We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picture Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Although we stayed only for 1-night, we were truly amazed at the location and design/comfort of the rooms. The location of this hotel was in close proximity of the lake and we could view the wildlife roam around right outside our window. The pool looked very inviting but we did not have enough time for a dip. We enjoyed our drinks sitting outside in the open next to the bar lounge and had an option to sit inside, next to a beautiful fire place. The staff was attentive but was a bit quite and did not interact much. We truly wanted to stay there for more nights and take in the beauty but unfortunately, this was just a stopover before we proceeded to Masai Mara. With regards to the food the dinner and breakfast had a good spread and we thoroughly enjoyed the varieties, including deserts.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anish_dxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    88
    31
    15
    1
See reviews for
59
62
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

The Simba lodge was a wonderful place to stay -- great rooms in cottages, excellent dining, beautiful landscaping, and, best of all, it abuts a wildlife preserve, so guests can walk past the moat/fence and walk with the animals (zebras, waterbucks, giraffes) and from the dock, you can see hippos in the lake. The mariboo storks landed right near us and were quite a sight. At night, the waterbucks jumped the fence and slept right outside our terrace. All in all, this was a super way to really feel a part of Africa while living in luxury.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed for one night at the Simba Lodge on our way to Masai Mara. The lodge is set in some acres of park land at the shores of Lake Naivasha. Although it misses a bit the traditional lodge style (more of a bungalow park), the lodge is comfortable and well kept. It is set in a fenced garden with waterbucks grazing in front of your windows. Security wardens accompany you outside the fence to the shores of the lake where giraffes, buffalo's and hippo's are grazing freely.
We had a short boat trip on the lake and came surprisingly close to vast hippo families floating about in the lake.
The rooms are very spacious with large beds and bathrooms and a sunken televison corner.
Within the garden is a spacious and well kept pool and pool terrace with towel service.
Staff around the place is extremely helpfull and friendly.
The buffet, in comparison to other lodges, might at first seem a bit more limited and staff a bit less experienced. However food is plenty and tastefull.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antwerpengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

First lodge out of two that we stayed at on our safari. We didnt know what to expect beforehand and this was amazing. The grounds are beautiful, the room was nice and confortable (with an extra outside shower) but the weather was too cold so we didnt use it. The dinner and breakfast was nice. It is situated on the lake and we had an escort down to the lake to see the hippos but there wasn't any. Other people had said at breakfast that they saw giraffe walking past there lodge through the night. This was the nicer of the two lodges next one was mara simba lodge.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susansunseeker987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed here for one night in February 2010 during our Virgin Holidays Safari.

We arrived quite late at the lodge, so this will be quite a short review. Set in lovely grounds we had an excellent buffet style dinner. Good choice of meats, fish, potatoes and rice, very good service and really pleasant restaurant with great service in nice surroundings.

This lodge is quite near the lake, and has some of its own wildlife. We were able to stroll through the grounds and see a giraffe, some zebra and in the distance some hippos in the lake (binoculars required).

The evening was spent sitting on the veranda sipping cocktails – very civilised!

There was some fun when a couple of the waiters said their hippos had come in for the night, and they took us to see them. What we saw were just vague shapes in the distant woods – impossible to what they were - and when the waiters started giggling we concluded this was just their way of having fun with the tourists.

Rooms were really good. There were four rooms in each lodge, arranged around a central sitting room. The rooms were large with spacious bathroom with shower. No mosquito nets but they had tablets burning, and we had no trouble at all.

Breakfast was in the same restaurant as dinner, and served buffet style. Pretty much the usual – eggs, omelettes, bacon, sausage, toast, fruit cereal etc. Nice coffee.

This was a very nice lodge, clean and tidy with great staff. We would happily have spent another night or two there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanddEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

I was lucky enough to stay at Simba lodge whilst on a business trip a couple of years ago. The rooms were outstanding and very spacious with the best showers I have ever used! At night time, I stood on the balcony outside my room as hippos wondered around just metres away! In day time, you can wonder down to Lake Naivasha and enjoy fabulous scenery and great wildlife. The food was great as well with an excellent bar area to boot.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank growler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton-Cleveleys
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

We stayed here on our first night and whether it was the relief to get a bed but I loved this place. It was relaxing gave a lovely introduction to our first sight of the animals. The rooms were of a really good standard with seating area & balcony. I found the food here to be the best out of the 3 hotels we stayed in our our visit to Kenya.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cbelle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
4.0 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
8.4 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#4 of 40 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
Lake Naivasha Sopa Resort
#1 of 40 in Naivasha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sweet Lake Resort
Sweet Lake Resort
#6 of 6 in Naivasha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge

Property: Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge
Address: Moi South Lake Road, Naivasha, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Naivasha
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Naivasha Simba Hotel Naivasha
Lake Naivasha Simba Lodge Kenya - Rift Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing