We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location nice grounds nice hot bath water!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful location nice grounds nice hot bath water!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were comfortable especially the bath tub and plentiful water was a treat after climbing Longonot the day we arrived.food was excellent and variety good.the main block including dining room is I need of a facelift as the furniture is out of place and inappropriate.fireplaces would be nice if used in the evenings.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saadia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    173
    86
    24
    14
See reviews for
142
125
13
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

My fiancee, my parents, and I stayed here for one night on our safari, and this was by far the best place we stayed. We were actually supposed to stay at Naivasha Sopa Lodge, but they were full and our tour company had booked us into the Country Club instead without notifying us. To make up for the inconvenience, they upgraded us to Kiboko camp and we couldn't have been happier. We were the only ones there that night, which may have helped with the noise complaints cited by other reviewers. The tents were absolutely gorgeous and luxurious - shining dark wood floors, comfortable bed, large walk-in shower with a huge bathroom. We had dinner in the a la carte dining room and it was the best food of our trip. The chef really knows what she's doing.
We had a great time watching the birds and wildlife (waterbuck, wildebeest, colobus monkeys) around the camp and got up early to enjoy tea and coffee in front of our tent.

Our only complaint is that we had to move on and only stayed one night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brob1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a longer trip. This place was the worst of all. Generally speaking service is very good in Kenya, but at this hotel nobody seemed to care. It looked as if they where trying to save pennies in all sorts of ways. The food was below average compared to other places, not much choice and not always refilled. The room was ok, with a partly renovated bathroom. It was an executive room, meaning it is a stand alone kind of cottage. Nice verandah, the grounds of the compound are beautiful.

I rated two because of the bad service, could have been three if they cared a bit more.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are ok, they have no direct neigbours. I believe there are only three of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here one night en route to MasaiMara as part of our organized safari trip. We stayed at 5 or 6 different hotels and this was the only one that was slightly disappointing. Our room was clean, but our kettle to use for making hot water was rusting on the inside, our phone in the room dint work. The bathroom was clean, but the fittings needed to be replaced. Very worn out. We had been traveling part of the day & just wanted to crash as we had an early start. It was just a matter of 8-10 Hrs, so we dint bother changing rooms, too much hassle.

The property itself is set in a great location, off the lake and has amazing views. I was debating between a 3 & 2 start rating, but gave it a 3 star purely based on location. We got the chance to see some hippos on the property at night, just grazing on the lawn which was cool. The property also has gnu, water buck and other herbivores that you can walk by ad observe at close quarters. Recommend the boat ride on the lake as you can see hippos and a great variety of birds. Totally worth the time, about an hour long. Our ride was by a 3rd party as part of the tour, but we heard the hotel organizes boat rides on the lake too.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful. But the hotel itself needs some updating.

Room Tip: Inspect the room before moving bags or unpacking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrabhuTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We only visited the restaurant for lunch as we were staying at another hotel in the area, but as we live in Kenya, we were keen to check out other establishments for future weekends away.
The only good thing about Lake Naivasha country club is the location and the gardens.
Our waiter was very friendly but when we asked for the bill he just said, give me x amount of money and it will be fine, but we were paying with a card so asked him for the card machine, he then took our card and disappeared for half an hour. Eventually my husband went to look for him and he was having an intense conversation with another waiter at a till. He then took us over to the cashier at reception, where she rang up our bill, which was more than a thousand less than he had tried to take from us in cash. When we turned to him, he ran away.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingnomad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Very nice territory you can walk to the beautiful lake enjoying birds' songs and beautiful trees and flowers. Wonderful sunrise at the lake early morning you can see many different birds.Once try boat to enjoy the lake and look at hippos there are many of them there. If you go to the lake in the evening you can meet a huge hippo eating grass:))) I saw them. Be brave! Local security taking care of you.Staff is very nice and helpful. A good bar, nice restaurant. I had my dinner at the open terrace which is lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the luxury tented camp on the grounds of Naivasha Country Club. The staff was just lovely! Food was great! Just a few items that I can find fault with but none ruined the experience...
-The bed mattresses are miserable, like cardboard on cement
-Ask for extra blankets! Despite hot water bottles we still froze our first night
-Inconsiderate neighbors had music blaring until about midnight, the staff should have asked them to turn it down, it could plainly be heard throughout the camp.

Room Tip: Keep your distance from the main tent, we heard a lot conversations and didn't have any privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelingCircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
10.0 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
0.4 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
11.5 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#4 of 40 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
#1 of 40 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sweet Lake Resort
Sweet Lake Resort
#6 of 6 in Naivasha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
9.9 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#8 of 40 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels

Property: Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
Address: South Lake Road, Naivasha 20117, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the top of the escarpment of the Great Rift Valley you can see Lake Naivasha sparkling in the sun thousands of feet below. Just an hours drive from Nairobi, Naivasha is one of the gems in a necklace of Rift Valley lakes. Perfect for both active and leisure travelers, Lake Naivasha Country Club offers an abundance of activities to please all visitors to Nairobi, Kenya. The resort dates back to the 1930s and has since been transformed into a sprawling 55-acre property with a variety of accommodations and guest facilities, including cottages, a swimming pool, and sumptuous gourmet dining. For adventurers, the nearby Crescent Island is a haven for zebras, wildebeest, gazelles, and giraffes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Country Hotel
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing