, amazing food and exceptional service. Luckily for us, we were the only people on the property, and received full attention from the staff. The food here is amazing, the chef Bernard was very good I would reccommend this place to anybody and everybody. The manager Heather will make sure everything you want is available to you. If you are going to Lake nakuru, make Loldia your base. Also, the air strip is 5 minutes from the property incase you are flying out to Masai Mara.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bravo21585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 165 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

When a property has so many 5 star reviews you wonder whether to bother adding to them. Nevertheless it seems only fair to Heather, Sammy, William, Gilbert and the rest of the team to reassure the next visitors that standards remain very high. We spent 5 nights at Loldia and would encourage others to see it as a destination in its own right, not just a stopping off point between Nairobi and the Mara. We were fully occupied, visiting Lake Nakuru, Lake Olodien for the boat trip, a rose farm, Hells' gate NP, Mount Longonot NP (walked to the top and all the way round, 13.5km), Crater Lake, Crescent Island... the park fees do add up quite quickly, so be prepared, but you can pay in advance and get the Wildlife Service Smart Card which makes it less painful!

We stayed in the original 1940s house itself which was lovely- a six-foot long bath!- and the staff were excellent. The food was execllent- it's difficult to get used to not having mini-pancakes at breakfast back home or delicious homemade quiches at lunchtime. As guests, we felt that the staff would provide what we wanted, when we wanted it if they possibly could. Going out early, at 6am for a long trip? Of course we'll serve you a proper breakfast on the verandah at 5.30am. And bring you a cup of tea in bed at 5.15am! And get you a tea or a beer when you get back...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlpineMan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Loldia House January 2 - 4, 2013. This was a lovely little bit of luxury between staying at two camps on our first trip to Kenya. From the moment we arrived and were welcomed by James, the acting manager, and the resident lab, Scotty, we were delighted with our experience. Our cottage was large and very comfortable, and coming back each evening to find our beds turned down, hot water bottles in the bed, and a fire burning in our room was such a treat. And mornings were always begun with the arrival of coffee and biscuits to our room - it doesn't get any nicer than sitting on our little porch overlooking the lake and enjoying that first cup of coffee. The main house is beautiful and we so enjoyed meeting our fellow guests and sharing stories in the beautiful lounge each evening with pre-dinner drinks and snacks, as well as the communal dining in the diningroom. The food was very, very good and beautifully prepared and presented. Breakfast and lunch was served on the lawn and always the service from the very capable and friendly staff was perfect.

The location of Loldia House overlooking the lake over manicured lawns, whilst eland wander by, and seeing the impala settling in for the night on the lawn each night, along with an occasional hippo spotting, was fabulous. We didn't take advantage of a trip to Lake Nakuru in our short time there, but did do a day trip with Sammy out on the lake where we saw many flamingoes and other water birds, as well as hippo, and then went on to Hell's Gate National Park, which is quite lovely. Sammy was a wonderful guide and we enjoyed spending the day with him, as well as sharing a lovely picnic lunch in the Park which had been packed by the hotel for us.

All in all, this was a very relaxing and welcome stay for us, and we would definitely recommend Loldia House!

Room Tip: We were in a cottage away from the main house at the end of the property and quite enjoyed the locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovesthesun-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We didn't want to leave! Loldia House was wonderful in every way. Our host, Heather was welcoming and helpful with every aspect of our stay. All the staff were charming and friendly especially Sammy our guide/driver who met us off the plane from Nairobi and spent the next 3 days showing us everything in the area including a wonderful day trip to Lake Nakuru. The food was exceptional including our picnic lunch. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip to the flower farm and to see the milking cows at the next door farm.Our room was lovely with a fantastic view of the fabulous gardens and the lake. Everywhere was spotless and the beds were very comfortable. We really enjoyed eating with the other guests and chatting with Heather over drinks or tea and cake! A huge thank you to all the staff for making our stay so wonderful and many thanks to Heather for sending my mother's hat down to the Mara on the plane!! This place is peaceful, relaxing and pure heaven! The bird life is exceptional and everyone went out of their way to make our stay memorable in every way.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

One of the reasons for visiting this neck of the woods is to take in the beauty and enormity the of bird life especially in the area of Lake Nakuru. It is a long drive from Loldia but worth every minute to experience this extraordinary park. If you are particularly interested in the bird life make sure, in fact insist, that the person who takes you there has some knowledge of the birds.

Loldia is in a most beautiful relaxing space and environment.There are some beautiful rooms however probably due to space I was disappointed to be allocated what to was to me, probably its most basic.It was however very comfortable and housekeeping was more than excellent. I sometimes find as a single man who travels alone that sometimes you are less of a priority. Although it classifies itself in the luxury product range there was a bit of groups in/groups out mentality with regard to its operation. It was probably timing but it was very obvious.

The staff are fantastic. The food is wonderful, the surrounds magnificent,it was a great start to a first African adventure. I would highly recommend it . I had a wonderful time. Consider 3 nights as opposed to 2 just to use one day to chill relax and enjoy the lovely flowers, lawns and sights and sounds

Room Tip: make sure you know the room type. double bedded rooms are more spacious and comfortable than twin be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent two nights at this delightful and restfull lodge on our visit to several of the Governors camp facilities in Kenya .
Our host and his team were superb and we can't speak to highly of this particular location.
The food was superb,the location on the lake outstanding and,the staff were incredible and so friendly
If you are on a tour of Kenya and need a diversion whilst still being surrounded by wildlife and a variety of interests the this is the place to go

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bungalow and it was Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackwellMichaelhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Lolida House was amazing. We had the best ever butler and staff. The food was amazing. Starting with breakfast on the verandra of the main house, then packed lunch for our game drive to Lake Nakuru , on return in the afternoon cake and tea was serviced in the garden. Evening meals were served in the main house around a large table in the dinning room with other travellers sharing our daily experiences and travels. It isn’t just about the dinning, our quaint cottage overlooked the lake. There were monkeys in the trees and wildlife every which way you looked even a small hippo on the lake. We participated in an educational afternoon walk around the property with a guide explaining the fauna and animals habitat in the area. During our first night drive we saw a Leopard. That was fantastic trying to locate animals with the spot light. At Lolida House nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: cottage near the homestead over looking the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dellobears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musiara, Manager at Loldia House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your time with us at Loldia House your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a fantastic stay with us. We will pass your lovely feedback onto Heather and the rest of the team who will highly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

The Loldia House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
7.5 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
3.5 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
4.3 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#6 of 41 in Naivasha
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 41 in Naivasha
209 reviews
7.6 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
861 reviews
6.7 mi away
Elsamere
Elsamere
#9 of 41 in Naivasha
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loldia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loldia House

Address: Naivasha 20117, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loldia House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Loldia House you’ll experience the life of Kenya’s early settlers. Loldia House is an ideal spot to relax, taste the pleasures of Kenyan country life and explore the Great Rift Valley. There are beautiful views of the dormant volcano, Mount Longonot. Wild animals roam free on the farm and in the evenings hippo munch quietly by the waterside. Loldia House is only a two hour drive from Nairobi and within easy reach of Nairobi’s International Airport. It is a perfect place from which to begin your exciting safari holiday around Kenya. It is also conveniently located for day trips to the famous Lake Nakuru National Park. There are now also daily flights on Governors Aviation direct from Loldia House to the Masai Mara. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loldia House Hotel Naivasha
Loldia House Naivasha, Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing