We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly excellent lodge !”
Review of Chui Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chui Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This luxury lodge is a real recommendation. The rooms are luxurious, in a quite garden, and the food -no buffet here but real service- is the best we have had in 3 weeks. The chef prepares an excellent cuisine ! Personnel is extremely friendly. The lake and Hell's Gate Park are easy to visit. The private park is nice but I would recommend it for less experienced people, those doing a safari for the first time or when you just arrived in Kenia after a long travel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sreinyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 150 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

this is an amazing romantic getaway for couples... we went for a birthday celebration and couldn't have hoped for more.. the food is outstanding, the service 5 star.
I requested a sun-downer with a surprise cake! The kind lady manager (i forget her name unfortunately) arranged for us to have a separate car just for the two of us, we had an amazing game drive in their private reserve where you will see buffalos, hippos, giraffes, zebra, wildebeest, ostrich and even rhino's! .... followed by a sundowner, brought out the cake just before the sun began to set, and the whole experience was dreamlike.. what a perfect birthday!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nabata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I left our work in Nairobi for a two night stay at Chui Lodge in a Superior Room. This place was recommended by many friends as the best high-end stay around and they were correct.
Accommodation; We booked a superior which turned out to be the size of a small house. Everything was the best quality construction. The cottage was amazing with a porch view of animals not far from the deck where we could enjoy our fresh French-pressed coffee. There was a Jacuzzi tub complete with rose pedals around it courtesy of the lodge. The bed was HUGE an ultra comfortable. A nice fireplace kept us warm. I was a bit surprised by no bar-fridge especially since we paid $500 a night for all-inclusive.
Food. I used to think I knew was good food was until we were treated by Chui Lodge. Each meal was an event with the tastiest food I have ever experience in my 29 years of travelling. Great service was also provided in an amazing ambiance. Perfectly prepared, nice portions, and mouth watering good is how I would describe the food as Chui. It is worth going there just for this. The Lodge made us a Black Forest anniversary cake too!
Activities. Got treated to an amazing walking tour around Lake Navaisha where giraffes and zebra munch on grass meters away from where you are walking. The driver dropped us off at a good spot and then just followed a distance behind as we strolled along a beautiful trail. An afternoon game drive was superb and capped off with a sundowner complete with a glass of wine and a fire overlooking the valley. We could have stayed there all night.
Both my wife and I agree that this was the perfect way to spend our 25th anniversary - thanks Chui Lodge for the wonderful memories.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed great. The superior was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTravellilng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We visited Chui Lodge sometime in August Last year for a weekend from Nairobi.
We arrived after lunch and were received very warmly. We had missed the afternoon game drive, but went for the sundowner. The setup for the sundowner was great, with a bonfire lit, wine,soft drinks and some snacks provided. We left here around 7.30pm and had a night game drive enroute to the lodge. Very lucky to see a leopard, which was the highlight of the day. Had an excellent meal and catered very well for my wife who is a vegetarian. The next day we went for an early morning game drive, saw plenty of birds, including a hawk which had killed a small bird. The drivers are well conversed with the area.

On returning had an excellent breakfast. The lodge has a very romantic ambiance, the cottages are well equipped and very luxurious.

We checked out after lunch after a very satisfied and relaxing weekend.

Plus point: You don't need a four wheel drive vehicle to get there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jas71_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Chui Lodge is an extremely comfortable lodge on a beautiful private conservancy about an hour and a half outside of Nairoboi, Kenya. It is the perfect destination for a relaxing weekend outside the city, complete with gourmet dining and very comfortable rooms.

The property itself is very beautiful, including the lovely pool. Game drives are very relaxed, but as other reviewers have noted, the guides place meat in the trees to attract the leopards, which are very difficult to find on the property otherwise. Also note the property does not have views of Lake Naivasha, but does have a nice watering hole near the restaurant, which attracts animals for viewing during your meals.

Highlights: gourmet dining, beautiful pool, extremely comfortable rooms, sundowners out in the conservancy, and staff interested in making your stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bucketlisters202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went to Chui lodge for the day including 4 course lunch while staying near lake Niavasha Kenya we had a wonderful game drive with one of the lodge staff in an open topped 4x4. The driver was knowledgeable and happy to let us take our time as a result we were late for lunch, no problem at all we were greeted and offered a table overlooking the garden opening onto the park so as we ate a fabulous lunch we could watch the wildlife. Then relax by the pool. A lovely day in a relaxing location.

Room Tip: Although we didn't stay over night we were shown the lovely rooms. Beautiful individually design...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sijui1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Chui Lodge is well appointed in lovely gardens looking over a water hole satisfyingly filled, during our stay, with hordes of frolicsome buffalo. We found the rooms clean and comfortable and the food, on the whole, pretty good. The restaurant is eccentrically decorated and the winning floor show for us was a very badly behaved Vervet monkey that made off with our food at every opportunity - to the joy of the other punters! The staff were charming and the attention to detail impressive, down to the lovely bunch of roses we were given as we left. Oserian is truly beautiful in a Garden of Eden-ish sort of way - if not exactly Africa in the raw. Somehow a leopard tucking into a bit of meat that has been stapled to a tree by human hand doesn't seem to quite cut the mustard, though we much applaud Oserian's aim to act as a game corridor.

Chui is a great spot for a relaxing weekend out of Nairobi, and definitely a safe bet for the ageing relative. We would certainly go back for either of the above reasons. We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bagofferrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
13.6 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
13.6 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
2.6 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 42 in Naivasha
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Naivasha
922 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sawela Lodges
Sawela Lodges
#5 of 42 in Naivasha
262 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#7 of 42 in Naivasha
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chui Lodge

Address: Moi South Lake Rd | Oserengoni Wildlife Sanctuary, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Price Range: $350 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chui Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 8 en suite individual and well-spaced luxurious cottages each with its own veranda and views of the Rift Valley escarpment and the Sanctuary. The bedrooms have magnificent four poster king size olive wood beds, roaring log fires, artistically decorated artwork and hand crafted furniture made in our onsite workshop. The dining room, lounge and bar area feature pillars and mural with intricate African carvings, African antiques and ochre colored walls creating the feel of an artist's gallery. A short walk from the main building and cottages is a swimming pool with views across the waterhole and the conservancy beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Chui Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chui Hotel Naivasha
Chui Lodge Naivasha, Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing