We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
Nearby Hotels
$228
$200
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sawela Lodges(Naivasha)
$209
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$350
$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge(Lake Nakuru National Park)
$185
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Ark(Aberdare National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveler rating
256
207
95
29
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
207
95
29
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake naivashawild animalsboat rideluxury tentscrescent islandtented campbeautiful groundsrooms were very cleansafari triphot waterwater buckbird watchingfood was greathippos grazinglunch and dinnerswimming poolenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 601 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lake Naivasha is beautiful with a great variety of water birds & hippos.
Stayed at the Naivasha Country Club which is on the lake. It has well maintained lawns and lovely trees
Well appointed rooms – but the bathrooms need some maintenance. The shower did not have pressure and the bund leaked – making the whole bathroom wet. Hot water was at a premium – the shower had to be running at least for 7-10 minutes before the hot water came. What a waste of water.
Fresh towels were provided every day. Toiletries not very good quality.
The room was a bit small – not enough space to keep luggage but the cupboard was adequate to hang clothes & keep shoes.
The windows cannot be kept open because of mosquitoes and since there is no screen on them the room gets very claustrophobic. The bathroom does not have an exhaust and tends to stink up as the windows do not open.

Staff was helpful but not smiling or friendly. Food quality was alright but not enough – the dishes were not refilled and you just had to go without the items that finished.

Boat ride around the lake is recommended if you are interested in birds. The Crescent Island safari on foot is completely avoidable. The animals are the same as in the reserve and nothing special about the landscape.

Room Tip: Take a windcheater / jacket & head scarf / warm cap its very chilly mornings & evenings.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prabharao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here as part of a group of 21 for 2 nights.
Arriving late afternoon, we were all entranced by the evening chorus of birds and all rushed to drop our things in our rooms and explore the gardens and see the bird-life in the hour we had before it became too dark. Fantastic.

The setting is truly magical with great birdlife, extensive gardens, lakeside border and no fences. Wildebeeste and small antelope roam freely around the grounds as well as hippo, the latter mostly at night. Sadly we did not spend enough time on the property during daylight hours to fully experience these aspects.

Guards with torches roam the grounds day and night to ensure the safety of guests and can be called to escort you at night if you wish to move around. They were also very helpful on our first night when some of the group wanted to see hippo and knocked on the doors of several cottages when 2 hippo started wandering around the garden and then guided us to watch from a safe distance. They even took note of time limits set by some who did not want to lose too much beauty sleep.
At 2am after hearing a noise, we looked out of our window and saw 12 hippo grazing in front of our cottage. The lawns must have been cleaned very early in the morning as there was no evidence of the hippos' night fertilisation when we went for breakfast at 6.30!

The rooms (little cottages consisting of bedroom, dressing area and bathroom plus verandah) were comfortable and adequate, if a little small. Bathrooms were ok but the hot water took a very long time to emerge in the shower, and due to the arrangement of the shower and taps, this meant that you first had an icy shower. Maintenance in the bathroom was poor, which we advised on our feedback form.

Like some of the other recent reviewers, we were on a full board deal. The food was ok, but not great. Breakfast was very challenging for non-egg-eating vegetarians - choice of toast and jam or cereal. (More than half of our group were vegetarian which had been advised when booking). One morning there was not even butter available as they had "run out". I then asked the bemused waiter to bring me some olive oil for my toast, which he did, but it took quite some time.
The packed lunch that we received was very poor, even when makng allowances for the order only having been placed the night before. 4 pieces of fruit, a sanwich about the size of a dainty finger sandwich and a similar sized piece of cak and some water.
The restaurant were short of staff, so service was slow and although they were obliging, many of them appeared to be new and untrained.
We too were surprised that we had to pay extra for coffee after supper, so declined to have it.
Like the restaurant, reception was also not adeqautely staffed, meaning long waits.

We have given an overall rating of average due to the food and maintenance issues mentioned above. However, we would highly recommend staying here because the location is so special.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, request a room close to reception when booking or you might have a long walk.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yachtneutron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

You can't do much better than this location - very close to the main road, the grounds themselves are an oasis of calm. The set out of the rooms is lovely, with the balconies overlooking the lawns a lovely place to sit and watch the sunset. The new tents that are being built at the waters edge rather obscure the view from the main lodge - but overall, the grounds are lovely and well-maintained. The pool leaves a lot to be desired - could be so lovely, but is dirty and not maintained at all. The problem is the food and the management. Food quality is pretty poor - for full-board, the options are limited, and we had to pay extra for a bottle of water or a soda with our meal - that seems excessive, especially considering the price. We had a lot of problems with the front desk. Again, for the price being paid, one should expect pretty high and responsive service. The wrong wake up call was sent (wrong time, wrong room). No hot water at 5.30am was a bit of a shocker too, and the management did not deal very well with it. All of this would be fine if it was cheaper, but it's a pretty expensive spot, so not impressed at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We visited the facility after 16 years, and was impressed with the changes made. The whole facility has had a face lift and been improved drastically. The reception area has a total rich wooden finish and a great welcome, with the drink and cold towel as usual.

The dining area has been improved with the serving stations well organised and every dish well described. Our vegetarian meals were sufficient for both dinner and lunch, though not much choice available. The quality of the meal was good in all. The breakfast was a bit low key for us as we had no choice(s) as such. Maybe an addition from the indian chef would help. Having to pay for the after meals tea and coffee was a bit of a surprise having booked on full board.

We had booked in the cottage which was a stand alone, clean and sufficient. The hot water all day round was great. The view out of the room into the well manicured lawns, "fantastic". The waterbucks and the wildebeest roam freely adding to the excitement.

The view of the lake is great and the walk to the pier during the sunset is just amazing.

Was impressed that there weren't many visitors over lunch which was the case earlier on, when your privacy would be compromised.

All in all a good weekend trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jas71_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in a cottage by the lake. The accommodations were clean,comfortable and luxurious.
We stayed as full board paying guests. The food quality was mediocre , not many choices . Even though we stayed as full board paying guests we were asked to pay for after dinner coffee or tea which we thought was strange. We did protest and were not charged for after dinner coffee the next night. Unfortunately one morning there was no water, a pump had broken down, in the cabins by the water. The water pressure was very low even after the repair and hot water takes about 15 minutes to be available after running the water The staff at the restaurant were very busy and not too attentive, when asked for a second cop of coffee for breakfast more than once we were ignored. The young lady at the desk by the luxury cabins was very sympathetic and went out of her way make us feel comfortable. She felt sorry for us and invited us to a special ala carte 4 course dinner but we decided to go to the main restaurant instead.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Nalin_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews