We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and indifferent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tired and indifferent”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Rooms at Lake Naivasha are in need of a refresh - they are tired and gloomy looking. The hotel is on the lakeside and the rooms look out on a large lawn that stretches down towards the lake edge. We lunched on the lawn with friends visiting from Nairobi, and service was a little slow. At night you are warned to seek a security guard to escort you to and from your room because of the hippos which can wander the grounds and have been known to be aggressive. Before dinner we tried to ring for an escort but the telephone didn't work so we had to chance it, fortunately without incident. When I reported this the following morning to reception there was no apology, just confirmation that it would be looked into. Our travelling companions, and another couple, had difficulty with toilets that wouldn't flush, and had a similar response when reporting these faults.

Room Tip: Rooms stretch around the grounds in small chalets. Inclement weather would make the trip to the cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dig2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    182
    87
    24
    14
See reviews for
150
128
13
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We arrived at the Lake Naivasha Country Club and we were immediately greeted with cold towels and a refreshing drink. Before checking in we went for a lovely lunch on a beautifully expansive lawn. The rooms were adequate but did not have a fan or A/C and were relatively small and dark- nothing special.

Later on having returned from a boat trip we went for a drink in the bar before dinner. For a lodge with such an excellent location the bar was cramped with a tv blaring loudly in the background which really spoiled the ambience. The staff did not seem eager to please and most of the time were expressionless making you feel an inconvenience.

Our evening meal was what really let the lodge down. The food was cold, the chicken dish being served was mostly bone and there wasn't a great deal of choice albeit the food available was quite tasty despite being cold. We also ordered the same wine which we had drank at the bar only to be told that they had run out and actually we had been served a different wine to wait we had ordered in the bar. They should have told us they were serving a different wine to what we had ordered.

To top it all off, when ordering coffee it took 20minutes to bring out the coffee granules and pots of water and a subsequent 10minutes to bring the hot milk only to establish that they had provided ground filter coffer not instant which was not possible to mix so we gave up with coffee. The staff didn't seem to have a clue.

One of the highlights of staying at the lake navasha country club was seeing a hippo on the lawn at night. On our request the security men woke us up when the hippos had emerged from their pool which was really special. It seemed the security guards were the most friendly staff at the lodge.

Overall the experience of staying at Lake Naivasha Country Club was disappointing when comparing to other lodges we had stayed at in Ambosseli and Maasai Mara. The staff were not welcoming and we were glad only to be there for 1 night. The manager did give us a free bottle of wine to compensate us for the issues experienced, however I would imagine there are better lodges in the area to go to.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Arriving at the Country Club being met by a wildeebeast and waterbucks is a great experience. The lawns are secluded with monkeys jumping around freely and colorful birds accompanying the guests. Add great food, friendly staff and a lovely lakeview to the mix and the Country Club could have been the ultimate relaxing resort.

What keeps the score from a clear 5 for us was related to the room; the phone did not work (so we could not call reception for our mandatory Masai warrior to protect us against hippos), there was no internet that worked, no blankets made for a cold experience and the bathroom has clearly seen better days. Fixing these things will make this a top end resource with good value for money in expensive Kenya.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirtz, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We were only there one night. Nice place, very beautiful. Food was so-so but ample. The room was comfortable and clean but showing age. Great shower. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Another stop on our safari tour! We were told when we arrived that we had been given a free upgrade to the luxury tents! Unfortunately it had rained heavily that afternoon and being a lake resort the mosquitoes and midgies were out in force and being tents this meant they were in them too. The temperature had also dropped significantly and one of our tents was leaking in the bathroom. We reported our concerns to the receptionist and proceeded to dinner. Dinner was exceptional and the service very hospitable. Towards the end of our meal we were surprised we had not heard back about our concerns and asked to see the manager, the receptionist came again and said she had put hot water bottles in our rooms and sprayed for the bugs. We explained that this was not acceptable as 1. we just had not wanted to stay in the tents and 2. having severe asthma I can not tolerate bug spray. Eventually the manager came and immediately came and saw to our concerns and moved us to the lodges. It then became apparent why they did not want to put us in these in the first place, as others have said, they are comfortable but in need of some TLC. Generally the service of all staff was very good, unfortunately this one receptionist was a disappointing exception and failed to listen to our concerns or care in the slightest.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicnac2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I recently stayed here for a work conference. It is a beautiful location with friendly staff.

There are two sets of rooms here: the older hotel-style rooms and the luxury tents. It is like staying at two different hotels.

The older rooms really show their age and are kind of run down. The bathrooms are in need of updating and the walls show water damage.

The other option is the "luxury" tents that are closer to the water. These are fantastic. The structure is made of canvas and screen, but the rest is like a resort room -- electricity, running water, and all wood furniture. The rooms can get a little cool in the evenings and mornings, but the hotel has a turn-down service with hot water bottles to heat the sheets. (It does take a while for the hot water to start flowing.) The tents put you close to nature and the lake. You can hear the hippos, monkeys, birds, etc. It's a lot of fun for people who want to "rough it" part of the way.

There is a large selection of food at the restaurant. There are plenty of vegetarian options, as well.

The one warning: there was almost no internet access (wifi or otherwise) for most of the week. If you are hoping to stay in touch with business or family, be prepared to go for days without internet.

Room Tip: Go for the tents!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dctraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
211 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The good: Lake Naivasha Country Club has beautiful grounds, where you can go for a walk in the morning, enjoy lunch at outdoor tables, have drinks around a campfire in the evening, and see hippos close-up late at night. Water bucks, wildebeest, exotic birds and several types of monkeys roam the grounds freely. You can also take boats right from the hotel dock to an island in the lake. The food – and 3 meals a day were included in our package, all served buffet-style – was absolutely fantastic. There were always vegetarian, vegan, and gluten-free options, including beautiful salads, Indian dals and curries at lunch and dinner, and bountiful fresh fruits. Breakfast included all types of croissants and donuts, a variety of vegetables and beans, cold cereals, fruit, yogurt, and an omelet bar. The hotel also has an outdoor pool and conference rooms of all sizes. The staff are all very nice and helpful.

The bad: The rooms have not been well kept up, with mismatched and worn furniture, few amenities (my room did have a mosquito net, safe, empty refrigerator, desk, hotpot, and hair dryer), and bathrooms that leave something to be desired. Hot water is unreliable. You should definitely bring a good flashlight, as the grounds are not well-lit at night and it can be difficult to navigate your way back to your room, although they do suggest that you be accompanied by a security guard in the event that wild animals are in your path. The internet is out of service far more than it is in service, and completely unreliable. The gym is almost laughable – equipment that is decades old and wasn’t well-made to begin with. The pool has chips and stains that make you think twice about going in. And if you’re considering the “luxury camp” near the edge of the lake, beware of mosquitoes: the tents are on wooden planks right over a swamp. It’s pretty, but I’d be very worried about malaria.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCDolcevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
10.0 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
0.4 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
773 reviews
11.5 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 41 in Naivasha
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
#1 of 41 in Naivasha
837 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sweet Lake Resort
Sweet Lake Resort
#6 of 6 in Naivasha
26 reviews
9.9 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#9 of 41 in Naivasha
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels

Property: Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
Address: South Lake Road, Naivasha 20117, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the top of the escarpment of the Great Rift Valley you can see Lake Naivasha sparkling in the sun thousands of feet below. Just an hours drive from Nairobi, Naivasha is one of the gems in a necklace of Rift Valley lakes. Perfect for both active and leisure travelers, Lake Naivasha Country Club offers an abundance of activities to please all visitors to Nairobi, Kenya. The resort dates back to the 1930s and has since been transformed into a sprawling 55-acre property with a variety of accommodations and guest facilities, including cottages, a swimming pool, and sumptuous gourmet dining. For adventurers, the nearby Crescent Island is a haven for zebras, wildebeest, gazelles, and giraffes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Country Hotel
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing