We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic place to stay for some luxury and R&R” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chui Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chui Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay for some luxury and R&R”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed at Chui for two nights in September following a camping trip in the Mara. Our very quirky cottage had a comfortable sitting room with a roaring log fire, a massive bathroom (much welcomed after river water showers and long drop toilets in the Mara!) and a very comfortable bedroom area with a huge and comfortable bed.

The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly and exceptionally hospitable. The food was excellent and way beyond anything we had been led to expect at a lodge - the chef really is very good! It was wonderful to eat our lunch in the company of giraffes and warthogs who could be observed very clearly at the artificial water holes that have been created just beyond the reserve fence

The guides were professional and helpful and took a huge amount of time to make sure we saw a leopard up close and personal! We also particularly enjoyed walking around the lake early in the morning amongst the giraffes, zebras and flamingos - all rounded off with a truly memorable lakeside breakfast.

Room Tip: We chose a larger cottage - I think that most do not have a large sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cruwysing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
63
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

The Chui Lodge is a beautifully laid out camp in the Oserian wildlife sanctuary, built in a traditional African style but with all modern amenities. Guests stay in individual 'huts' in beautifully landscaped gardens. The staff are fantastic and helpful and the all inclusive food and drink is very, very good. Twice daily game drives are superb. Our guide was James, very knowledgeable and full of interesting tit bits. Chui is masai for leopard. There are 9 at the sanctuary. The bonfire and drinks at sundown was superb. No words can describe breakfast in the bush on the banks of the lake with giraffes and zebra grazing nearby! Throughly recommended. BTW kids <12 are not allowed!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed at Chui Lodge for 4 nights in June-July and had the most amazing time. This was our first safari holiday and Chui lodge set a very high benchmark. Special mentions - for Albert our fantastic guide who took us on some excellent bush drives, Julius/David/Michael - the warm hospitality was unmatched! And one more thing - the food here was SUPERB ..it can compete with highly rated restaurants in London. Keep up the great work guys - can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at Chui Lodge for one night with a fairly large family group. The cottages were warm, well appointed, clean and decorated with interesting African touches. I'm not a fan of the hard Kenyan mattresses but these were not as hard as others we encountered in the country. Service was super friendly and caring. The food was lovely, the chef asked about allergies and catered to our tastes. The lodge/common area was really lovely and interesting, we also enjoyed the games there to keep busy in between game drives. Our tracker John was extremely kind and knowledgeable, the bush breakfast was absolutely fabulous, a great way to end our stay at Chui Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
131 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

I feel so lucky that my friend a well known tour operator of Kenya booked me at Chui Lodge for a one night stay in between an important meeting in Nairobi. It was really like heaven on earth. I was absolutely fascinated the way whole place was built, with so much care and attention to detail. On top of it, the staff at the lodge were so caring, respectful and friendly. It made my short stay of a night absolutely unforgettable. The game drive was so exciting and adventurous. We could spot a leopard relishing his kill, a warthog. The owners Oserian have their own wildlife sanctuary (18,000 acres I was told) surrounding the lodge where animals of all shapes and sizes are roaming free. The place is an epitome of peace and tranquility. Last but not the least is the food. Absolutely delectable! It's a must visit place if one is planning a trip to Kenya. I am already looking at the calendar.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bablu05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Chui Lodge was a magical experience. The staff were excellent. The food was great and the accomodation is wonderful.

The morning safaris and sundowners were beautiful and brilliantly put together.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CClub2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

What a special place.

A truly peaceful place to watch wildlife, with no screaming kids, no hawkers and none of the typical Kenyan chaos. Does this mean that what you're getting at Chui Lodge is a sort of watered-down version of Kenya aimed at Westerners? Not really. It's just Kenya as you might tailor it, amplifying the good parts and easing away the frustrations.

As others have mentioned, attention to detail is superb. When I visited, my wife and I were the only visitors at the lodge and we not only had exclusive use of the lodge's vehicles for the game drives, but also had the opportunity to share breakfast with Peter Zwager, Chui's owner, and get a fascinating insight into the challenges of running such an operation.

While we were there we managed to spot a leopard and some rhino. Contrary to what the website says, the guides reckon there are no kudu on the reserve. If you like warthogs and dik-dik, you'll be in heaven. Take a walk around the top of the lodge's grounds and you'll find hare and, at night, waterbuck that can jump over the adjacent fences. It's quite surreal to sit reading a book by the pool and see a giraffe's head appear over the top of your page.

Food was excellent, with staff managing to cater even to my pernickety tastes.

Room Tip: The further from the restaurant, the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bad_roo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
0.0 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#4 of 40 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
#1 of 40 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#8 of 40 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chui Lodge

Property: Chui Lodge
Address: Moi South Lake Rd | Oserengoni Wildlife Sanctuary, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Naivasha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chui Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 8 en suite individual and well-spaced luxurious cottages each with its own veranda and views of the Rift Valley escarpment and the Sanctuary. The bedrooms have magnificent four poster king size olive wood beds, roaring log fires, artistically decorated artwork and hand crafted furniture made in our onsite workshop. The dining room, lounge and bar area feature pillars and mural with intricate African carvings, African antiques and ochre colored walls creating the feel of an artist's gallery. A short walk from the main building and cottages is a swimming pool with views across the waterhole and the conservancy beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Chui Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chui Hotel Naivasha
Chui Lodge Naivasha, Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing